We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end & Classy... with a charming town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“High end & Classy... with a charming town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week in october. I loved everything about this hotel. Its quite small but spread out really nicely with pretty pathways all over full of bouganvillea and olive trees, stunning. The grounds are well maintained but not overly manicured which added to the charm and character of the place.
The room we had (219) was a nice size with a lovely sea view. Loved the contemporary decor. Very clean. Only criticism would be the shower curtain, would have preferred a glass screen.
We were bed & breakfast which was lovely, outside in the morning sun, very peaceful. In fact the whole place was so quiet and serene. We only ate in the hotel at lunch times, (approx 40 euros for 2x lunches 2x beers 1x water) so cant comment on the evening restaurants. The food we had was nice no complaints. We went to the Minotaur restaurant for the weekly champagne party with the management and it looks stunning in the evening! Absolutely beautiful (see picture). The drinks were expensive but we expected this, 10 euros for a gin & tonic!
The location was just right in terms of distance from town. We ate in many of the popular restaurants rated on trip advisor, some less then 5 mins walk from the hotel. Had some really great meals in Avra, Piato, Embassy, Pegalos, Knossos, Kri Kri. Got totally hooked on meze! Delicious. We weren't that impressed with Avli contrary to reviews on here. The local house wine in all the restaurants was fantastic, and at roughly 3.50 euros for half litre, it was great value too. Definitely recommend that. The restaurants next to the lake are more pricey but you cannot beat having a drink there at sunset before dinner in the evening before moving on to eat. It really is so beautiful, you can not tire of it. We loved the town, its buzzing with atmosphere. You get great views of the lake if you walk up the steep road at the side near Zygos. Stunning.
The weather was also perfect and was nudging 30 every day. The sea was warm and crystal clear.
We went to Elounda by taxi early one morning, (10mins) and got the boat (lots of them running every 30mins) to Spinalonga which used to be a Leper Colony amongst other things over the years. The boat is 10euros and you can return whenever you like. There is a small fee of 2euros to walk round it when you get there, payable at the ticket office. It was really interesting and spooky and once again great views. Would recommend. The tour operators offer excursions lasting 4 hours or so with guided walks etc.. But to be honest we did it ourselves and found it to be more enjoyable. It only takes an hour to get round the whole thing then we were back on the next boat to have lunch by the water at the Ferryman Taverna, amazing views again. We were thinking of staying in Elounda before we booked but Im glad we picked Agios Nikoloas now. Elounda was lovely but there is more going on in Agios Nikoloas which suited us, also a lot more choice in bars/restaurants.
We really did have such a great time here, and would highly recommend both the hotel and the town. We loved the balance it gave us having the luxury of the hotel alongside the great value restaurants and buzzing town in the evenings. If you stayed in at the hotel the whole time I'm pretty certain it will cost you an arm and leg, but not only that it would be a shame to miss out on all the town has to offer.
Fantastic place and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerGreece, General Manager at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the detailed review on your October holiday with us and I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again and repeat the experience.
Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    112
    57
    21
    17
See reviews for
158
334
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our honeymoon here was everything we dreamed it would be. The resort was beautiful and the staff were excellent...nothing was too much trouble. The honeymoon package included a lovely meal in the Minataur restaurant, room service breakfast whenever we wanted it, and petals on the bed. Our suite overlooked the sea, and was very comfortable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerGreece, General Manager at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your Honeymoon, the most important moment of your life.
I am grateful to read that we have contributed to a dream Honeymoon to be remembered and I am much looking forward to welcome you again at the St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas.
Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have just returned from St Nicolas bay where my husband and I spent a lovely week,
We were very lucky as we went at the end of the season and the weather was beautiful and hot. Slightly cloudy to begin with but then gorgeous. Because it was the end the hotel was not very busy although lots of people around.This meant that there was a good choice for sunbeds and no rush to get your towel on one before breakfast!.
The food was good, buffet style unless you chose to go al a carte however some courses were served at your table for the evening meal so it was a bit of a mixture.
I loved breakfast as every morning we sat outside surrounded by lovely trees overlooking the infinity pool, sea and surrounding Islands.
The staff were very attentive and cheerful and polite
The only slightly negative thing I would say is that the actual resort is looking a bit tired in places but this certainly did not affect our holiday.

Room Tip: We were actually upgraded to a junior suite however it was more like a deluxe room. The room was lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerGreece, General Manager at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
I have read with great attention your review with reference to your holiday with us and thank you for the kind comments for a lovely week at the St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas.
Kind regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have just returned from the biggest disappointment of my life, a week in the St Nicolas Bay Hotel. The Hotel sells itself as a five resort and although there is no doubt that the grounds are beautiful and the staff are excellent, the food, although plentiful, is no better that other hotels of the same class. The drinks and any food you purchase there is overpriced and the accomodation although clean does not even begin to match the standard of some three star hotels. I had booked a Junior Suite, which incidently turned out to be a glorified double room, a suite in anyone's language means more than one room, and when I complained about the calibre of accommodation was speechless to find that I had been UPGRADED to a Grand Suite! The Grand suite consisted of two rooms, one which contained a couch, with not even a cushion for comfort and a throw to cover the marks on it, a unit which contained the mini bar and a writing desk, the bedroom contained an uncomfortable bed, either too small or too large pillows, a console table, a chair, again with no cushions, and two bedside tables. Where did you store your clothes I hear you ask, they were stored in the totally inadequste two drawers and double three quarter length wardrobes, fitted with ten coat hangers. The only difference from the basic accommodation I used to book in Greece 30 years ago for £200 a fortnight were the two plasma TVs, one in each room, although the one in the "lounge" picked up hardly anything and the one in the bedroom was so offset from the bed that you couldn't watch it from there. Five star accommodation it was not; but it did cost a five star price of £3500 for one week. We were there for a wedding and although the couple being married booked and only paid for a double room, they were upraded to a suite with their own private swimmming pool and I have to admit that the hotel pulled out all of the stops to make their wedding day very special, I am of the opinion that every other paying guest pays for that, because although the happy couple get way more than they pay for, everyong else gets far less, so perhaps those looking for the ultimate wedding experience should go to this hotel and anyone prepared to pay for a five star holiday should look elesewhere.

Room Tip: Make the holiday cheaper and book a bog standard double room, at least that way you know what to exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerGreece, General Manager at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review with comments on your stay with us as guests of a wedding taking place in the Hotel.
I sincerely regret to read that you have found the accommodation provided not up to your expectations althoguh you have been upgraded complimentary.
However, your comments will be taken into serious consideration for future reference since we value a lot the subjective opinion of all our guests and try to meet their expectations at all times.
Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is far far from a luxury hotel. We received a discounted rate online and to me it was still overpriced. The room interior is cheap and not well thought through, the breakfast was at best average and if you don't get up early to put a towel on a sun bed then you are faced with sunbathing on the rock area which in my mind really wasn't designed properly, too crowded and bad entrance and exits. Daily we had black bags outside our room with linen in, and half of our trip the staff didn't appear to recognize the red do not disturb sign. the evening manager who 'greeted' us was aggressive and not what was expected from front of house staff, could have put it down to being late at night, but no, he didn't really get any better when we were paying the bill. In addition, One expects that after your stay you are asked if you enjoyed your stay, this was clearly too much for the front of desk lady. It's a shame as at the bar and restaurant the staff are particularly hard working, making great recommendations on wine and food which outside of the 'greek' night was pretty good. perhaps it may be different if you pay for a small fortune in one of the upgraded rooms but I would just bite the bullet and pay that extra and go and stay in a proper luxury hotel in Elounda.
None of this you get at a luxury hotel of what they claim.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerGreece, General Manager at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and kindly be informed that your comments will be taken into consideration for future reference.
Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I have just come back after 12 days at the St Nicolas Bay - it was absolutely wonderful. Delightful luxury suite overlooking the bay and to start the day with a delicious breakfast under the olive trees overlooking the infinity pool and across to the island - takes some beating!! The food in all the restaurants was first class - and the staff were so friendly, it made every mealtime such a pleasure! We did enjoy the wonderful beach bar in the evening by the water, all candle-lit, such a lovely way to end the day, with a outdoor cinema too!! The most peaceful & restful hotel we have stayed in for a long time, and we shall definitely return next year, we absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerGreece, General Manager at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read your enthusiastic comments on service and food and for quoting your holiday "The most peaceful and restful hotel we have stayed in for a long time, and we shall definetely return next year".
Looking much forward to welcome you back for another great holiday experience.
Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thanks chiefly to the attentive and friendly staff at this superb, boutique hotel (headed up by one of the best Front Office Managers we've come across, Nicos Demetzos), our stay in St Nicolas Bay was the most memorable in a long time. We had booked 4 nights and then intended to stay elsewhere around the east of the island for the remainder of our 2 week holiday in Crete; however, when the alternative accomodation didn't compare (albeit at much lower cost), we rushed back and stayed at St Nicolas for the remainder of our holiday.
We ate out most of the time but on three occasions we visited the buffet restaurant twice and one of the two a la carte restaurants - I'm afraid a bit dissapointing on each occasion.
None the less, a great holiday, at a great resort with genuinely friendly and helpful staff will ensure our first visit to Crete won't be our last.

We're not pleased easily but have no hesitation in highly recommending this unpretentious, warm and friendly hotel in an ideal location very near to the bay of St Nicolas and Elounda.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerGreece, General Manager at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments and review with reference to your last holiday with us and for your quote "to have no hesitation in highly recommending " our Hotel.
Nikos Demetzos is joining me in sending you our best personal regards.
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Address: Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious Balcony or Terrace in each Room or Suite provides a private and secluded open air lounge to sit and relax with great sea views.- From the secluded privacy of your room balcony / terrace only 2 minutes walk through flower scented gardens to reach the private sandy beach and sunbathing terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel And Villas
Saint Nicolas Bay Hotel
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.