We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tradiotional cretan and greek food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piato

Piato
Minoos 5 - Ammoudi Beach (At the End of ''Akti Koundourou''), Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece
+30 2841 023173
Website
Improve this listing
4.5 of 5 stars 490 Reviews
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to meze restaurant "Piato"! Delicious fresh greek food, beautiful view of the Cretan sea, 30 years of experience and your love, are all part of the magical experience of eating in "Piato". Since 1983 with constant work, love and passion about food and wine, we managed to make "Piato" one of the best family restaurants in Agios Nikolaos.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tradiotional cretan and greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice dishes and traditional cretan food.very friendly service and reasonable prices. If available try beef stifado,its very good

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    100
    21
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So glad to be back at Piato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very very big thank you to Isabella, George and his mum and dad for the usual friendly welcome, excellent service and fabulous food always served at our favourite table out front. Where do I start? We visited Piato probably 6 or 7 times over our 3 weeks in Aghios Nikolaos and feel it just gets better each year. Without doubt the best stuffed vine leaves and zucchini flowers in Crete and prawn risotto to die for but to be fair everything we ate was freshly made and soo good! Looking forward to next year already, don't change a thing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Average Food, Tourist Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Food was average overall. We walked the around 1km from the city centre. Suprisingly it was some percent more expensive than the ones in our area (beach between yacht port and city centre). The location sports restricted view of the bay, but is adjacent to a noisy main road.
Service was professionaly friendly and used to explain greek food to the uninitiated - actualy to all others ;) the only patrons were other tourists during our stay.
We didn't have fish because the seafood was from the freezer according to the menu and there was no catch of the day.
Mains: moussaka (average, tastes like default lasagna with parmesan topping; kleftiko, which was okay
starters: fried courgettes, very good; stuffed wine leaves and 3 courgette flowers: average to good
house wine okay
There was raki and lokoumades on the house. All in all we were not happy, but thats not the restaurant's fault but our tripadvisor induced expectations. We didn't factor in the context of the rating. One lives and learns.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfact resturant in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice view, very good food and the most important the service! It was outstanding, i recomend it to every person that want to feel the real greek people and food!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kouros k, Manager at Piato, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear visitor

Really THANK YOU for visiting our town and our business ‘’Piato’’.
As hosts we tried to do our best for your convenience.
We hope your visit to be a pleasant memory for you and a reason to visit us again.
Finally wish you a life full of health, love, happiness and democracy.

Sincerely
The store manager

P.S. thank you for your kind comments about our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Food & friendly Service with many Extras (Dessert & Raki). We enjoyed it twice and can highly recommend it to all who love the greek cuisine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kouros k, Manager at Piato, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear visitor

Really THANK YOU for visiting our town and our business ‘’Piato’’.
As hosts we tried to do our best for your convenience.
We hope your visit to be a pleasant memory for you and a reason to visit us again.
Finally wish you a life full of health, love, happiness and democracy.

Sincerely
The store manager

P.S. thank you for your kind comments about our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piato also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Piato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.