We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, service and location! Stayed longer than planned!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Filoxenia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Filoxenia to your Saves list
Hotel Filoxenia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dodekanisou 36, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value, service and location! Stayed longer than planned!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel experience as the owner and his son, Chris, provided me with very accurate and helpful information on how to enjoy Chania and Crete. The overall service was warm and friendly as the hotel staff would often take the extra effort to ensure my vacation was going very well.
The rooms were excellent as they were spacious, clean and modern with excellent flat screen TV and the best free Wi fi service experienced in Crete. Located 100 metres from beach, entrance into Old Town and many cafes and bars with a beautiful view of the sea! Plenty of parking available if you are driving and slept very well with the comfortable beds and quiet room.
Would highly recommend to all travellers and will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Crete!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August. Not very central but ok location. The neighbourhood is a bit run down. The hotel staff was friendly and the room clean but the bathroom was extremely and uncomfortably small. Overall, ok for a budget stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

.Very clean,modern,central and really friendly stuff....Just a few minutes away of everything... The little beach a 100 m away was a really nice surprise as I did not know that you can have a swim so close...

Room Tip: All the rooms have very fast wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Run by its owners. They serve you a homemade delighful breakfast, squeezed orange juice and more! Strategically located, 1 block from coast and bars, 300 metres from port. Comfortable rooms. New bathrooms. very good price.



Note to Tripadvisor: please do not translate my reviews into Spanish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June, and had a really pleasant experience. The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean. The price is also very good! The hotel is very well located, near the old town, and all the touristic areas. The owners are amazing people, they are extremely helpful and welcoming, especially Christos, who made our stay so enjoyable! He's the friendliest person ever. We recommend this place a 100%

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is next to the sea and too close to the old town!!The rooms are very clean and the staff friendly,they are want to help you any time you will ask!!The quality with the prices is satisfied!!I recomend it to young people because it is near the heart of old town and to families because of the quiet of the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked a budget double room for 3 nights - approx 40 Euros a night.

When we arrived around lunchtime, the budget double room turned out to be an occupied room with its door wide open on the ground floor right next to the tiny check-in desk and noisey smokey lounge bar tv room. Whilst we were checking in the manager pointed to this room - he said the room was currently occupied and will be cleaned. It turned out that the occupiers were in fact the hotels friends or relatives who we saw at the tv lounge area every day.

We asked for a budget room upstairs - as we did not want this room. The manager told us to come back in an hour whilst he would try and reconfigure his bookings. When we returned the manager allocated us to a double room upstairs and gave us the impression he was doing us a real favour for moving us to another room. However, he then insisted we paid 35 euros extra + pay for the whole stay upfront despite the booking stating we pay on checkout. We reluctantly paid upfront with the extra 35 Euros as we had limited time in Crete.

Room upstairs was fine but we felt conned by a series of lies and deception to get a decent room.

Over the 3 days of our stay the hotel was more or less empty - only a few other guests were staying there + hotels friends / relatives.

The only real positive about the stay is the location. The hotel is beside the beach / citadel wall where you can swim and have breakfast with locals. But - pricey food drink for Greece.

Beware of the budget room con if you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filoxenia

Address: Dodekanisou 36, Chania Town, Crete 73132, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Filoxenia 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Chania’s lively Koum Kapi district, just 40 metres from the small sandy beach and close to Chania’s Venetian harbour, this friendly hotel offers warm hospitality and free wireless internet. Hotel Filoxenia has been completely renovated and offers warmly decorated rooms. Relax in your comfortable room and check your emails, using free wireless internet access. Enjoy a drink in the friendly bar area. Filoxenia Hotel is surrounded by Koum Kapi’s traditional tavernas and bars, as well as a great beach scene. A short walk will take you to Chania’s old harbour and historic attractions. Should you wish to further explore Crete, you can rent a car from Hotel Filoxenia and take advantage of the free public parking available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Filoxenia Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Filoxenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.