We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - and they know it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ela Taverna

Ela Taverna
Kondilaki 47 | Old Town,, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 293 Restaurants in Chania Town
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good - and they know it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This restaurant provided a nice shade on a hot day. In addition this is well kept, well tendered and have nice bath rooms. All in all catered well for the family with good pizzas and great Greek food. The restaurant advertise their high rating in various tourist guides outside the restaurant. Prices are higher in Chania than on the country side. Despite this look of a "tourist trap", the food is surprisingly good and the restaurant can be highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    101
    55
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing evening with some delicious swordfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

After a long day trekking around parts of Chania prefecture, we visited Ela on the recommendation of several friends. The setting is a charming one with tables spilling out into a dimly lit alley.

We tried a greek salad, octopus and a swordfish filet. The swordfish was stunning, a real treat. Service was efficient and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant while strolling in Chania and liked the ambiance so decided to have lunch. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the number of languages in which the menu exists is amazing! Very laid back, relaxing holiday feel and the food was very good and not too expensive. A thoroughly enjoyable experience and we were very happy to return later in the week...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have gone several times and in fact, unless we are specifically sheduled to meet someone on the waterfront, we go to Ela! The staff is great, they make you feel at home. The food at ela is mostly traditional creatan but they also have eauropian sauces for the beef: a welcome change from tradition. Able to hand large groups while still allowing a cute ambiance for couples.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have been coming to Crete for a number of years now and always have at least one meal at Ela, it's our favourite place to eat at when in Chania.
Granted it does not have the most extensive menu but part of the fun for us is guessing, along with the charming "greeter" and friendly waiters, the nationality of the patrons as they come in - at least as far as the 8 or so different language menus goes anyway.
We usually hear a number of different accents around us which makes the experience all the better - this is not just Brits abroad.
We ate here on Friday 14th June 2013 expecting, as in previous years, to be able to listen to live music played by two local Greek "lads" to which the waiters often join in. It used to be a feature on Friday and Saturday nights and we went on Friday especially. Sadly we learnt from one of the waiters that is likely to be no more as "tourist" feedback has been that they prefer piped music instead. A shame, in my humble opinion, but I guess that's progress for you.
We treated ourselves to the meat casserole special for 2 (not the goat one!) and it beat us. The meat was delicious, falling apart but still moist - we had lamb, beef, chicken and pork casseroled with lots of veg and lovely mizrathi local cheese. Yum. Wish we'd skipped the starter tho as we were stuffed! A complimentary pud was moist cake and ice cream with Raki - delicious.
Try out your Greek here and it'll be well received. The waiters are the same team year on year and we enjoy our visits here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ela Taverna also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Ela Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ela Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.