We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the other places we ate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Doloma

Restaurant Doloma
Kapsokalyvon 5 | Neoria, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 293 Restaurants in Chania Town
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not as good as the other places we ate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Doloma was a bit of a disappointment. It is very lacking in ambience, situated in a backyard with a view of parked cars, and the service was not as friendly, at least initially, as we experienced in other restaurants. The menu was monosyllabic so we were choosing blind, but the food was good although I was not keen on the house red wine. It was not a bad experience, but our other meals in Chania were so good that this one stood out for being average.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC CRETAN CUISINE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Delicious home cooked Cretan food which you are invited to inspect in the kitchen before you order. Free grapes, sweet course and glass of raki for dessert. A quiet restaurant away from the tourist bustle but in the main tourist area, with friendly, helpful staff, where you can sit at your table all night if you wish without being hurried out. Very reasonably priced, and with some of the softest meat I have ever tasted. This is my destination next time I am in Chania.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Genuine fresh GREEK cooking at very reasonable prices. Totally delicious food: delightful propreitor and good location.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant - away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

In the old part of town, 5 minutes’ walk from harbor. Feels authentic. We had fried bacalo with a spicy tomato and garlic sauce one evening, another evening we had lamb. Good food, pleasant waitress, and very good local white wine- that is rare. As good food as in the harbor, but to budget prize. Recommended

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A traditional gem. Authentic and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We found Dolma by accident one lunch time, what a great find! Staff were attentive, food brilliant and great Greek atmosphere. As other reviewers mentioned, we also saw lots of Greek people eating here or taking away food for home, always the best recomendation. Definitely go and enjoy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Doloma also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Restaurant Doloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Doloma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.