We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal around Agios Nikolaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gargadoros Taverna

Gargadoros Taverna
Gargadoros Beach, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece
28410 22599
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Almyrida, Greece
1 review
“The best meal around Agios Nikolaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

After several evenings with meal in Agios Nikolaos (expensive but not something "extra" and little boring food) we took our last night near our hotel Miramare. A simple taverna with a lot of greek guests, of course they have good food! We have a lovely dinner there, a special version of Giovetsi with shrimps and mussels. WOOOW, can absolute recommended that dishes! And a lovely staff who check up us all the time. We will come back next time in Agios Nikolaos!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    36
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location for beach but food disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurant is near beach so we went there for lunch,

Order Shrimp salad which arrived with 4 overlooked small shrimps and a lot of lettuce.

Waiter was a bit too chatty and back and forth to table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

By chance we dropped in for a little snack on the terrace with a great view. We were very surprised by the great but simple greek food that was served. We went back 2 more times..super place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Below the average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We chose this restaurant after reading TA reviews and we were disappointed. The meals were bellow the average. The special mussels were not cleaned well. Waiting staff were nice, good recommendation of wine. But would not come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Gargadoros Taverna is an excellent place to spend your time with friends or family. Always welcomed if you choose to sit for some nibbles to follow with your Raki or ouzo after spending your time at gargadoros beach.
During the night the area is less busy which allows you to enjoy the great traditional dishes by the sea breeze.
I will highly recommend any fish dish you like and salads. Excellent quality and nicely cooked.
For drinks do try Raki or else Tsikioudia, traditional Cretan drink distilled from grapes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gargadoros Taverna also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Gargadoros Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gargadoros Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.