We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 519 Sea View ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dessole Hermes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dessole Hermes to your Saves list
Dessole Hermes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Akti Koundourou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Hermes )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Wigston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Room 519 Sea View ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Having read the great reviews for the Hermes hotel we decided to book a weeks holiday at the hotel for our first visit to Greece. We made the holiday booking with Thomsons, for peace of mind, though we prefer to be independent. Our room had a sea view but was positioned over the roof of the pool bar with air conditioning units sticking up which was unattractive. We decided that we would try to change the room but we were told by the reception staff that the hotel was full at that moment but a different room may become available later in the week. After unpacking we decided to stay in the room because we did not want the agro of changing, we were never contacted to let us know if a different room had become available.
Our room was very clean, if dated and the maid sevice was excellent. The food in the resturant was of a good standard with breakfast served from 7.00 am and dinner from 6.30 pm. The pool area was small with sun beds close together and free beach towels were available for use around the pool. Overall the hotel was clean and tidy but compared with hotels in Spain was of 3 star quality not 4.
For days out we used the local bus service which was good, the bus station was a steep 15 minutes walk away.
Be aware of Herakalion airport on your return, we were treated like cattle as you move from one queue to another. We barely had time for to get refeshments or visit the loo because Thompsons did not get us there early enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    159
    54
    12
    8
See reviews for
69
221
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland - UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed at Iberostar Hermes from 24th May-8th June 2011. I was given a room on the 8th floor, unfortunately not a pool/sea view, but a view of private apartments and a horrible street. I asked to be relocated but was advise the hotel was full. Turned out to be very quiet room. I was very suprised to find that the air con, fridge, safe, internet access and pool towels were all FREE! This was very good, decent sized fridge in the room.

Pool area very nice, good views over Mirabello Bay and the Bar was not overly expensive - very reasonable. Food was also very nice, not a huge amount to select from, but the quality was very good.

The entertainer 'Star Friends' were very friendly. Borko and Velina are both lovely people and try their best to get you involved in games like darts, table tennis etc during the day and their are some shows at night. Don't miss the Greek NIght out a Tuesday. Their is a barbecue and the Greek food is fantastic.

I would recommend a little Dutch bar as you turn left out of the hotel. Its called Toedeledoke and they do lovely toasties and nice candle lit bar ar night.

I found Aghios Nikolaos a lovely resort and the greek people are very welcoming. Pretty expensive resort though.

I would definitely return to Iberostar Hermes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

"all inclusive" is bad news with Thomas Cook.
We were not served at all on the ground floor bar. The daytime bar had very restricted meal/drink selection and only available at certain times (despite being open for other guests).
The hotel was obviously refurbishing in stages. Bedrooms are not yet done, but everything else was very good.
The biggest plus is the staff who were very friendly and helpful.
All inclusive apart it's a good hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view which is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the "Iberostar" Hermes for a fortnight.

The hotel was ok on the whole, the reception and seating areas were nice, but the corridors leading to the rooms were very dated and shabby with virtually no decoration. This part of the hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment to bring it up to the standard of a true 4* Iberostar. However, when it does happen don't expect to be paying £550 per person for a fortnight!

The dining room was nicely decorated with a pianist playing live during a number of evening meals as well as Greek nights once a week. The hotel was situated in a perfect location, just a few minutes walk along the beautiful seafront into the picturesque port of Agios Nikolaos.

However, when we had checked in, we were horrified when we walked into our hotel room. We have stayed in Iberostar hotels throughout the world and couldn't believe what we were seeing. The room stunk of stale smoke, the curtains and walls were brown from years of guests smoking in the rooms, and the bedding was musty. The view from our balcony was of a dirty old apartment block with a noisy dog barking constantly. We had little space to put our clothes as the built in bed had been so badly fitted that it was preventing us from opening any of our drawers. After speaking with reception we were moved to another room which was not much of an improvement as it was directly underneath the dining room. The noise was incredible. Finally we were moved for the 3rd time to the 9th floor, which was a major improvement. However, the reception staff and bell boys made it very clear that they thought we were just being a nuisance. We were always polite and grateful, but were met with sighs and excuses as to why the rooms were not the refurbished ones that we looked at on the hotel website when we booked. There were cigarettes left in the plant pots and the fridge hadn't been cleaned properly. The maids were extremely miserable despite us saying good morning each day. For some reason it appeared that the staff morale was quite low, possibly due to the amount of complaints from guests. We soon settled into this room, only for us to get the shock of our lives one evening. Whilst I was fast asleep on my bed and my wife in the shower, I was awoken to find two guests letting themselves into our room. They had wrongly been given keys to our room on check in. Luckily my wife had just covered herself with a towel! Faulty Towers eat your heart out..We did get a free bottle of wine with our dinner so we were more than happy.

We contacted Thomson holidays to discuss our problems but were made to feel as though we were over-exaggerating about the poor standards of the rooms. We were told that they had NEVER received one complaint about the hotel in all the years that they had been linked to the hotel. This was clearly rubbish as many guests were observed complaining about their rooms and it tended to be the main discussion for the majority of guests.

One of the main things to consider with this hotel is that they don't turn on the air-conditioning until mid-June. This meant that we had to leave our patio doors open throughout the night and we were left with dozens of mosquito bites and the barking of the neighbourhood dogs from 5-6am in the morning. We returned from the holiday feeling very tired after many sleepless and uncomfortably hot nights.

The food in the hotel was ok, although as a vegetarian the choice was very limited and some of the dishes were pretty tasteless. We ended up eating out on 6 evenings. There were a good variety of salads and the puddings were actually very nice.

I appreciate that Iberostar have not long owned this hotel, but even for Greek hotel standards this one was nowhere near a 4*. The free internet use was great as were the stunning views from the pool area which is situated on the 4th floor.

Despite the problems, we had a lovely holiday. The local people are genuinely lovely. We went to a local bakery for our lunch everyday. On the final day we were given a huge box of the most amazing cakes and pastries - on the house!

Do not miss out on going to Karnagio, which is a restaurant on the square (to the right of the huge bull statue) next to the lake. Again, the staff are lovely and accommodating and provided us with many bottles of Raki on the house. We had some great evenings there. The food is lovely, but be careful as the portions are enormous.

We will definitely go back, just not with Thomsons or to this particular hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for room on 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Definitely not a 4* hotel,our room was very tired with basic amenities although spotlessly clean. Food okay but vegetarian option very limited,well fed up with salad after 14days.Pool area lovely and views great,position of hotel very convenient for boat trips,local buses etc. Entertainment was a joke,2 Bulgarian and 2 Swedish in team ,half hour of bingo one night with a drink from bar as prize-we were all inclusive!Another day a quiz eg. how many people can you get standing on a sheet,absolutely dire!Staff generally not very friendly and we will not be returning.

Room Tip: definitely ask or even pay for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Hotel location ideal for town, communal areas lovely and food excellent.Staff really pleasant and helpful.The actual rooms are not to a 4 star level, those with a sea iew are lovely but others at the back of the hotel have no view and are really noisey as they back on to a residential area.We had 3 different rooms in one week and often other guests could be seen moving during our stay.

Room Tip: Always request a sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We booked our stay in the Hermes last year soon after returning from Zakynthos. We requested a sea view and boy did we get one. The Hermes is right in the middle of the Mirabello Bay and our 3rd floor room had amazing views in every direction. When we ventured up to the restaurant (5th floor, next to the roof top pool!), we discovered that it too had stunning views of the Bay. The food is excellent and caters for many tastes; breakfast options include (but are not limited to) continental option, cereals, yogurts, omelettes, various cooked eggs, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans etc. The evening menu was as varied, with a vast salad bar, cheeses, breads, at least two meat dishes, vegetarian options, vegetables and the deserts were many and beautiful!. There are two bars at the hotel and both are reasonably priced for the area. The only minor issue we had was with the beds - they are about 2 feet tall and very hard indeed. It is my preference to have a taller bed with a mattress with some give.

The centre of Agios Nikolaos is no more than 10 minutes walk from the hotel. It is an attractive, vibrant and friendly town with plenty of shops and cafes, several museums, a market once a week and lots of other entertainments. We loved the town and would return without doubt.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dessole Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Hermes

Address: 21 Akti Koundourou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Hermes )
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dessole Hermes 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Dessole Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Crete
Hermes Agios Nikolaos
Dessole Hermes Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dessole Hermes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.