We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archontiki Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Archontiki Hotel to your Saves list
Archontiki Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milonoyanni 12 & Kriari, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I agree with the previous review: a great low-budget option with all important features. This pleasant family-owned hotel has great location, clean and big rooms, friendly staff and free wi-fi! The breakfast was ok, good for the price paid. The only negative point was the small shower with plastic curtains. Despite that, I definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked Archontiki Hotel online without prior recommendations, so we were a little apprehensive about what we would get when we arrived.

The rooms are clean, cool and a quiet sanctuary after a busy day of walking and sight-seeing. The hotel is owned by a lovely family who are very willing to help with anything you may need. A great low-budget option without missing out any important features.

Archontiki Hotel is very centrally located in the heart of Chania, and is very close to the "Old City" and the port - this definitely came in handy after walking around all day looking at the beautiful Venetian buildings.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room, although there isn't a great selection of food, it was enough to keep us happy. Another great benefit of the hotel is free wi-fi! Have stayed in some very large hotels that charge a rate to use their wi-fi, so this came in handy. The rooms are a decent size, with a dresser, wardrobe and work station. Plenty of room also for 2 large suitcases. Our room included a small balcony but we didn't really use it.

Overall a lovely hotel with all the things you would need at your fingertips. Would stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I agree with all that previous reviewer had to say. My daughters and I arrived at about midnight after taking last bus from Heraklion. So close to bus station that cabbies didn't want to take us but pointed us in right direction. Staff was extremely welcoming: helping us with our luggage and giving us bottles of water. Close proximity to bus and cab stand was appreciated since we used this to get to Samaria, beach, and airport. Several minute walk to old town and, from what I can see, larger, quieter, and more spacious rooms than what you'd find there. Balcony from our 2 bedroom suite was huge, though not much of a view, but lines with clothes pins to hang out laundry and plenty of room for the 3 us to sit. First morning we overslept and breakfast was provided after hours!! We paid 80 euro (cash) but this was low season.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We found this place through Booking.com and the reviews were OK but because they said it was New we took a chance. One of the best things we did was take the reviews with a grain of salt. Called them direct and got a great rate 60 euro a night. SUPER location and the complaints about road noise, forget it just close the sudders and close the thick drapes and no problem. It was very clean and the room we had was a two bedroom.with a bar fridge. Breakfast was good and staff were very helpful. Great local fast food around the corner called "Timeout" where the locals eat and it was very good and cheap.
Negitives and these are small but I need to be honest
Bathroom is smallish by north american standard but you are not in North america are you now! Just make sure you don't have much stuff in there when having a shower. The bed was OK but not the best, but everything else made up for it. Lobby is upstairs and the elevator does not go to street level but only up five stairs thus my not 5 star rating. If you are mobile this is as good a place to stay as I have been and would go back there again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archontiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archontiki Hotel

Address: Milonoyanni 12 & Kriari, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Archontiki Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new city centre hotel - close to all attractions and commercial business of the town; with 25 rooms - well furnished - air condition - TV - refrigerator - balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Archontiki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archontiki Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archontiki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.