We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skoufos & Oinos

Skoufos & Oinos
Kalergon Street | Splanzia, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
28210 50878
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 293 Restaurants in Chania Town
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A wine bistro in the Chania Old Town : Splanzia district
Greece
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Location might not be it's strong asset but this is small intimate restaurant offers impeccable service and a menu changing every month according to the season's resources. I have been many times since it first opened and i truly believe it only gets better. Their beef fillet is by far the best in town. Stavros, the onwer, is super polite and knowledgeable as far as wines are concerned. Salads are great. Risotto are nice (albeit kind of too rich for my taste). Deserts are great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Finally wine by the glass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

First of all, if you really like wine and don't want (or are alone) to buy an entire bottle, you must eat here. They have an extensive list of wines by the glass, and not just the typical house wine by the carafe. Stavros was more than helpful with the menu, pairing wines for me with my dinner selection. The truffle pasta I had was the perfect blend of mushroom with lightly creamy sauce. And the setting was in the old town, with lots of locals.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“The glass is half full or half empty...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

First of all, the food is really ok - my shrimp risotto was fine (although not overwhelming). The wine list even has to be one of the best I've seen in Greece so far, there's an interesting selection of wines by the glass (Greek and international). The Lazaridi Sauvignon Blanc was an excellent match with my dish. The reason why my experience at Oinos & Skoufos wasn't totally satisfying is the atmosphere. The area behind the old Arsenal saw openings of several bars in recent times, among which two in the immediate vicinity of the restaurant. That means it's very busy and loud, at least on the Friday evening I was there and there's a constant flow of cars passing in front of the terrace. The large pots with bushes that the owners placed in front of the terrace are nice but ultimately don't change much about the annoyance. The inside seating is limited and, in my humble opinion, nothing special. The "open kitchen" concept is fine when you have something nice to look at. In this particular case however, the kitchen doesn't look much different from that of thousands of souvlaki joints all over Greece. Prices are what you'd expect to pay in Western Europe, in other words, it's expensive for Greece. I'll certainly give it another try and sample some other dishes but not on a busy summer weekend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner with my husband for our wedding anniversary and we had a fantastic night. Food is great but maybe I would expect more dishes. Beef fillet is excellent (a little expensive but it is worth trying!) Strongly suggested!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Quite interesting food, cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The menu was a little different than what I've been used to in Chania and that was a nice surprise. Everything I tried was good and the prices reasonable. The only thing I didn't like was that because of its small size, the tables were rather squeezed in together that didn't allow for much privacy.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skoufos & Oinos also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Skoufos & Oinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skoufos & Oinos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.