We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from the harbor and find Portes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portes

Portes
Portou 48 | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
+30 2821 076261
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 239 restaurants in Chania Town
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This small family owned restaurant is located on Portou Street.The alley leading to it is decorated with charming old doors as the name "PORTES" means doors.The Irish owner/chef offers her customers a blend of trend and tradition with her unique recipes.All ingredients are fresh,seasonal,local and bought daily.Recipes are designed depending on the season and availability therefore be sure to checkout the blackboard displaying new dishes and daily specials."Portes" also offers a wide range of vegetarian and vegan dishes.We open our doors each day to welcome and please our customers.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get away from the harbor and find Portes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I were in Chania for three days and went to Portes based on recommendations and had one of our best meals in Greece there. First, it was just nice to get a quiet dinner away from the harbor. We tried a couple of places there and the only one that I would recommend was the Amphora. Portes is a couple of blocks off the harbor and was definitely a nice change from the crowds and touts. Also, the food and drink were superb. The marinated anchovies appetizer was outstanding. My wife had the roasted fish and it was great. My lamb dish was also memorable. We'll definitely go back to Portes next time we're in Chania.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    216
    112
    27
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely, atmospheric restaurant, loads of vegetarian choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had lots of small starters. My favourite were the stewed oyster mushrooms and the stuffed vine leaves. They do a very nice sweet red wine sauce with the mushrooms unlike anything I've ever had before. Worth a visit. However, Tamam is still my favourite Chania restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Does well for it's unique location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Didn't have too much difficulty finding this place using the TripAdvisor map. Meals were pretty good. I think what struck me most about the restaurant, was it's location. It's situated on a narrow walkway. Along the wall, they've placed old doors along their portion of the eating area, which explains the restaurant name. Pretty unique way to turn an otherwise unusual location to something nice. I had the chicken risotto, which was good/standard. My wife had the Portes chicken--which was very good. She had the better meal. The fries were great and it was a filling meal. After a week of staying in Crete, most every restaurant, when you call for the check will give you some sort of fruit plate and a small bottle of their Raki to mull over the bill. I think this is a nice touch with majority of the restaurants we visited in Crete.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went at 7pm as can get busy. Research done on TA made this a firm choice for us. Always make appoint of eating in the back streets away from harbour. At 8 pm people were waiting for tables as they knew the food was good. Liked the Middle East fusion,particularly the salads. Will be back later in the year.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

In a lovely atmospheric back street in the old town of Chania. Excellent value for money and excellent local food this is certainly worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portes also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Portes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.