We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candia Park Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candia Park Village to your Saves list
Candia Park Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Well what can i say! First and foremost the staff at this hotel were absolutely spot on with customer care.From the reception (eva) to the pool bar (manolis) to the watersports (barry manilow)...well he was a dead ringer for him!
The rooms here are fantastically large with great balconies,cleaned daily and superb air-con which is a must at night.
There are two main pools which are just the right temperature for cooling off in the heat as well as a toddlers pool adjoining.
Food at the main restaurant was varied and well presented,we always managed to be seated for five even when it was busy.Drinks at the hotel were a bit on the steep side i.e pint of lager 3.90 euros,coke 2.70 euros and carafe of red wine 7.50 euros.But hey your on holiday!!! the hotel is predominately german tourists scattered with a few british and greek.No problem with getting a sunbed at the pool or the beach as there are more sunbeds than guests.(do not lose your towels as there is a 20 euro fine)
Going further afield i would definately recommend using taxis to elounda and aghios nicholias due to the fact the bus service is very unreliable.Taxis to ag nic and elounda are 8 and 13 respectively.The submarine boat out of ag nic is an enjoyable trip and is cheap if you book through reception,we had two children go free which was a big saving.The highlight of our holiday was hiring the small self drive motor boat from barry down on the watersports near the beach.You only get an hour for 50 euros but you can sail to your hearts content and the kids loved it.
All in all i would say we had a fabulous holiday at candia park and would thoroughly recommend it to families and couples.

Room Tip: if your in a family of five like we were then room 842 would give you a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for staying in Candia Park. We hope you had a smooth return and took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are happy to read, that you enjoyed your well - deserved holidays. The complete satisfaction and relaxation is our highest aim and it is nice to see, that you also felt this.

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you back soon.

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Candia Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    102
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
226
59
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. The pools were fantastic and though the hotel was full, it never seemed over crowded. The food on half board was excellent, especially the Bbq nights. We had a basic apartment for 2 adults and 1 10 year old. The space was more than adequate, with a lovely big balcony. The whole complex was lovely and clean. The beach was on the small side, though we loved the rocky cove to the other side where we could dive amoungst loads of fish. Transfer was a nightmare with cosmos. Would go back to candia park, but not with cosmos who seemed to forget about us, and would book a taxi transfer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Candia Park Village the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a safe trip home and took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Candia Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

First impressions don't count! Our transfer bus from the airport took two hours plus to do 40 minute journey late at night.

But on arrival the hotel had put together a lovely selection of food for our family.

In the morning when we awoke and went out on the terrace, wow! Stunning.

Food was excellent and varied, pools and beach fantastic and very child friendly.

Great snorkelling and good value, helpful water sports Center on resort. Thank you Nikko for the most amazing day we had hiring a motor boat and visiting the place you suggested and swimming from the boat.

Perfect location for young families and those with young children.

The resort is immaculate and kept very clean.

Staff went out of there way in every area from grocery store to waiters to cleaning staff to make sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible.

These guys could run lectures on customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for staying in Candia Park. We hope you had a safe trip home and took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big honour to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Candia Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at Candia Park with my family for a week in August 2012. I normally arrange holidays independently but booked this as a package through Olympic Holidays.

I selected this based mainly upon the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and am happy to report that they proved accurate. We arrived at 1am after a protracted coach transfer. The guy on reception was very welcoming and checked us in quickly.

We had a ground floor garden view apartment which had a spacious terrace which was great to sit out on. The apartment itself had a living room with kitchen facilities and a fold out bed which was comfortable enough for our 15 year old boy. The bedroom had two sizeable single beds (which we put together to form a double) which were also comfortable. The room also had a TV (which we did not turn on - too busy having fun) and air-con which we did not use as the temperature was fine.

The bathroom was a good size and good quality (Dove) handwash and showgel were provided.

Wanting flexibility we went for self catering so cannot report comprehensively on the catering options but from what I could see they looked pretty good. Looking back I should have gone for the bed and brekfast option at least as the brekfasts looked great and had a long serving period.

We did eat at the on-site Taverna a few times and the quality was good and quantity of food more than adequate. The prices were also good value. The other nights we ate out in Agios Nikolaos or Elounda. These towns were a short taxi journey away (8 and 12 euros respectively).

There is an on-site supermarket which sells basic foodstuffs, toys, toiletries etc. Having gone self catering we wished it offered a wider range but this would not be a problem for guests who have selected a catered option.

There are three pools (toddler, older kids and main) all of which were clean and well maintained. The resort also has a small beach which is coarse sand with some rocks just off-shore. A nice feature of the beach is that there is a shady wooded area just above it which allows you to sit out of the sun if you want.

It was easy to find free sun-beds at any time of day at either the pool area or at the beach. The hotel provided beach towels on demand as well which was a nice touch.

The resort itself is very attractive with flowers, shrubs and flowers used cleverly to enhance the experience. The staff (particularly the excellent reception team) were friendly and efficient.

In conclusion we were very happy with Candia Park and would recommend it to other families wanting to stay in this beautiful part of Crete.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Candia Park Village the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a save trip home and took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Candia Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Candia Park after read the good reviews here. The village is really well maintained and people is really nice. As I have read in the latest reviews, the hotel is definitely more suitable for families with children but, personally, we liked the vibe of the place with children having fun everywhere. The private beach is perfect as well. Families are very kind and polite.

Breakfast buffet was nice but as I've heard before in this reviews, we got a bit tired at the end of the week. We also payed for half board, which I do not recommend, if you want to enjoy a bit the life in town. We missed about two or three dinners because we wanted to try some of the local restaurants in Agios and Elounda. In addition to this, we found very uncomfortable to eat as there were a lot of flies around the buffet and tables. We did not see any insects machine to control it. I am sure is because the heat but I am from a hot city and we use different methods to deal with that problem. That was the only negative point but that is not a reason we wouldn't go back there. We also tried the alternative restaurant for lunch and food was average. Nothing special.

About the internet signal is very weak in a lot of parts of the hotel, but if you need it, you can go to the reception area. It wasn't a problem for us at all. But if you are thinking go on line and watching TV during your holidays, this is not the place to go.

We had a lovely time and for sure we'll spending some holidays there when children come into our life.

Oh! One more thing. I have not read any comment about the beds, but for me where a bit hard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for coming to Candia Park. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim, in which we are working day by day.

Insects/ flies in an open restaurant, as we have, especially in the hot summer months cannot always be avoided. We do fumigation in the whole hotel on a regular basis to minimize this issue, but sometimes the insects just come back from outside.

Concerning the beds we are sorry to here that you felt them too hard. In such cases we usually provide toppers in order to customize the beds for the personal requirements of each guest. If you come next time, just let our reception team know and we will be happy to help you.

For us, it would be a big pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you back soon!

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerly,
Candia Park Village Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The concept of village like arrangement is excellent. However, there is no working wifi in the "village", the tv in the appartment is small (inadequate size), crt with only few channels, which is unacceptable for the 200+euro charged. The a/c covers only one room... The other room simply does not have a/c. For Greek guests it is, in my opinion of course, unacceptable that many of the staff don't speak Greek. Finally there is no proper shower but a bath tub with a curtain... And the restaurant does not serve food after 15:00hrs. Maybe its only worth staying expectations are different than mine and you don't mind the above...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Yiannis,

Thank you for visiting Crete and for choosing Candia Park Village. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read, that in general you enjoyed your stay. We are certainly sorry to see that we did not meet your personal expectations completely. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Please allow us, to inform about the following points:
After lunch time, the pool bar serves ice creams, milkshakes, Hot Dogs and sandwiches.

Our staff is mainly from Greece and they also speak Greek. As we participate in hospitality educational programs, we also have some trainees from other countries. Please understand, that these young people, who are studying tourism and hospitality, don’t speak much Greek.

Depending from the location of the room, our free WiFi is working, especially in the public areas nearby the reception and the restaurant the signal normally is good.

We are not a new hotel, but each winter we are doing maintenance and smaller renovations in order to keep the resort in a good condition.

Dear Yiannis, we would be happy to welcome you again in order to convince you from our ability.

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Candia Park Village Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned from my second visit to Candia Park Village, first visit was back in 2010 and only an essential operation prevented my return last year. Candia Park Village is a resort littered with families that come back year after year after year. No jokes, the place is virtually brimming with repeat business, it speaks absolute volumes for the hotel complex and I can completely see why. This is a beautifully managed and well-kept resort. Accommodation is lovely, swimming pools and surrounding areas are spotless, the restaurants are very well run, never any waiting, food is exceptional but best of all for me are the resorts staff. Candia Parks employees are as warm and genuine as humans get. Yes they work hard at making your stay one to remember but more importantly they are so worth getting to know. Interacting with the staff will further enhance your experience and make that holiday simply unforgettable. As the reviews to date show, Candia Park scores very high and rightly so. If you take a close look at the very few negative reviews found here, you will note that the problems experienced are not with Candia Park but instead driven more by the failings of the tour operators, which to my mind sounds just about right. I could not recommend this resort enough, it’s flawless. I am someone who generally believes in never going back but on this occasion I see no reason to try elsewhere. I hope to become yet another Candia Park regular, it’s my home from home. One tip to offer you, pay the extra and go for a sea view apartment, I cannot emphasize this enough, sea views at Candia Park are truly awesome, check out my photos. See you there next year!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view apartment, they are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for returning to Candia Park and for sharing your opinion with other travelers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your well - deserved holidays. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim in which we are working day by day with a lot of passion. Only if our guests are happy, we can be happy as well.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerly
Candia Park Village Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candia Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candia Park Village

Address: Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Candia Park Village 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Candia Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candia Park Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candia Park Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.