We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensimar Minos Palace

Save Saved
You added Sensimar Minos Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sensimar Minos Palace
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Totnes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delightful Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Minos Palace for a week in late October. We booked a junior suite which was very comfortable and attractively designed with two large balconies facing different but attractive sea views.

The staff were all very helpful and polite and the pools, sun bathing areas and beach were all kept in excellent condition. The hotel is a few Km outside Agios Nickolaos, situated on a peninsula with excellent views in all directions. As a result it is quiet, which suited us perfectly, but if you wish you can walk into AK and join the throngs of tourists or drive a few Km north to Elounda.

It is a good location for visiting the Lasthli Plateau, as well as all places east. An unforgettable memory was climbing to the stunningly beautiful location of Karfi, an ancient Minoan ruined city reminiscent of an unspoilt Machu Picchu, but far more atmospheric, we were the only people there! It is also an easy drive to Heraklion and Knossos etc..

Room Tip: We had a corner suite with 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Minos Palace the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a smooth return.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays in a relaxing way and also took the chance to visit some of the most beautiful places in Crete. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do also next year only the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Minos Palace Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    56
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
133
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool. UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Well I must say this hotel was really good, the food on the half board basis Breakfast & Dinner I found the breakfast pretty standard fare 6 or cereals & eggs,fried,boiled or scrambled the bacon was the usual very underdone type looks as though its boiled, loads of fruit & breads etc. The evening meals though I have to say were the best I have experienced for a buffet style restaurant these were well prepared plenty of variety and high quality.
Another good touch was as we only got to the hotel around 10.30 in the evening and had missed dinner but we had 2 cold plates of meats, fruits & a bottle of wine waiting in the room when we checked in.
The staff were excellent very helpful and the management were always visible and approachable we had an large room twin bedded and an extra 2 day beds 2 Tv's although the selection of English TV was the usual poor choice i.e BBC News & CNN News although a number of the Greek channels had UK/American programmes at night with Greek subtitles so you could follow them.

Now Thompson's & the Hotel advertise this a a 5 star Hotel its not, possibly 4 star at best although do not let that detract from it as its a well run hotel, the grounds are top class several swimming pools and its position on a little headland was perfect. This would take not much to upgrade to a "5star holiday hotel" a bit better finishes in the rooms and the lobby of the Hotel looks very tired.
Also its quite a long way from Ag Nikolas you definitely need a car or taxi if you want to get around, we enquired at the hotel desk regarding car hire they wanted £ 160 for 4 days, we took a taxi into town (£4) and at the first car rental asked for a quote for a VW. Polo £85 the cost so we took that and included full insurance so check out in town for car hire half the Hotel price.
One other criticism one of the reasons I booked here was it had free wi-fi I need this to keep in touch with my business, it was hopeless always breaking down be on 5 minutes then cuts off having said that when I complained to reception about it they offered for me to work in the receptions office,so they did try but I must say they need to get a decent reliable wi-fi system with proper Hi-Speed Internet it was slow when it did work.

So all in all it was a great weeks holiday the food top class and Staff excellent we have said if we come back to Crete we will definitely use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: They all seem to be Sea Facing ask for an upgrade we got a suite at no extra cost as it wasnt full
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for staying at Minos Palace. We hope you had a save trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback, as it helps us to improve. We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and found the relaxition you were looking for.

Also the smaller weak points of your review found our full attention. Please accept our sincere apologize for this and be sure that we will work strongly on it, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Thank you for informing us about those details!

For us, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you again next year!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Minos Palace Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week in this peaceful hotel. Only wish we had made it 2 weeks! Our sea view room was excellent and it was so special to watch the dawn over the sea each morning. All of the staff were always helpful and really seem to be proud of their hotel and want to make your stay there memorable. Food at the buffet breakfast and dinner was excellent and varied. We tried the hotel taverna for lunch on our last day and that too was good. Although the beach is small, there were always spare sunbeds on the beach or other areas by the sea. Do invest in a snorkel and mask before you come,because there are so many fish to see in the clear water. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are wonderful. People who had a room with shared pool said that the water was colder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Minos Palace the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a smooth trip home - although we had to say goodbye far too early.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and wish to come back. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do also next year just the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Minos Palace Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here last week and was very impressed with the hotel and its facilities. Spotlessly clean, large room with a sea view and a private balcony big enough to really use and relax in. Hotel is a couple of kilometers from the town centre, but to be fair the facilities are so good that you never really have to leave the complex. We had breakfast and evening meal included and the food was delicious and plentiful. There was lots of choice and everything was freshly made. Evening entertainment was good with live music on 3 of the 7 nights we were there. The public areas were very well kept and the staff were courteous and helpful at all times. We would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for choosing Minos Palace. We hope you had a smooth return and took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are happy to read, that you enjoyed your well - deserved holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. The complete satisfaction and relaxation is our highest aim and it is nice to see, that you also felt this.

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you again next year.

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Palace Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went with no idea what to expect; we just wanted sun and heat after such a lousy summer. We were absolutely bowled over. This hotel has a lovely location, well kept gardens, spotlessly clean large rooms with good sized private balconies, excellent food and friendly helpful staff. Who cares whether it is officially Deluxe, 5 star or 4 star. We loved it. It never felt crowded, never a struggle to get a sun bed and the terracing of the sunbathing areas leading down to the sea worked so well. It's 2.5Km from Agios Nikolaos but not an unpleasant walk. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Get a full seaview room looking over the bay. It gets the morning sun rather than the evening but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Minos Palace the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a relaxed trip home and took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests.

Indeed thanks to our big and spacious outside and garden area it's nearly impossible to feel the hotel crowded, even if it is fully booked. Our aim is to offer a lot of privacy and quietness to our guests in order to allow them to get new power and energy for the daily routine after their holiday.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Palace Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just had a super week at this lovely hotel.The view from our room was exceptional,as was the standard of cleanliness,food and service.From a glass of chilled tea on arrival to cheerful porterage on departure,our experience was a delight.A good place for chilling,walking,swimming and taking in the views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Minos Palace the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a smooth trip home and took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Minos Palace Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has it all - peace and tranquility, a room with a wonderful view of islands, the sea and the mountains, delicious food in an amazing setting, plenty of room and comfortable sunbeds around a fabulous pool and the warmest and most professional staff. We arrived at 3am and our room had a plated breakfast ready for when we woke (very thoughtful) and a bottle of complimentary wine which we saved until the evening! The Manager, Sakis, was particularly kind and helpful, as were the ladies on reception. All in all, we were very impressed at the extremely high standard of this hotel and came home feeling thoroughly refreshed. We will definitely book again. Thank you to all at Minos Palace!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for choosing Minos Palace. We hope you had safe trip home and did not forget to take some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are very pleased to read, that you really enjoyed your stay in a relaxing way. Your nice words for the whole team are a big motivation to keep on pampering our guests with a lot of small details. Only if our guests are happy, we can be happy, too.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you back again soon!

With all the best regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Palace Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sensimar Minos Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Minos Palace

Address: Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#11 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sensimar Minos Palace 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent deluxe hotel built on a picturesque headland, ideal for those seeking both beauty and tranquility. The hotel offers superb walking routes through its extensive landscaped gardens with excellent views of the towns of Aghios Nikolaos and the bay of Mirabello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sensimar Minos Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Palace
Minos Palace Hotel Crete
Sensimar Minos Palace Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensimar Minos Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.