We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to going back again this Summer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lato Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lato Hotel to your Saves list
Lato Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ammoudi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back again this Summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Can't wait to go back to the Lato for our 8th time. No screaming kids as only a few rooms accommodate more than two people and none that take more than three. We eat out at very reasonable prices at the local restaurants in Ag Nice. We walk or take a taxi after a few drinks at the bar, where there's always a friendly face as well Jeanette on hand with her wonderful cocktails. The hotel is not luxurious but relaxed, clean and friendly with everything you need for a great holiday. We usually like to travel to different locations but now think why bother as for a sunny, beach type holiday we feel we find nothing better, especially at such reasonable prices.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and there's so much to do, you will be out and about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    74
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
48
195
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after moving from the alantha hotel. We didn't like the alantha and were desperate to move hotels. This hotel is a little gem its on the main road but you don't notice the traffic. The sea view is fantastic you have a really good view of the town. The price was reasonable and air conditioning included. The snack bar food was cheap and a good price. Breakfast was simple but enjoyable. Rooms are clean and the pool was cleaned everyday. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed in Room 204 the last week the hotel was open in October before it closed for the winter. We were lucky with the weather as it was 28/29 the day we arrived, and although sunny it did cool off during the week and rained on our last day - perfect for a late season break though. Our room 204 was comfortable and clean enough with a shower room and a good sized balcony overlooking the bay. We found the air con worked well and had a quiet/sleep mode if you wanted to keep it on at night. There was also a small fridge in the cupboard handy for keeping the odd drink cool.

Breakfasts were fine and typically Greek with the occasional extra of bacon, eggs, mini sausages and beans. It was nice you could eat either inside or out facing the pool. We found the owners/reception staff to be very nice and helpful if you needed anything at all and there was always someone on duty whatever time you got back.

It's 15/20 mins walk down to main Agios harbour, but there are some good tavernas on the way so you don't need to walk the whole way to find good food if you don't want to walk too far. We dined in Avra twice, Plato, Obelisk (all about 5mins away but Knossos was closed) Pelagos & Cretan Embassy (further down near the harbour) - all very good and Kri Kri on our last night (which is literally just round the corner from the hotel turning left) where I personally had my most enjoyable meal. We'd also been there the night before for a drink when the afterparty of a Greek wedding was on which was great fun watching the Greek dancing. We also had some good Tuna salad lunches by the pool at The Lato - there's plenty of choice on the snack menu at lunchtime.

We hired a car from Argus Car Hire online to pick up at the airport which we found to be the most reasonable and we'd used them before in Cephalonia, but we did have some problems with the car not starting which was finally sorted by their lease company Alamo/National. Did a trip to Spinalonga from Plaka (a return trip for us as we went there 30 years ago when we were on our honeymoon in Ag Nik - Spinalonga was a lot less touristy then! and of course back in 1982 I hadn't read 'The Island' - a 'must' if you go there - wonderful book) other trips we did were to Elounda, Lerapetra, Kritsa and Lato ruins but never made it to Knossos ruins as the car didn't start that day so stayed local.

So, all in all, a lovely late season nostalgic trip back to Agios for us. Thank you Lato Hotel for a happy stay chosen after reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. It suited us perfectly.

Room Tip: Room 204 had good balcony and seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Oct 2o12 and the weather was perfect. The hotel is small but has everything you need, the rooms were clean, the staff very friendly, especially Jeanette who runs the bar. Nothing is too much trouble for her, dont bother with the reps just ask Jeanette if you want any info/advice. We asked to be moved to a room with a sea view and were moved immediately. When we left the maids gave us a jar of homemade marmalade- delicious\!
It is very easy to walk into town - no taxi needed unless you are infirm.
Best restaurants - Bokos (closest to hotel- great view)
Amalthea - go thru ag nik towards the port
Mignomis - if you want to push the boat out, this has the best views of all.
Swimming in the sea on Havannia beach was just perfect, warm, no waves - need footwear for the pebbles tho.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grappenhall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have been to this hotel many times and always had a good time.The hotel is not too big or small but just nice to meet other folks.The staff are great the rooms spotless pool clean a really good hotel There are no ramps for wheelchairs take note before you book.There's a five minute walk to the nearest beach and fifteen minutes to the harbour or 5euros by taxi .There are some great places to eat close by and the wine is great will be going again very soon Ken

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our second year at the Lato and each time it just gets better. Staff are really helpful, we had a sea view room, the view was amazing but my husband is a very light sleeper and there was some road noise so we asked to move to a room at the back, it was no trouble at all, no sooner had we asked we were moving, it was much quieter and cooler. Breakfast was good, this year we had hot food, sausage, bacon and beans. Janette`s lunchtime snacks are really worth trying especially the chips, but it is happy hour that gets people together, Janette makes good cocktails and keeps you supplied with good music, she is a treasure.
Van takes good care of the swimming pool which is a great way of cooling off. The restaurants are 5 min walk, our favourite was the Avra, food is excellent and the two Costa`s work hard, they still find time to chat with everyone. Obelix is good too, more in the way of english food, Rob the owner is mad. La Strada is well worth a visit and they will even send a free taxi to collect you from the hotel.
All in all we had a great time and met loads of really nice people,we have been going to Ag Nik for 7 years now and used to stay in a four star hotel on the front but the Lato meets all the same criteria. We will be booking for next year.
Well done Lato.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel in Agios Nikolaos then look no further! For the price myself and my boyfriend paid-£495 at the end of Sept for 10 days, we got more than we expected! A very friendly, well-run, clean and comfortable hotel. We paid to have a Sea View and were delighted when we were given room 204, very spacious and beautiful views. The staff were first class and I have to say the chips they serve at lunch in the bar are in a class of their own, delicious!

It was rather hot when we went and were relieved to find that we had air-con in our room. This also helped drown out some of the noise from people stomping to their rooms at night having a full blown chat in the hallway! There was a little noise when they were setting up for breakfast each morning however luckily we are both early risers.

The breakfast was decent, started at 8am, tea and coffee available,there was always 2 or 3 cereals to chose from, bread, cheese, ham and either scrambled egg or bacon and beans. Oh yes and some mornings there were boiled eggs you have to peel yourself. To be fair, this was half the fun as myself and my other half would regularly race to see who could peel their egg the quickest! Sad but true and we are only 27 and 28! Oh and I won, every time!

The location is ideal, 15/20 mins away from the main town which is a lovely walk along the sea. There is also a fantastic little beach on the way where we went each day and swam in the clear warm waters-Ammoudi beach. There is also a little restaraunt on the beach where you can enjoy a good lunch!

Just past this beach is the restaraunt Avra. A FABULOUS place with amazing food, the Mezes in particular were spectacular, I can see why the regulars return each year, Avra was busy every night! The owners were so friendly and offered wonderful service. On our last night they offered to cook us a chicken dish off menu infront of us and we were very impressed. Try the Moussaka,the Feta with roasted Peppers and the Cretan Spinach pies! No matter how long you intend to stay for, you have to visit this place which I believe opens again next Spring. Many places close for the winter in Agios. I was very dissappointed with the restaraunt Obelix further down, I am stunned they have had so many good reviews, I would consider myself to be a fair reviewer and the service at Obelix was great but the food was bland and dry.

If you like fish, take a walk into town and visit Pelagos, again a very good restaraunt and in a lovely setting. I would avoid if you have cat allergies as ferrel cats are under the tables and on the chairs just waiting for leftovers!

We did not really go out after dinner and were looking forward to getting back to our cool comfy room to enjoy the views from our balcony. I was pleasantly suprised by the Lato, it exceeded all expectations. The only let down was the transfer company Minoas Cretatour from Heraklion airport who dropped us at the wrong hotel at 11.30pm at night! Then on our return, the 'speedy shuttle' journey took 3 hours, we were not happy at all. I would have rather paid 80 euros for a taxi to take us back to the Airport.

Overall however, the hotel made our holiday extra special and would definitely return again. I would also like to know how they make such wonderful chips?!

Room Tip: Room 204 has a lovely balcony with a beautiful view! Please note that this room has Twin Beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lato Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Hotel

Address: Ammoudi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lato Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, attractive hotel set in beautiful surrounding gardens overlooking the Mirabello bay. It reflects the charm and peacefulness of the countryside, while the resort is within 15 minutes walking distance. A great friendly family hotel that ensures a more enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lato Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Lato Agios Nikolaos
Lato Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lato Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.