We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of To XANI

To XANI
Parodos Kondilaki Street | Old Venetian Port, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
+30 2821 075795
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 293 Restaurants in Chania Town
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A family run restaurant since 1989 with a passion for high quality food and caring service. Traditional Greek and Cretan local cuisine, including century- old dishes of Turkish and Jewish influence on Cretan food. Specialties are cooked in ceramic pots on a wood -burning stove. We use only local and fresh ingredients . Situated in a romantic and quiet, graphic small lane in the heart of the old Venetian Port . Outdoor seating, Ideal for special occasions. Very suitable for families with children. Live Greek music in the evening. Closed during the winter months.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Chania is crammed with restaurants, especially on the harbour front, but just off the beaten track is Xani.
It is only a couple of minutes from the harbour, but in a quiet back street. They have a member of staff in one of the busier shopping alleys telling people it is there. It is opposite the synagogue and there are no passers by to disturb your meal. The staff are very friendly. I don't know if it is family run, but it feels like it.
The service is really friendly and genuine. We have just returned from our second trip to Crete and made sure to find it again. We ate there twice this week. The menu features all the usual Cretan fare, but not just the dishes you find in most. I had goat in wine sauce and lamb baked with cheese. I noticed smails on the menu too.
We were brought olives and bread as we sat and a small dessert and raki at the end (which all the restaurants give you), but also a huge plate of melon. There is no extra charge for this. When we went back the second time they knocked 20% off the bill as they recognised us. They didn't make a song and dance about it, just deducted it. I am not saying they will always do that, but we did feel like valued customers.
On one of the evenings they also had some delightful guitar/lute music played live.
I thoroughly recommend it, not just for the food, but for the whole feel of the place.
starter and main with a jug of wine cost around 55 euros for 3 of us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We have a large selection of dishes--all traditional. Thank you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    146
    47
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superb service excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a restaurant you should seek out when in Chania. The food is cooked over charcoal braziers and is truly wonderful. The owner is a well traveled and interesting person who makes everyone feel welcome. Try the rabbit dishes for something different, you cannot find fault with any of the food, and it is excellent value for money. It was so good we went twice in 2 days !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for the good review. We are the only restaurant in the old town that cooks in clay pots on a wood burning stove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great atmosphere in family run restuaraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

While trying to get away from the harbour front,discovered this restaurant in the old town.I wanted a change,so was attracted to the live music.Very pleasant surroundings,next to an old synagogue;pleasant,helpful staff,with swallows flying overhead.We had a very enjoyable,relaxing time and the bottle of local wine we shared went down very well.
On our last evening in Xania (we went back there),I had sea bream which was just delicious.A place to look out for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for the review.. Yes, our sea bream is a very tasty fish and at a good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gigantes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Always feel a bit suspicious of restaurants which employ someone to "lure" you in or provide live music (immediately think that they rely on the music rather than their food to attract custom) - however, I was wrong because the selection of dips and wine we ordered were fabulous. And judging by the food we saw coming out of the kitchen, this place is the real deal. Staff are also very charming

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello. I am hidden in a small, pretty courtyard off the main road. It is a hard restaurant to find--however this is one of the charms...I do need someone to "lure", as you say it, people in, as they simply will not find me. My musicians are both teachers - professionals, and thus I offer very very good quality music. I believe the best in Chania. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good people, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great service from very helpful and pleasant staff. Food was excellent and having musicians play live music was a nice touch. Good atmosphere. Thouroughly recommend to all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for recommending my restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To XANI also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to To XANI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage To XANI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.