We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensimar Minos Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sensimar Minos Palace to your Saves list
Sensimar Minos Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Perched on a rocky peninsular, this hotel has the best views ever. It is surrouned on 3 sides by water with a labyrinth of little pathways guiding you to clifftop and beachside sunbathing areas.
I don't know how to described the location of the hotel, except "its fabulous!"
Great food. Great staff. Great restaurant and, a hotel that happily provides for vegetarians without having to ask.
We have just got back from this hotel and would go back tomorrow.
It overlooks the main town and at 5pm each evening you can sit and watch the cruise ships arrive.
Be aware though, that this hotel is not for the unfit. It does sit on a hilltop and if you want to walk down to the beach, it is a steep slope.
The hotel sits about 40 minutes walk from the main town. It is walkable and we did it 4 times in the week, there and back. Very tiring if hot!
If you don't want to walk, get reception to call you a cab for a little over 5 euro. You can also use the local bus service but they only run about once an hour.
One warning. The main pool is very deep, even in the shallow area its more than 4 foot deep
To spread your wings further afield to perhaps Elounde, a taxi will cost you 10 euro.
So in all, this is a fab hotel and is worth every penny. You can if you want, dine at the sister hotel, the Minos beach if arranged with reception.

Room Tip: Don't bother to pay extra for your own or shared pool room. The reserved pool area has no atmosp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mick,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are pleased to read, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and how much you appreciate the location, the food and our service. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving nothing less than just the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you back for a relaxing break next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    71
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
32
170
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our ninth visit to the Minos Palace Hotel and yet again we had a lovely holiday! Location, views, weather, food all excellent and backed up by friendly and helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble!! Sitting out on the terrace at breakfast and dinner looking at the seaview and AgNik is truly lovely, the whole atmosphere is relaxing and welcoming. Looking forward to returning again next year!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for returning again to Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We highly appreciate your loyalty and are pleased to read, that again your enjoyed your well deserved holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for.

Like every year, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are already looking very forward to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What an amazing hotel. The location is spectacular ; beautiful gardens and wonderful sea views. We had a very warm and friendly welcome from helpful staff. Our room was so comfortable and spotlessly clean. Restaurant service was brilliant , the food delicious and plentiful and very varied both at breakfast and dinner. What wonderful chefs ! The Kulinarium was very impressive as was the beach bar for a lighter midday snack. All in all a very relaxing and memorable holiday. Thanks to all .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip hope.

We appreciate your kind feedback and with pleasure we will forward your kind words as an additional motivation to our collegues, as this is the nicest way to say them "Thank you".

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

this was a super holiday my daughter and I have just returned from this lovely hotel, the staff were all very friendly and so helpful, the manager was always around in the hotel and very approachable, Buffet breakfast and dinner was plentiful and very tasty, we met many people who had been returning year after year we will return again, so much to do and you could even spend the holiday in the and around the hotel the gardens are beautiful and the little beach is so nice, as is the beach bar, the pool and the surrounding areas are very pleasant to sit and read, bedrooms, are spacious and clean, the view from our balcony was spectacular looking out to Ag Nik always something to watch little fishing boats to huge liners, all in all a very memorable holiday made perfect by the staff and manager of the minos palace hotel thank you all

Room Tip: our room 204 had fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

It's nice to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and appreciate especially the breakfast buffet, the views and the quiet atmosphere. Your praise for the whole team is a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests, as the guest's satisfaction is our driver.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we have been returning to this hotel for 16 years, that almost says everything!
The location is beautiful,the hotel is very comfortable and there have been many improvements over the years..the food is excellent with a wide range of choice and a chef who is willing to prepare special dishes.Above all the staff could not be more helpful or considerate a key factor as my wife has to travel with a wheelchair.we will continue to return to Minos Palace for as long as we are fit to do so

Room Tip: many rooms have an wxcellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you so much for visiting for so many years and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

For us it's a big honour to welcome you since so many years and we are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays again so much. The satisfaction and the relaxation of our guests is our highest aim and it's nice to see, that you also feel this.

Whenever you come back to Crete we will awaiting you with open arms!

All the best wishes and sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is the best hotel we ever had in Crete. We stay more than thirty times in Crete but this is the best of the 5 stars hotel we ever had. The food is alternately and very fresh and a great great choice. It was very tasty. We love the kitchen and their cooks. Breakfast is more than okay, and you can choice of eggs, omelets etc.
The hotel is very clean and the staf and all the personel(reception, waiters, barkeepers and cleaners) are friendly en very helpfull.
The hotel have a great mainpool and a beach.
There is for everyone a lot of place, you don`t have a run for a good place at the beach or the pools. It isv a very quite hotel . The outside resataurant looks over the bay of Agios Nicolaios and is very nice. We stay here in September three weeks and we could always have breakfast en dinner in the nice garden.

Room Tip: The most rooms are standard room and are nice and have all a balcony with much privacy. But you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Bennie,

Thank you so much for staying with us in Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are very pleased to see your kind feedback and that you loved the quiet atmosphere, our staff and especially the food. Your praise for the whole team is a big motivation to continue giving nothing less than just the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if you come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have stayed here many times and feel as if we are coming home when we arrive. The views around the hotel are just wonderful and all the staff are so helpful, they cannot do enough for you. The breakfast buffet is very good and the food in the evening is also good and varied. If you want to have lunch there are bar snacks and also a taverna in the grounds where the food is excellent and mostly greek dishes. Manolis and his staff at the taverna are again so helpful and the view, whilst you are having lunch, is amazing. As I said we have been coming here for many years for a truly relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings but now at 11am in the morning there are aerobics in the pool and the music is so loud. There were never more than 12 people doing the aerobics at any one time which is a very small percentage of the guests staying there.
The manager said he would ask the girl to turn the music down but the next day it seemed even louder. The loud music starts again at about 4pm in the afternoon on the other side of the lawned sunbathing area. This is my only complaint about this lovely hotel and hopefully they will reconsider these activities in the future..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you so much for coming back to Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

It's nice to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and especially the lunch in our taverna with the nice view. Your compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

We are also very thankful for your open words. Kindly note, that part of the Sensimar - concept is also a very soft entertainment, but of course without disturbing the guests and without very noisy animation. Please be sure that we will check the issue again.

For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope that you may return very soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sensimar Minos Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Minos Palace

Address: Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#11 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Minos Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent deluxe hotel built on a picturesque headland, ideal for those seeking both beauty and tranquility. The hotel offers superb walking routes through its extensive landscaped gardens with excellent views of the towns of Aghios Nikolaos and the bay of Mirabello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sensimar Minos Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Palace
Minos Palace Hotel Crete
Sensimar Minos Palace Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensimar Minos Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.