We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dessole Hermes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dessole Hermes to your Saves list
Dessole Hermes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Akti Koundourou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Hermes )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Am at present staying at Hermes on 10 day all inclusive break. This hotel is lovely, the views from sea view room we upgraded to although expensive are beautiful. Having read reviews about the rooms and the hotel being dated, I feel this is nonsense it is a charming hotel in a charming little Greek town. The staff are all first class, the cleaner does a great job. Manager always on hand if you need him. I will add that the first few days of our stay it did appear that previous saga hotel remarks were true but now into our third day and many different age groups now arriving - so good vibe. We are in room 209 and its lovely with a fantastic view of the beautiful Mirabella Bay. The beach is accessed through a tunnel (all adds to charm) and is pebble not sand but there are sandier beaches just a short walk either side. The food is very well prepared and presented with something for everyone and sweets to die for. Will I return to the Hermes almost certainly, it's a no brainer for me!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    159
    54
    12
    8
See reviews for
72
222
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tandragee, Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I booked a 7-day Airtours holiday through Thomas Cook to Aghios Nikolae, Crete stopping at the Iberostar Hermes. This is the first hotel holiday we've taken since getting rid of the kids! The hotel is set along the promenade in Ag. Nikolae overlooking the Bay of Mirabello. It's a compact hotel and presumably because of a land shortage when built, the swimming pool and sun terrace are on the fifth floor. It's actually a good location being a good distance above the road so enjoying no traffic noise. Unfortunately this can't be said of the rooms facing the sea on the lower floors where traffic noise (those damned scooters) can be quite intrusive if sitting out on the room's balcony. The balcony doors are double-glazed so no noise intrudes into the rooms. The front of the hotel faces roughly east-north-east so those front rooms get plenty of light. Early risers (we Brits suffering the 2-hour time difference) can get some glorious sunrises)over the islands in the Bay!
Our room was good and comfortable complete with air conditioning, fridge, safe and a television. The television was actually not very good - the only 2 english channels being CNN and BBC World Service.
The food and restaurant service was very good. All meals were buffet-served and there was a good choice. We went half-board but you could buy all-inclusive a day at a time if you wanted a lunch and drinks at the hotel. If you went all-inclusive but wanted to go out for the day, you could book a packed lunch to take out. Using the restaurant and bars engages you with the staff the most and we felt the hotel employees were excellent.
The evening entertainment was ok but not particularly inspiring. An excellent trio of young ladies performing various ethnic dances turned out to come from the UK!
Taking everthing into account my wife and I enjoyed our stay and would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room especially above the fifth floor, since this will give you a good view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have recently stayed here for 4 nights, great location, & buffett breakfast very good, staff frendly.
Hotel is very dated & decor is something out of the early's 80's, room decor very drab, It doesn't deserve a 4 star rating, if i was being generous maybe a 3 star.

I tried to get a sunbed by the pool one afternoon, but although weren't all ocupied, they were all reserved even there was a sign on wall beside pool saying cannot reserve.

Lot of older people there on Saga holidays.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view room, city view rooms at side are a bit grim. I was also surprised the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Dessole Hermes, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having carefully explained your positive and negative feelings about your stay at our IBEROSTAR Hermes hotel. Your opinion is highly valuable and helps us to improve our services.

We are aware that the hotel isn´t of new construction, nevertheless, we maintain and preserve it the best we can, striving to offer comfortable accommodation to all our guests. Even so we took good note of your comment and commit to revise if we can renovate some of the areas.
According to the hotel policies, reserving sun beds is not allowed. We try our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during the high season where this occurs more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter.

On the other hand, we are delighted to know that our culinary offer on the breakfast buffet could largely satisfy you. The gastronomy is an important facet of our company and we do our utmost to please all palates. It is enjoyable to read that we could conquest yours.

Moreover, we also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. It fills us with pride to hear that you found them very friendly and cheerful. The helpfulness and kindness of our employees is one of our main strengths and we are very grateful that you mentioned this point on your review.

Last but not least, it is enjoyable to read that you appreciated the perfect location of our hotel, right on the seafront and just a few steps away from the lovely coastal town of Agios Nikolaos and its stunning salt water lake.

Finally, we hope that your stay was as pleasant as it could possibly be, and we would be enchanted to may accommodate you again in our hotels.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived at this centrally located hotel and were told, due to technical difficulties (code for 'overbooking' and we want to keep tour groups happy, not individuals), that we had been moved to their sister hotel, Iberostar Mirobello beach, just one kilometre out of town (greek for two kilometres). Whilst this is a five star hotel, it is not the type (resort) or position that we were expecting.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Dessole Hermes, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Although we feel very sad to read that your stay at our IBERSOTAR Mirabello Beach hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.

Overbooking is a highly exceptional situation for IBEROSTAR and we do our utmost to prevent this to happen. When we reach a sales stoppage, we immediately send an alert to all of the cooperating tour operators to carry out a sales stop. However, it can happen that we have last minute reservations made simultaneously just before they are able to stop the sales. In order to avoid leaving any client without his booked holiday, we do our utmost to plan and organize a suitable solution; this is why we always offer an accommodation in a superior category as an indemnity for the inconvenience.

In your case, as you booked the IBEROSTAR Hermes hotel, we offered you an alternative accommodation at our 5 star IBEROSTAR Mirabello Beach hotel, at 1.8 kilometers away in the same bay of Agios Nikolaos and within a walking distance to the city center. We again apologize for the inconvenience and are sorry to hear your disappointment on your reallocation.

We hope you had a nice journey back home.

Best Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addlestone
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Have just returned from an amazing week at the Iberostar Hermes .We arrived at 3am to a friendly welcome,dinner in our fridge and a really great room. Daylight brought the most amazing view from our 8th floor room , defo worth the extra money,a.huge array of choice at breakfast on the terrace and endless sunshine . The hotel is in an excellent location 5 mins flat walk to centre of town and the lake and the regular,inexpensive bus with english speaking conductors stops right outside. The hotel's restaurant , pool and sun terrace are on the 5th floor with the stunning view of Mirabello Bay . The drinks were approx 50 cents more than the average price in town, the food ,we were half board ,was really delicious , buffet style but never cold or dry with plenty of choice , meat,fish,and vegetarian every night, the local desserts table was a favourite with us as was the greek breakfast pastries and yogurt.Staff were friendly and very helpful ,the entertainment girl worked hard but was not pushy which meant that guests did join in and made it fun. The free wifi,room fridge,air com and safe in our room were all welcome .Our room was large with plentry of storage, perhaps a little dated but spotlessly clean with a good shower and bath. We visited the Crete Olive Oil farm ,very interesting,loved , coffee at the Babel Cafe and meze at the Mediteraine Cafe in Elounda and the Cafe d' Paris in Ag Nik . such friendly owners and great food and drink.The hotels late check out was worth the 35 euros as it gave us out last day to be out and about without the worry of cases ad no base till the early hours. Thank you Iberostar,we cannot wait to return next year!!

Room Tip: the 8th floor sea view rooms are weels et bakc fomrterh road so no noise but a fab veiw , we had 819...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went to Agios Nikolaos to attend a friends wedding at a different hotel.
We booked the Hermes through Thomas Cook and paid the extra for a sea view room, this was well worth the extra cost, we were on the 7th floor and had no noise at all. Beautiful view of the bay and cruise ships dock in the port here which we could see from our room. The room was dated but very comfortable, we found the beds fine and the fridge in the room was very welcome. Also the safe is free. Towels and bed linen changed regularly by a very happy and smiley maid. The food was good and plentiful, they had 3 BBQ's during our stay which were all nice. The pool here is quite small with half of it being extremely deep. During our first few days there were no problems getting a sun bed but, by our last few days it was very very busy with not enough sun loungers for all the guests.
Agios Nikolaos is lovely, plenty of shops selling a variety of goods. ( Shops selling fur coats which we never saw anyone buying ).The lake area is beautiful and surrounded by bars and restaurants.
The transfer from the airport to the hotel was 2+ hours which would put us off visiting this resort again.
We are in our fifties and felt comparably young as this hotel caters mainly for Saga guests and older couples.
If you don't mind the very long transfer to the hotel and back then this is a really nice resort.

Room Tip: High floor sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel works well. The staff are helpful and friendly, the food is excellent and varied, they have lots of special meals- Italian nights, Asian, BBQ and fish market. I can thoroughly recommend the Kalamari. The hotel manager is always walking about with a smile checking everything is going ok. Special mention must go to Koulla and the chef at the Snack Bar. Their pizza and Kalamari are delicious.
The location is also spot on, two minutes takes you into town for shopping or a Frappe and watch the world, and his brother go by.
The submarine boat is a must and I have good pics of a curious hammerhead turtle peering back at my wife through the inch thick plexiglass. Probably recognised her from a previous existence.
We had a great two weeks.
We did not pay for a sea view which was our fault. The hotel is situated in a built up area and Ag. Nik. Is very hilly. So the view we had from the rear of the hotel was three dustbins, a car park/dumping ground and lots of locals windows and verandas 20 feet away. We could have joined in with some of the locals family arguments.
We did try to pay for an sea view when we arrived at the Hermes but kept being told to come back tomorrow until the chap at reception was not at work after arranging to see us that morning.
A great holiday, great hotel staff, great food and great resort just remember the sea view.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dessole Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Hermes

Address: 21 Akti Koundourou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Hermes )
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dessole Hermes 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Dessole Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Crete
Hermes Agios Nikolaos
Dessole Hermes Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dessole Hermes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.