We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amphora Restaurant, Excellent food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Restaurant

Amphora Restaurant
Akti Kountourioti 49 | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73131 , Greece
+30 2821 093224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 293 Restaurants in Chania Town
Price range: $5 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amphora Restaurant, Excellent food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amphora Restaurant is a great choice for food when you are in Chania. The authentic Cretan cuisine is great and all the dishes are made of original products that the island of Crete offers. The staff was quite friendly, the prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere was very cozy. I totally recommend Amphora Restaurant for your dinner or launch if you are in Chania.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    130
    38
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amphora Resaturant, best food, Chania town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited Amhora Restaurant on August and we are very satisfied of our choice. The food was great, the staff quite friendly and helpful and the place very beautiful with great atmosphere. The authentic Cretan cuisine was very tasty and all the dishes were made of authentic Cretan products. Not to forget that the prices were very reasonable. Keep up the great job Amphora Restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Decent Restaurant with very nice and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had lunch with my wife here. I chose this restaurant because NO ONE TRIED TO PUSH US TO COME IN! Many restaurants in this area almost force you to visit - which is very annoying and irritating. Dishes and portions seemed to be bigger than normal - good news for those not on a diet ))). We ordered fish - which was well cooked and very tasty. A nice compliment awaits , i think for everyone, from house - rake - the local spirit with some deserts (in our case it was watermellons). Our bill for 4 (big) dishes was 45 Euros - which i think is a good price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Back again! and its full it must be good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I decided to go back to Amphora having been in June on our previous visit to Chania, we where at first dissapointed as the place was full with all tables occupied, but no fear the two super brothers remembered us and made a new table at the front perfect location and as always service was second to none, food great we both ordered beef steak which where the size of the plates with different sauces a litre of wine less than 30 euro total just great value. thanks guys your the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We tried Amphora because of the Tripadvisor recommendations and it was nice but not great. It looks out on the port so has a nice view, the table settings give it a traditional Cretan atmosphere and the service is good. We felt the food was comparable with other restaurants we visited in Chania but was not exceptional. It was a nice lunch but not so good that I would need to visit again in a holiday week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphora Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Amphora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphora Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.