We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the rest try the best... tamam a shining star in an otherwise dull variety of restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamam

Tamam
49 Zambeliou st.,, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
2821096080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 309 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Forget the rest try the best... tamam a shining star in an otherwise dull variety of restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Tamam set in the old town of chania down a small back street. The decor is traditional and it fills up quickly so reservations advisable if you don't want to wait. The food is well priced and tastes great. The most amazing salad ever tamam salad.. the chicken pancakes are an unusal twist on the spring rolls theme . The pork fillrt with staka amazing and good scalloped chipped potatoes. Having tried other restaurants in the area.. this is the only one to eat at.

Enjoy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    466
    119
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Emba, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First meal in chania, would go back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Arrived lunch time and our hotel recommended the restaurant. I ordered the meat pie and my husband had a meat and potato dish. My only suggestion would be to add a small salad or vegetables with the courses as we didn't realize they just came as they were. Not their fault we just are used to getting something with the main course so perhaps we could have asked? The meal arrived just warm and very fast. Again can't really complain although we did fancy sitting for a couple of hours over lunch and wine and it ended up we were in and out in about an hour. I think the evening meal might be better as the dining area is more suited to a laid back approach that doesn't really work at lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, quick service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Tamam is always a great place to eat. Beautiful old building (an old turksih bath) with eeeexcellent food and fantastic variety from Cretan, Greek to Iranian! Some of my favourites are the Tamam salad, Iranian rice with pine kernels etc and rabbit stifado. Everything has fantastic taste. If I could change something is to make the stuff smile more and be less rude, as I am one of their more frequent and hassle free customers who has recommended this place to tens of thousand of people. Great wine too. Advisable to book in advance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“''Whenever in Chania, this is my first food destination''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This tiny restaurant at the back street of the Venetian harbor is a food heaven! There's nothing better than going there after a long swim in the afternoon and tasting these delicious dishes! Browsing the menu you'll find it hard to decide what to have, so you may overdo it and order more than you need. And then your stomach will have to find some space to take the extras in. The most mouthwatering dish is Pita Kaisareias. Have it and you'll find yourself in heaven!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food......bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We decided to eat out first Cretan dinner at Tamam, it was our first night in Chania and after having seen Tamam mentioned on Samantha Brown's show I figured we should give it a shot. The food at Tamam was good, we were able to try some traditional Cretan dishes as well as some of our Greek favorites. The atmosphere at Tamam is very interesting, with a distinct Turkish flare. The service, however, was horrible. We were shocked at our waiter and how rude and unhelpful he was. We had to wait for a very long time before getting any service and had to constantly ask for help. I think Tamam is definitely worth at least one meal during your trip to Chania, but don't count on it being spectacular.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamam also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Tamam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.