We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and fab location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vranas Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vranas Studios to your Saves list
Vranas Studios
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Mitropoleos Square & Agion Deka, Chania Town, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 72 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great price and fab location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Only two minutes from the center of Chania Old Town, on a pretty little street. Big, clean rooms with all you need. Freindly and helpful staff with wifi and internet cafe available. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back again. Some tavernas/ cafes in the same street but noise levels were not disturbing at all and only added to the authenticity and atmosphere that I love about Crete. Big comfy bed!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the side street instead of the square are quieter and get a little less sun so they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
71
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Great prices. Spacious accommodation. Excellent service.

The only thing to bear in mind is that the church bell will wake you up at 7. Which I found charming and useful if you want to get an early start, but not everyone will feel the same way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel is only 2 blocks from the Tabernas on the Venetian Harbor, so the location is prime. Clean rooms, very quiet, in a more or less pedestrian zone. Helpful staff, eager to please. Internet cafe has computers for hotel guests complimentary.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We were in Chania for far too short of a time - 1 day. Another place said that it was not possible to arrive on the ferry from Athens and hike the Samaria Gorge on the same day; Vranas said that it could be done. We arrived at the ferry port in Souda at 5:30 AM and Vranas by 6:50. At 7 AM we were able to leave our luggage and catch the 7:30 bus to the Gorge.
When we returned at about 9 PM, we were able to check in effortlessly. After cleaning up, we were able to enjoy a fantastic meal at the unique restaurant across the "street".
Our rooms were large and clean with a Kitchenette. They were a bit worn, while the view from the balconies was city , no ocean view here. There is no elevator.
In the morning we found that the old port was a 2 minute walk. We enjoyed a Starbucks coffee and breakfast at one of the waterfront restaurants.
We found Vranas Studios to be a great value, with a very convenient location and very accommodating ,friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Nice clean hotel that is close to center of town! Friendly staff. Room, bathroom are clean. Nice balcony (at least our room) look out to the street for relaxing people watching.

Note that car doesn't reach the front entrance of the hotel lobby. So you have to drag your luggages crossing couple of sidewalks. No big deal as i'm sure most of us are used to that traveling in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here during our spring trip in 2011 and we found it as it was one of the few places that were open, it was pouring pots and pans and we were in the town after the early morning ferry from Athens and roaming about finding a place to stay. I looked at a couple of hotels that were open in late March and this was one of them. There was an internet cafe at the main floor and the attendant happily showed me two rooms and i got a killer deal for the season - the room faced the square with a small balcony. Had a clean bathroom and was comfortably large. I would definitely stay here the next time.

There was no breakfast but the location close to Chania pier is awesome. Plenty of places to eat. We walked about in the streets in the village sorrounding this place and found some interested old excavations that were preserved. Amazingly this whole place was build on thousands of years old Minoan establshments. Down past the busy pierside restaurants we sneaked into the being-renovated museum and found a preserved thousand year old boat. All in all it was a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Feel free to see the room before selecting. At least in the not so busy season. Ask for a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We found out about this place from Lonely Planet. Great location. Within walking distance to the bus stop and lots of shopping/food. Helpful staff with recommendations for the best beaches in nearby and how to get there. Free internet cafe attached. Good value. Clean room. The shower drain clogged up easily and water overflowed on to the bathroom floor...but besides that, no complaints!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vranas Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vranas Studios

Address: Mitropoleos Square & Agion Deka, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vranas Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Old Town of Chania only 50 m from the Venetian port Vranas Studios offers spacious guestrooms with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Vranas Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vranas Studios Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vranas Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.