We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, surly waiters” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zygos

Zygos
1, Ethnikis Antistaseos street, Agios Nikolaos, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Description: restaurant au bord du lac
Restaurant details
Description: restaurant au bord du lac
York, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice location, surly waiters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Lovely location on the lagoon, but the waiters missed their day at charm school!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Agios Nikolaos, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent and traditional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great service, and just excellent food! We have visited the restaurant a few times on this holiday, and must say that we have found this charming restaurant a treat! Its prices are average priced but it is well worth a visit!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waasmunster, Belgium
2 reviews
“Off the beaten track, very relaxed and simply good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were in agios nik. Mid june 2012 - being fed up with the relentless offerings and invitations of the other bars around the bottomless lake, we ended up here one morning for a coffee. Under the tree, nice view over the lake and nobody dragging us in.

It could very well be a laid back small resto around the corner at home - the locals seem to come here too, and depending on who is serving you notice tourist english isn t the first language.

We returned for dinner later that week - it is a bit more down to earth than some of the other restaurants being top ranked here but the food was delicious, serving was friendly and we felt like we had all the time in the world. lovely!

Relaxing atmosphere under the trees, friendly service, honest fresh food and none of the tourist show... If this is your kind of thing, do give it a try!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely views and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The shrimp saganaki was a delicious starter yet to be equalled elsewhere and our main course choices of swordfish and red mullet were also very tasty. Staff friendly but not obtrusive and we stayed most of the evening here watching the sun go down over the 'bottomless' Lake. Smashing

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“m'aressi afto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Delicious fresh food best octopus I ever had in Greece, their stuffed tomatoes are to die for!!! This is your mom’s kitchen kind of place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zygos also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Zygos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zygos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.