We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalthea Restaurant

Amalthea Restaurant
Akti Pagalou 17, Kitroplatia, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece
30 28410 21801
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The best restaurant in the picturesque fish village of Agios Nikolaos.

Unprecedented atmosphere, michelin star clasd food, one of a kind service. Not to be missed, best sea food in town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    46
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We have just had an excellent meal and made to feel very welcome the guys attended to our table and were a wealth of local knowledge , they suggested local dishes which were second to none it was absolutely gorgeous and with a litre and a half of wine the bill came to less than 40 euros . A BIG THANK YOU GUYS . from Angela and Gary . hope you have a good season.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Traditional Greek Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Excellent traditional Greek restaurant with great food and friendly staff. Very helpful and they take great pride in their food. The lamb dish was tasty with a very nice sauce. The fresh octopus as a starter is first class

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“why???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

On a sunny Sunday we visited this taverna, like we often do/did. The owner told me there was no spaghetti bolognaise because they didn;t have minced meat. Without telling me the price he asked me if I was interested in a spaghetti with prawns.I agreed. When we asked for the bill we had to pay 20 euros(!!!!!!!!) for only the spaghetti.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Excellent traditional Greek Restaurant in the Harbor of Agios Nikolaos. They used tradional Greek ingredients with a modern view of cooking.

It was the best restaurant we visited in our trip around Crete Island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalthea Restaurant also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Amalthea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalthea Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.