We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny double bedroom, disappointing & disrespectful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ifigenia Rooms and Studios

Save Saved
You added Ifigenia Rooms and Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ifigenia Rooms and Studios
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Chania Town, Crete 73131 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tiny double bedroom, disappointing & disrespectful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our room was a double bedroom with an en-suite bathroom. The room is already quite small for this type, but is ruined by the ridiculous size of a make shift double bed. Two large single beds that are held together by a homemade four post steel frame. The bed overwhelms the room, turning it into foot wide corridors in between the furniture and walls. This layout makes simple tasks such as opening a suitcase or even walking past each other intolerable. In the end I pushed the huge bed up to a wall and put the bedside table inside the cupboard to gain some space. You can't pull out the desk chair fully because of the bed frame, and the chair and desk do not match ergonomically. You can't put you legs underneath the desk, you are forced to split your legs on either side like an acrobat. This renders the desk almost unusable. As for the en-suite bathroom, the tiling prevents the door for opening inwards completely; it can only be at a jar. You have to walk in sideways. The handle on the inside of the door is damaged and useless. If you close the door from the inside you will be locked in. You can't lift up the seat on the toilet because the tank gets in its way. As for the service, we were not greeted at the reception when we arrived in the afternoon nor when we left in the morning. The two nights we stayed there, the room was not cleaned and the sheets were not changed. Overall I have the impression that the hotel is cutting corners and does not care about its guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Ifigenia Rooms and Studios, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
First of all you had one standard room of 40 euro and not a suite one.
and the double room is around 25tm. If you did not like the spacefull of it you should had informed me the same time we did the check in.
as for the clean of it yes the girl changed you the towels and clean the bath-room. of course the sheets could not be changed every day.

Finally, if you or any one is/ were no happy you had the option to leave the same time.
or asked for different room .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    11
    16
    24
See reviews for
13
68
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We pitched up for the last 2 nights of our trip having stayed in Chania earlier in the holiday and identifying that we would like to stay in the old town.
Some of the interiors are a bit theatrical cross; Miss Haversham's living room with the faded glory 1960s Paris and you get the picture - but it is fun !
We made the mistake of selecting a suite with a great view of the harbour not realising there was a bar below with no intention of closing before 3 am, the next morning we moved to a similar suite in a quiter location.
Breakfast was served and included freshly squeezed orange juice.
We were asked for payment in cash and were surprised a receipt was only provided when asked for ....
Would definitely go again

Room Tip: those overlooking the harbour may be noisy ok for the night owls !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesogi, paphos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

is fantastic!
is nice comfortable and spacious!
Is in very good locality and easy to find and Whichever
room you are always close to everything!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlore, Albania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

IFIGENIA studios and suites are located in the heart of old town of Chania.
close to venetian harbor and the main street with restaurants, cafés, etc.
The deluxe suite we had booked (603) was very clean and spacious.
With private garden looking the harbor and the old town

Traditional and comfortable design and a great base for exploring the lovely streets on Chania.
The staff were so kind and welcoming . help us to rent a car and some trip tickets.

nothing was much of a trouble and also made a delicious breakfast at ifigenia kafeneio close to the main office .
the suite we had is recommended for couples and specially honeymoon.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite we had booked (603) was very clean and spacious. With private garden looking the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

IFIGENIA studios and suites are located in the heart of old town of Chania.
close to venetian harbor and the main street with restaurants, cafés, etc.
The deluxe suite we had booked (603) was very clean and spacious.
With private garden looking the harbor and the old town

Traditional and comfortable design and a great base for exploring the lovely streets on Chania.
The staff were so kind and welcoming . help us to rent a car and some trip tickets.

nothing was much of a trouble and also made a delicious breakfast at ifigenia kafeneio close to the main office .
the suite we had is recommended for couples and specially honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vammala
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

it was wonderfull place.. the view at the old city was perfect.. better then was expect...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We recently stayed in Chania as part of our Greece/Turkey trip. We stayed in the Ifigenia rooms and suites because the location was ideal and the pictures seemed ok.

Our arrival was at 1am at night and if you plan to arrive this late it's a good idea to get the help of taxi. People are very friendly in Chania and thankfully a local called our hotel for us and the owner arrived by bike to let us in.

The room (12) had a kitchen, jacuzzi ( with free wine), a shower and small bedroom.I was disgusted, the bathroom, although clean was leaking and the shower was awkward enough to require acrobatics.the bed sheets were too small and the blanket was not sufficient.

All I can say is that the staff is friendly, the free breakfast is good, especially the fresh orange juice and the food in Chania is so good that you'll quickly forget about the gross room you are staying in at night.

Hey it's so cheap you can enjoy the delicious food and splurge.

- g

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ifigenia Rooms and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ifigenia Rooms and Studios

Address: Chania Town, Crete 73131 , Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 101 Specialty lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ifigenia Rooms and Studios 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ifigenia's Center has Rooms, Studios and Suites for rent in several buildings in the heart of the Old Venetian Harbour of Chania. Everybody is welcome, whether young or old. Rooms are of great variety: standard or more demanding till Suites. Our main concern is the well being and the comfort of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ifigenia Rooms and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifigenia Rooms And Studios Hotel Chania Town
Ifigenia Rooms And Studios Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ifigenia Rooms and Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.