We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day break at St Nicolas Bay. Overall is was without doubt the best holiday my wife and I have had. From friendly staff to the stunning views made this the perfect place. The views are stunning across the bay, the food is excellent and the general ambience of the whole place is delightful. We had booked a suite and had a fantastic surprise towards the end of our holiday when the manager Nicos upgraded us to a huge 2 bedroom suite with its own Pool. There are not many places that tick all the boxes but this place really does. The walk in to Agios Nicolaos is a comfortable 35 minute stroll and is a lovely town with some really nice restaurants around the lake. Taking a taxi into or back from town is only 6 euro which isn't bad considering all the taxis are all E class Mercedes. Elounda is only a bus ride away and is worth a visit.
I don't usually recommend hotels but this place is well worth a visit, a big thank you to Nicos and all the other staff we had a Wonderful time and will be returning without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    112
    57
    21
    17
See reviews for
158
334
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at this excellent hotel. The Hotel is a 5 star resort in all aspects but one for us. We stayed in room 107 which was at the rear of the reception area and had no view whatsoever from our balcony unfortunately. The room was spacious and clean if a little dated however the bathroom was very small, too small for 2 people although our room was supposedly a suite for 4. Furthermore a shower curtain? In a 5 star resort? Room apart the rest of the hotel was excellent. We were half board and the buffet breakfast and evening meal options were superb both in terms of choice and quality, probably the best hotel food we have experienced. The location was lovely, sun beds and umbrellas plentiful and the sea teeming with fish. The drinks were expensive but the cost probably justified by the number of staff on hand at all times to take care of you. We walked into Ag Nik both during the day and one evening and was worth a visit as was the boat trip to Spinalonga which was really interesting and very good value at 15 euros from the harbour. We had a lovely week, very chilled and relaxing and would return however not to room 107

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very pleased to be able to stay at The Nicolas Bay Hotel once again. This was our twelth holiday (may be more) at our most favourite holiday destination. As usual the staff, Nicos, Christopher, Maria, Yannis, Costas, Boutique Maria made us so welcome. It's like our second home now and we has become part of our lives.
On arrival my (Dad) first thoughts are the food and I can't wait for the evening meal. Local fresh salad and vegatables, fish from the sea caught fresh, in fact I can safely say I have not tasted better. A bit of advice, bring clothes with a bit of room for expansion!
Our room was as clean as a new pin, serviced daily with the personal touch of beds turned down of an evening. I could go on but if you look at my previous reviews over the years I will end up repeating myself, but why not, when somethings this good I spread the word.
We are already planning next years stay at The St.Nicolas bay Hotel, if you decide to try it for yourself I hope you have a good a time as our family does.

Paul, Andrea and Ella (7)

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can, the views great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been lucky enough to spend our last 4 summer holidays in or around Elounda/Agios Nikolaos. We have been fortunate to have stayed at Elounda Beach hotel, Daios Cove and now St Nicolas Bay Hotel, twice. For us St Nicolas Bay is 100% head and shoulders above the others, even though we have always had exceptional, enjoyable holidays. Tots Too were simply brilliant at organising the trip and the hotel sent two superb limos to the airport to get our family of 5.

Nothing was too much trouble and the hotel is incredibly well run by Nikos and his team. We especially enjoyed spending time with George the barman by the sea. He made fantastic cocktails whilst we watched a red moon rise out of the sea each night. Clientele were global in breadth, however with none of those pushy nouveau-riche types from East Europe. No sun-lounger issues - bliss. Our kids loved every minute of every day.

The view from throughout the resort is breathtaking - watching the mountains surrounding the resort and from across the azure bay change colour through the day and dusk is a lasting memory. We have already said we hope to return next year and Nikos has guaranteed us the same Suite. Unbelieveably wonderful - the whole thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned from our wedding/holiday at St Nicolas Bay and have nothing but praise for this fabulous hotel. We were a little apprehensive as we had not visited the hotel before but had booked our wedding here based on the reviews on trip advisor. We needn't have worried as the process was completely stress free and we were able to relax and enjoy our holiday around planning our wedding.

After a couple of days, we met with Maria who is the wedding co-ordinator at the hotel. She explained how everything would work and also dealt with all the necessary paperwork. Our main dealings were then with Yanis, the Assistant Manager of the hotel who was exceptional at helping us organise everything. Nothing was too much trouble and he ensured everything ran smoothly. The setting of where we got married was beautiful as was the area where our reception was held, which was in the Minature al a carte restaurant. The fine dining restaurant manager was also excellent and the service he and the other waiting staff provided that day and throughout our stay was superb. Definitely worth a visit to this a la carte restaurant. We ate here a couple of days before our return home and the food is some of the best we have ever had.

Nikos, the hotel DJ provided our music/entertainment for our reception and he played a wide range of music suiting all our guests. He also asked for a list of any music we particularly wanted and took requests on the evening. He really was very good.

My parents were the only ones from our guests staying at the hotel but all our guests commented on how excellent the hotel and waiting staff were and thought that the food at our reception was the best wedding food they had ever had. The chef personally showed us all the food he had prepared and stayed at the venue until we had finished eating.

Only one negative point is the hairdresser that we used for the bridal hair. She arrived 45 minutes late on the wedding day with no apology and meant there was one stressed bride and some rushed hair. I would suggest if you are getting married there, source a different hairdresser.

Regarding the holiday experience, this hotel is very quiet and tranquil and would suit those looking for a relaxing holiday. The bay the hotel overlooks is beautiful. After a couple of days, Nikos the front of house manager moved us to a room with our own private pool where we stayed for the duration of our holiday. The views from our room were stunning and great to wake up to every day.

There is a wide range of food at breakfast, including lots of fruit and Danish pastries. Lunch at the blue bay restaurant is quite pricey but really is excellent. We have missed our daily lunches there. The evening meal consists of buffet style food and also a choice of meals served to your table. Both are very good and the standard of food within the hotel is excellent.

The staff really do go above and beyond to help you. An example of this is when I left my phone in a taxi one night coming back from Agios. The staff in reception phoned around all the taxi ranks. The following day, the very honest taxi driver found my phone and returned it to the hotel. This would not have happened had my phone been left in a taxi at home.

Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel either as a holiday destination or for a wedding venue. The friendliness of the staff and their dedication make all of the staff an asset to the hotel. A particular thank you has to go to Yanis who provides such a personable service and allowed our day to be so special and memorable. If you are thinking about having a wedding at this hotel, you will absolutely be making the right decision. We are already planning our return for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Rooms away from reception appear to be more spacious with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florenville, Luxembourg, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

very nice infrastructure, very nice people, very professional front office manager Nik and barman Janus. very nice infrastructure, very nice people, very professional front office manager Nik and barman Janus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florenville, Luxembourg, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

this resort is really spendid, the infrastructure is romantic and relaxing, the personnel is very friendly and efficient, mainly Nikos, the front office manaer, and Janus, the barman. Excellent for a vacation for couples are small families with children above the age of 12.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Address: Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious Balcony or Terrace in each Room or Suite provides a private and secluded open air lounge to sit and relax with great sea views.- From the secluded privacy of your room balcony / terrace only 2 minutes walk through flower scented gardens to reach the private sandy beach and sunbathing terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel And Villas
Saint Nicolas Bay Hotel
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.