We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Nena Charming Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mama Nena Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Zambeliou 30, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Chania Town B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Elegant B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We can only add to the other well deserved glowing reviews. This is the perfect boutique B&B experience. Delicious Cretan breakfast coupled with space and privacy in the gorgeous suites. The renovation of this harbour front Venetian house is immaculate and Matina is a charming and hugely helpful host. We had a disastrous booking on the other side of the Crete and we chose to drive the width of island to stay again in the tasteful luxury of Mama Nena. Natalie and Tom June 2012

Room Tip: The top floor suite has a great views from your pillow of the sea where as in the second floor the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I can only confirm what all the other reviews have said. If you are a fan of B&B's (without the lace doilies), book a room at Mama Nena. The modern renovation without losing the sense of the original architecture is beautiful. Wonderful location! We had a rental car, so we parked along the harbor and walked up to the hotel. Matina was a warm and gracious hostess.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

A family enterprise, Mama Nena is the creation of an ambitious family if two sisters and a brother who have turned the family derelict building on Chania harbor into an enchanting guest house. They aim to please. Architect designed, with modern comfort and decor, the three story building retains the charm of te old world while providing all the modern amenities. And the actual Mama Nena is their mother, who grew up in the house, and now lives on a farm outside of town, but makes all of the food-- cheeses, cake, farm fresh eggs, olive oil, everything. I cannot imagine a better combination of modern taste and refinement and old world charm.

Room Tip: Top floor with terrace the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Location, Ambience, Hospitality, Well-maintained facilities. Reasonable price as well. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at Mama Nema the end of April 2012 for 1 week. We had the 3rd floor suite 'stella' for the full week. The room was amazing and one of the best I have stayed in! The pictures do not do it justice....wait till you see it! The furniture is all hand picked and so tasteful. The renovation of this property that Martina and her family have done is amazing. Breakfast was gorgeous, with something always served each day. The kitchen is open to use all day with tea, coffee and cake! We ate lots of cake :-) It just felt like home and we were reluctant to leave. Mama Nema is definitely worth a visit if you are staying in Chania

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

As the name suggests - charming. The owner couldn't do enough for us and the hotel was clearly a labour of love. We had a room overlooking the old harbour, with swallows diving arround constantly, but despite the busy tavernas below the room was very quiet once the window was shut. A perfect place for couples - though we visited with 3 boys who were made extremely welcome

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is extra special but all 3 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was the ideal place to begin our travels in Crete and Greece. We were greeted warmly throughout our entire stay. The little touches such as homemade and traditional treats made it special! We enjoyed the room and service so much that we decided to extend our stay. The hotel has been renovated artfully with high attention to architectural detail. The rooms are lofty, tastful, and comfortable with an incredible view. When staying here you can't help be transported to a different time while having the comfort of modern conveniences (especially when you arrive from a long trip ). We thought the photos on the site were attractive but wait till you see in person, you won't be disapointed, it is well worth the value. In fact considering other boutique like hotels with a view, you would be paying a lot more in many other places around the world. The personal family touch is priceless. We enjoyed our stay during the low tourist season tremendously.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mama Nena Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Nena Charming Hotel

Address: Zambeliou 30, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MAMA NENA charming hotel is a small, family-run boutique hotel in the Old Town of Chania and is open all year round. The 15th century 4-storey family house, converted to a hotel 3 years ago, is set along the waterfront in the Venetian port of the town. The building has been fully restored with particular emphasis on quality and attention to detail.The modern and minimalist surroundings recapture the atmosphere of the town house at the beginning of the 20th century. It offers one double room and two two-room suites. Each room and suite has its own individual décor with an unobstructed view to the lighthouse and the sea. A fine balance between the old and the new provides maximum comfort and aesthetic appeal. Carefully restored furniture, fixtures and objects blend in harmony with the comforts of a modern guest residence. Intimate atmosphere and a big smile, style and charm, authenticity and high quality are some of the main characteristics a guest can find in MAMA NENA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Escapio so you can book your Mama Nena Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Nena Charming Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Nena Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.