We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Chania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern Strata

Tavern Strata
Portou 54 | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
+30 2821 093830
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 293 Restaurants in Chania Town
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best in Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in Crete for a week and this is the best restaurant. Get there early to avoid waiting, after 8pm it gets very busy.
Very very Yummy food, and very lovely and warmly staffs. The lamb roast was like melting in mouth, so good. I'm not a fan of olives usually, but they have very good olives!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    156
    44
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Perfect food and excellent service. We tried the meze-plate of appetizers, and it was so delicious. I would defiantly visit this restaurant again if given the opportunity. The barrel-wine was also amazing, and cheap!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

extremely welcoming,friendly little place.All the waiters were lovely and the food was excellent and good value.By the time we had a complimentary ouzo to start and raki to finish we really didn't need the excellent house red we couldn't resist.Eat there 3 time out of the 5 we eat out and were sorry we didn't go there all the time

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vénosc, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, good service. best in Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Less crowded due to back street location. Great food made with fresh local ingredients.

Best in the harbour area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“must try in chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

really fantastic good and dfriendly service, wanna try again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern Strata also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Tavern Strata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern Strata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.