We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & quiet, beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miramare Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Miramare Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Miramare Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gargadoros, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from our third stay at the Miramare on the outskirts of Aghios Nicolaos. Wonderful hotel with excellent views, good food and friendly helpful staff. A la carte restaurant well worth a visit. Had a suite with private pool which is lovely but the three large pools are also spacious and clean and not crowded at all. Built into the hillside so may not be suitable for those with mobility problems. Staff will take you and your cases to and from your room in a car though. A true chill out spot. Will return again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review and for choosing to stay with us.
It is always nice to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the food and I am very pleased to hear that our staff services met your expectations.
We look forward to your next visit.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    106
    56
    21
    8
See reviews for
68
154
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oradea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I must confess I went there with not some big expectations after reading some reviews here. But once there, I was completely astonished. The view is magnificent and it is worth to pay a sea-view because you'll wake up and go to sleep surrounded by extremely beauty of the gulf, whose view is not disrupted by anything. The room: nicest hotel room ever! We had our 1,8 years old son with us and they gave a villa which consisted of one good size bedroom with all furnishing, one living with a big closet, two (2!) bathrooms and a big, big terrace looking to the gulf, with 2 sunbeds. Many of the villas had also a mini pool on the terrace. The decorations were new, natural, simple and very nice. The restaurant: everybody seemed to do its best for the people to have a good time there. The food was sometimes delicious, other times just ok but never bad, and I'm quite a high pretending person. The beach: Almiros beach is 10 minutes away, the way to the beach is a pleasure as it lies along the gulf. It's a nice clean sandy beach with warm waters and enters the sea in a very smooth way. Overall is a great place to spend a holliday, but not for aged or cardiology problems persons because the villas are so high... We can say it was our training class to climb that hill daily. I think they knew I hadn't been training for a long time :d. In the end, I can say I would definitely return there and I'm not the " all inclusive" type of tourist, usualy, and not the type of tourist which returns twice in a place. Except Crete, my love, and maybe except Miramare :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and I am glad that you had a wonderful time.

I truly hope you will make an exception regarding the "rule" not going twice to the same place and that we will have the pleasure to have you with us in the future.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Arad, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week with our daughter and with our friends, also with their kid. It was a pleasant experience, I would surely repeat it!
We had All Inclusive boarding, and we were very satisfied. The meals were very good, with plenty of types to choose from. However, the beverages were not so good: the wine was from a box, the beer was strange (maybe we are used to other tastes for wine and beer), and also the juices and sodas were of low quality (but this is what all inclusive is - local beverages and thats it).
The room was good, we had booked one with garden view and we received one with a great sea view. It was very clean and the towels were changed every day, the bed sheets every 2-3 days. We were at the 4th floor, and we used the elevator which actually brought us up on almost the top of the hill. Then we had to take a few stairs up and down to reach our room. It was a litlle bit uncomfortable because we had to carry our litte daughter up and down the stairs, but otherwise it was ok. Being on a hill, the resort has lots and lots os stairs, and ups and downs, so if you don't do stairs for whatever reason, try to book a room closse to he elevator or close to the reception.
In the morning we went to Almyros beach, which is a quite good sandy beach, but it was at about 10 minutes walk from the hotel (mind we had two litlle children with us). The trip back was a little bit difficult because we had to come back up the hill. In the afternoons we stayed at the pool at the top of the hill in our hotel. The pool area was very nice, with both sun and shade, bar, music, etc. However, the bar closed at 6 o'"clock and if you wanted to get something to drink after that our you couldn't. Also, the pool was only open from 10 to 19, so if you wanted a morning quick dip or a late night swim you couldn't.
We think that they could have managed to have some activities for the kids who were runnig arround in the evening on the terrace. This was a great minus! No organized activities for children whatsoever!
The staff of the hotel was very helpful and nice, and all of them spoke or understood English, and they all tried to meet your needs!
All in all, it was a very nice stay, we enjoyed it and we would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a quiet relaxing holiday! Just remember it is a 4 star hotel with all inclusive boarding, so don't have very high expectations regarding details, such as beverage quality, furniture of the rooms, and other details that can be found in other reviews. If you are not pretentios you will have a nice stay!

Room Tip: Do not book a room on top of the hill, because the area is very windy and it will disturb you. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Miramare resort . I am extremely happy to read that you found our staff excellent and it is great to know that you loved your room. However, as we welcome any kind of constructive criticism I appreciate your remarks regarding the beverages and I have taken on board your comments regarding the lack of organized activities for children. May I kindly note that only one of the Bars closes at 6 pm and the main lobby bar stays open until midnight. Thank you very much for recommending us to fellow travellers and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent my holidays in Crete in Miramare hotel in July, I wasthere for three weeks with my 3 year old daughter. Everything was excellent: clean comfortable room, tasty food and wonderfull sea! Especially I was impressed by the high quallity of services provided by the staff of the Aegean restaurante where we had dinner every night. The only thing that was very unpleasant was the strange attitude of the maitre d'hotel in the lower restaurant during our breakfast towards my daughter. She may be very loud when she is playing arround, but it is not a reason to be rude with the kids of the guests. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and I really want to thank the hotel staff for this wonderful stay!

Irina

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review .I have made a note of your comment about the attitude of the maitre d'hotel towards your daughter and your compliments have been passed on to all the staff at Aegeon restaurant .
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Crete.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just back from the Miramare resort in Ag. Nik. We took this hotel primarily because of its location (on a hill with amazing views over the Mirabello bay at a quiet location, yet only 15 to 20 min away by foot from the city center) and it did not dissappoint us on this point (but we had to take the steep climbs with it). We were lucky enough to have booked a room in the more recent part, but without an individual pool (rather a big bath tub), with an ultra all inclusive formule (free but very weak wifi, broad offer of drinks and free lunches and dinners at the a la carte restaurant at the Aegeon Pool Bar). We particularly liked this formula as it allowed us to escape the crowded buffet restaurant with its not so friendly maître d'hotel and enjoy the hospitality, service and flexibility of the Aegeon Pool Bar staff (Kostas, Maria, Marilena and the cook). Our room (in the 200's) was at a noisy location (the friendly DJ plays loud music almost every night until midnight at the open terrace of the main bar) but we could change to a more quiet room upon request. This could be a superb hotel if it raises the bar (Just as an example, weed is growing extensively between the steps of the Aegeon Pool...), continues to invest in its facilities (modern elevators, uplift of the reception, sufficient parasols) and enforces its own rules with respect to dress code for evening dinners and access to the Aegeon Pool.

Room Tip: Book a room in the newest part. If you are in good shape, ask for a room up the hill away from the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. Whilst I was pleased that there were certain parts of your stay that were enjoyable, like the location of the resort and the service of our staff at the Aegeon pool, I was concerned to read that our buffet restaurant experiences, among a few other things, did not meet your expectations. However, as we welcome any kind of constructive criticism I have taken your notes on board and every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, as it motivates us to improve and always try for the best services, So, thank you for higlighting the ares we need to focus on improving.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Miramare .

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The service in this hotel was very very helpfull, we could ask anything.
A view from the room I've never seen before, sky-mountain-see-private swimming pool: 4 kinds of blue and 1 lucky women.
the private pools are next to each other (with the other rooms) so sometimes noisy neighbours could bother.
And the best of the room was that it was cold without putting on the airconditioning. Otherwise I would have been sick of the airconditioning. Always very nice natural cold temperature in the room.
The buffet had everything! I'm a vegetarian and I had choice in overload.
I definitly go back to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a nice review following your visit to the Miramare Resort. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed all aspects of it. I very much look forward welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our first time in Greece, in Miramare Resor! The room was old, but with perfect sea view! But it didn't destroy our holidays. The staff was really very good and helpful! Girls at the reception were very nice and professional. The restaurant has reach and various buffet. The sandy beach is 5 minutes walking from the hotel, but it was dirty, thats why we prefered small stone beach opposite the hotel! I think next year we will come back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was certainly a pleasure taking care of you and we are delighted that you are already looking forward to your next visit. It is great to know that you found our staff helpful and you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant.
I truly do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back on a future visit.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare Resort & Spa

Address: Gargadoros, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#15 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramare Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MIRAMARE resort is an attractive hotel, bungalow and Luxury Villas complex in Eastern Crete. It is situated in a magnificent and peaceful location just above the sea front, with a startling view of the picturesque town of Aghios Nikolaos and the Mirabello Bay between two fully organized beaches offering full facilities and a large variety of sea sports.The cosmopolitan town of Aghios Nikolaos is within walking distance from the hotel, only one hour from Heraklion International Airport and a short drive from all major attractions of Eastern Crete.The hotel is built in traditional island architecture supporting the conservation of Cretan nature, with low buildings, all of which are generously spacious for your relaxation and enjoyment. Miramare Resort & Luxury Villas has been designed not only to fulfil but also to exceed the highest expectations of the most discerning traveller. Offering the highest possible service standards and an environment of discreet luxury and comfort, the Miramare resort promises to make even the shortest stay a unique and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Miramare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel And Villas
Miramare Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Hotel Crete
Miramare Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramare Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.