We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gargadoros Taverna

Gargadoros Taverna
Gargadoros Beach, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece
28410 22599
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Kyiv, null, Ukraine
1 review
“It's delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visit Gargadoros at first day of our Cretan vacation, then became regular visitors:) The food & service were perfect, the atmosphere was really friendly. We had an unforgettable vacation in Agios Nicolaos thanks to opportunity to taste traditional Greek food. Rissoto and seafood,fresh fish and salads were delicious!
We want to go back here with our children and recommend this taverna for everyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Taverna with near restaurant quality food - superb location & view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

A little Taverna but with near restaurant quality food & service. Great menu selection and wines, nice atmosphere and perfect to be out of town overlooking the small beach and amazing sea views. So good we went twice on our 10 day holiday.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More like a restaurant than a taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice food with very nice & friendly people
Definitely a must when it comes to dinner in Agios Nikolaos

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, unbelievable view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We trekked across town to this restaurant because of the previous reviews. We discovered the beautiful beach at Gargadoras and the cool little snack bar built into the cliff. We wondered what the fuss was until we went into the taverna and sat down. The view from inside is breathtaking. The food was really good, gyros pork came with fabulous fries and salad and pitta. Haloumi flat breads with pesto were delicious and the mixed seafood so tasty if a little small. It wasn't cheap, one dish each plus 2 beers and an ice tea came to 37 euros for lunch. That said I would have gone back many times if we had not of been all inclusive. Don't miss this perfect little taverna

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Food was really good, service was great and the guy was chatty and helpful.
The location is lovely !
Wod have liked to have returned but just didn't happen

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gargadoros Taverna also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Gargadoros Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gargadoros Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.