We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of To Karnagio

To Karnagio
Plateia Katehaki 8, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
2821053366
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 239 restaurants in Chania Town
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chania Town, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

One of the best restaurants in the old harbor. Don't forget to taste the "boureki"!! excellent. Very friendly people and a clean restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    49
    30
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Always delivers its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Simply loving this place. The food and wine is excellent, as well as the ambiance and service.
Restaurant is located away from all the hustle and bustle, but still close to walk to it all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not advisable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were here on sunday for dinner because of a recommendation.

The restaurant is direct near a great parking place. You have no seaview but the emissions and the hubbub of the cars and motorcycles. So they have nice green chairs, clean table-clothes and flowers but it is very uncomfortable.

The stuff was the most unkind we had in our whole holiday.

The food was full acceptable. But why should I eat something I can get in any other restaurant to sit on a parking place and to get bad treated?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Still seems great to me.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was surprised to read critical comments about this place which has always been my favourite restaurant in Chania. I went there twice last week and found it lovely as always. The service and food really stand out even on an island where the cuisine is generally excellent. As in most places, fish is expensive but there are many delicious Cretan dishes that feature vegetables and are very reasonably priced. And if you want to try seafood which isn't expensive, the cuttlefish with fennel and wine is superb.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
“excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent some time in Hania this year, and to be honest thats the greatest place we eat! The food was lovely! If compere to other places, Karnagio was absolutely the best. Think that everyone who goes to Chania should try food from there.
Whats more, I dont like this crowded places with no soul.. serving fast food. So the Karnagio was just PERFECT :D

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Karnagio also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to To Karnagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage To Karnagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.