We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village to your Saves list
Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
genève
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spend one week in september in this hotel and were very pleased by it.

We came from the airport with the "local bus which bring us to the center of Agios Nikolaos in about one hour and a half. We then took a taxi to the hotel which is located about 5 minutes outside of the town. The fare for the bus was EUR 7.10 and the fare for the taxi EUR 6.00 (always the same fare). For information, by foot, from the hotel to the center/port you will take about 30/40 minutes.

We were lodged on the village side and our room/terrace was very peaceful and viewing the see with sun until the night. The rooms are very simply furnished but clean. The rooms on the village side are not very convenient for families with small childrens or persons with problems to walk due to a lot of stairs and hills.

We have just taken the breakfast there and you had all what you want.

All the staff was always very nice and professional in responding to our demands.

The beach outside is made of small rocks (no sand) but the water is very transparent and we always find "free" sun beds (as from 15 o'clock).

We were away the all days/evenings and could not give you a review regarding the animations.

The only BIG problem is the Wifi which doesn't work (or really rarely) !!!

If we go again in Crete, we would certainly go there once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    310
    111
    47
    17
See reviews for
304
543
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caithness
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I had emailed ahead before we left Scotland to ask about a special treat for our wedding anniversary. I was persuaded to order a taxi to pick us up from the airport. For 80 euro three of us were delivered in a beautiful Mercedes with cold water and a history lesson. From being picked up to being checked in took just over an hour. Reception insisted we had our lunch before going to our room. Buffet lunch was fantastic. When we were taken to our bungalow we were delighted to see it was a sea view and a shared pool. Better than we had paid for. Just had dinner and it was even better than lunch. Lots of Greek and international dishes and the sweets are very tempting. Reception are very friendly and helpful. As there are three of us I phoned and asked for an extra subbed and an extra patio chair. Both were delivered in a few minutes. Very peaceful and tempreture is in mid seventies.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here with friends for a week . When we arrived we had been upgraded to a maisonette with bay view was fantastic. The hotel is split into 2 we were in the village but i wouldnt recommend if you have walking difficulties as very steep slope to top rooms, but worth it if you dont. The food was good pleanty to choose from. All the staff were friendly and helpful.the dive centre was good and my husband highly recommends it .We would all be happy to return for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from another lovely week at this hotel and was greatly saddened by the Awful management review. I was there during the period of the wedding. All guests were advised by letter on the Friday before the wedding of the event which was held in a church within the hotel grounds on Saturday evening. The letter advised of the wedding and the reception. Most guests were pleased and excited as this was a traditional Greek wedding and a day of celebration.
During the day it was obvious where the reception was to be held although details were provided in th letter on the Friday. We were expecting a noisy night so on the friday we had a relatively early night. The wedding ceromony was seen and heard by many guests as it could be seen from the balcony by many. A lovely chance to share in two young peoples commitments.
The reception was held some distance away from the hotel, beyond the restaraunt terrace, beyond the patio terrace, beyond the beach, harbour and beyond the volleyball area and trees., some 150-200 yds from the building. The speakers were facing out to sea . We heard nothing in our apartment and indeed late in the evening I strolled out to see if the event was actually taking place. I am really saddened by one review as the management took all reasonable care that the event didn't effect the running of the hotel or indeed the guests. Incidently Champagne was available at Sunday breakfast for those who wanted it, presumably from the wedding.
I have always foung management and staff excellent-hence 3 visits to this hotel.
As usual very clean, 2 small problems sorted within minutes, excellent room and views. If you want specific rooms or facilities email ahead of your visit, they won't guarantee your request but they certainly try. Last review I recommended a taverna just down the hill on the right. Busy place now with Brits from the complex. There is another one a bit further down the hill on the left. Cheaper drinks than hotel.
Good luck to the married couple, not all Brits are uncharitable.

Room Tip: Garden rooms face the town and harbour of Agious Nic. Good views on levels 4,5 & 6. Email ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights in late September/early October. Break was to celebrate my retirement from the RAF and our first anniversary and this was my first visit to Crete. Hotel was superbly located with fantastic staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Maria in the main bar and Katerina in the restaurant were excellent ambassadors for the hotel. We spent a couple of days travelling the island but spent the last few days in the pools. Food was superb with great variety and reall show-cased the island. Entertainment was good in the evenings and I particularly enjoyed aqua aerobics in the afternoon at 4 - the only male taking part and with the nickname 'Bay Watch'. Our room was well proportioned, with fridge, sufficient cupboards, air con and a lovely balcony that show cased the mountains. On our final evening, we were 'interviewed' as part of a testimonial for the Iberostar company web wite - sitting on our cosy sofa on a hot sultry evening,with the moon making a romantic backdrop for the short video, we really extolled the virtues of this excellent hotel - cuisine, service, location all addeed to a really romantic stay that will live long in the memory. There was a wedding in the week (noise caused us no problem in our garden view room but should really be called mountain view room as the view of the mountains was stunning) when the Iberostar President's daughter got married on the beach. This really sealed my view of the hotel. We cant wait to return soon and, after doing the testimonial, I just hope the President will offer us a discounted rate. A really fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Dont be put off by the term 'garden view room' (as opposed to sea view room) may well be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral, merseyside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights in mid September, stayed in bungalow 774 good view and soacious accommodation. Lovely beach and views . Food was good plenty of choice. My only feedback was to give proper fruit juice in morning.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at sea-view room and the view was perfect. But unfortunately, there was a big wedding at night just on the beach in front of our hotel. The music was awfully loud - and despite our calls it wasn't made quiter. The receptionist told us it was a very important wedding for the hotel - a daughter of the manager of this hotel was getting married and that we should have to wait till the morning to make our complaints
This is not right kind of management you expect from such a hotel, for sure
Hope that nobody will face such a situation again but just be prepared that your troubles won't bother anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village

Address: Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.