We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archontiki Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Archontiki Hotel to your Saves list
Archontiki Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milonoyanni 12 & Kriari, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I made my booking through booking.com because all recommended hotels for conference were full. Description made it sound like just what I needed but the price was low which made me think that a struggle might lie ahead.

I was so wrong! Room - fabulous. Balcony - huge, with a view to the harbor. Check-in - perfect. Check-out - perfect. Breakfast - always ready early, and the staff always offered coffee as I departed early each day. Noise - none, except when Greece was playing World Cup match and won. Gotta give them that!

It was my first time in Chania, and when I return I will return to the Archontiki. Whether for business or pleasure. Many thanks to them!

FOR THOSE LESS MOBILE: One thing some readers should note is that Reception is not on the ground floor, and the stairs are very steep. The lift does not come down to street level, you must go up 5 - 10 stairs to reach the lift. I did not ask them if they can accomodate mobility in other ways, but another person might want to ask.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Perfect location. Elevator fits 2 people and one luggage. Breakfast is delicious. Rooms are clean. Air conditioning was a problem at first but I fixed it myself. Had the best view on the top floor. Staff was nice. They showed us how to get to everything. Wifi is wierd. There's a differnt signon for each floor.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview park
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed June 8-10, 2014. Needed a clean, inexpensive room with easy access to the bus station for a good price. This was perfect. Reception was wonderful- so accommodating. Room was clean and just as expected/advertised. Nice to have a balcony to sit on during down time...and dry clothes. Would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Archontiki Hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Chania. We arrived by bus, and the hotel is about a 3-minute walk away which was incredibly convenient. It is only about a 5-minute walk to the endless side streets, which is ideal for shopping and taking packages back to your room. It is off on a side street so the noise isn't a factor. The staff was unbelievably friendly, which we found to be the norm for the people of Chania, and Crete in general. The breakfast was filling, the wifi and air conditioning worked great. Ask for 502 when you check in - it has a huge balcony and a wonderful view of the town and the sea!

Room Tip: Ask for room 502 - it has an awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a room on forth floor with a huuuuge terrace, with view over the city center, the mountains, and a bit of the sea. The staff was very kind and helpful. In fact, most people we met in Crete were truly nice. Room was clean enough (but not especially clean), spacious, not exactly cozy, but you spend most time outside anyway. Would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Room 402 is large and has a big terrace, maybe the biggest of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the port, in the center of Chania. Our room had beautyfull view of the sea from one side and the mountains on the other side. Hotel service is fast and invisible :) During breakfast they clean the room perfectly.
Breakfasts are quite ok.
Good quality for good price

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great location! 5 minutes by walk from the venetian harbour. Good breakfast, rooms are of the right size and very clean. Just one negative point: it is quite hard to park the car. Great solution also for the price! I'll recommend it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Archontiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archontiki Hotel

Address: Milonoyanni 12 & Kriari, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Archontiki Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new city centre hotel - close to all attractions and commercial business of the town; with 25 rooms - well furnished - air condition - TV - refrigerator - balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Archontiki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archontiki Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archontiki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.