We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spinalonga Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spinalonga Village

Spinalonga Village
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Nikolaos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spinalonga Village
Save
You added Spinalonga Village to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaka Elounda, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spinalonga Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Visit this Island with so much history. We stayed in the hamlet of Plaka and caught the little colourful boat over, taking 10 minutes or so. Fee €8 return leaving every 30 - 40 minutes. Entry through the old fortification tunnel way costs €2. There are toilets there and in peak season a little coffee/drinks pavilion . We read the novel "The Island" before we arrived which is SE when this island was the former leper colony of Greece from 1903 till 1957. Very poignant . Prior t hat the fortifications were built largely from the 14/15 the centuries b he Venetians and after by the Turks .
It's a pretty island as you approach but knowing some of the history enhances the feelings and enjoyment of this special place.
I'm sure it gets very busy in peak time and when the boats arrive from Eloundra and Agios Nikelaous. Take water and a hat.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Went passed Elounda to Plaka to get a boat across to the island as recommended as it's cheaper than from Elounda. €16 on a converted fishing boat for two. Can't remember entrance fee but was free for young son. Spent about an hour walking round. It takes little imagination to visualise the island when it was a leper colony.
Interesting half day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

originally a venetian fortress at the entrance to the bay it became a leper colony. Victoria Hislop's book, based at least in part on the reminiscences of an old inhabitant of the island, made the island and the area immediately famous. Up to 3,000 visitors come by boat daily from Agios Nikolaos so it is often packed and is extremely hot - use suncream, wear a good hat and take lots of water! - Our enthusiastic guide went to great lengths to tell us the island's history, and show us the stone houses built mainly on the landward side of the hill - the island can only be 1/4 mile across and is a rocky outcrop about 1/3 mile offshore, opposite Plaka. It is easy to imagine the isolation and misery of the island's inhabitants, some of whom were later even found not have leprosy at all - but still remained there for life; it was a genuine life sentence to be sent to Spinalonga -.
I'm glad we went, but because my imagination ran wild, I'm not sure I would go again!
Most boats later went from the island to a bay with some small sandy beaches and set up barbeques while some adventurous souls went swimming (good idea to have flip flop type shoes to wear in the water)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our second trip to the island in consecutive years. We booked on the boat from Agios Nikolaos and had a wonderful afternoon. The boat had a cafe where it was possible to buy lunch, drinks, ice creams etc for reasonable prices. There was a stop for about 45 minutes along the way for people to swim if they wished. Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and happy to answer our questions.

The island itself is quite barren, but the little town where the lepers lived until the late 1950s is like a ghost town. Wild roses now wind their way through the old timbers of the former houses and shops. The atmosphere is peaceful and serene. A couple of the old buildings have explanatory panels in them, so you can find out a little about the island. It is also possible to walk round the island and see the Venetian fort etc. take your camera!!

There are no coffee bars or kiosks to buy drinks from, so remember a bottle of water and suntan lotion. It is amazingly hot there and there is little shelter.

The island, which once boasted a thriving community going about their business, now echoes to the sounds of tourists' footsteps. Soak up the atmosphere of this unique place and admire the people who used to live here. Their story really isn't so sad, but to find out why you'll have to listen to the guide!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Beeing inspired by the famous book, I desided to visit the village of Plaga and Spinalonga island which is very close. The old town on top of the island and the story of the people who lived imprisoned because of their fatal deseace till their last days make you have mixed feelings about the place. However, I found the history of the place particularly interested and the fresh food at the restaurants of plaka delicious!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spinalonga Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinalonga Village

Address: Plaka Elounda, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Hotel Class:3 star — Spinalonga Village 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Spinalonga Village Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinalonga Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.