We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Greece” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Agios Nikolaos, Crete, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% OFF & Free HB upgrade
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Athens
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Paradise in Greece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed with my wife from 5th to 13th July in a Deluxe Sea View Room with Individual Pool as a honeymoon package for these dates. Everything was exceptional, the room magnificent with amazing view, we had very spacious room and washroom and the pool area was fantastic!

The beach was very nice and the sunbeds very comfortable. The main pool is very large and the view from that level breath taking.

As for the cleanliness of the hotel, I did not notice any deviation from the high standards.

As for the service, I have to tell that I surprised too much! The staff is doing great work, is very helpful and try to accomplish all the guests requests in a professional manner. The guys at the Beach, the drivers of the club cars, the staff in the restaurants, in the help desks and in the Reception were more than professional and focus on their duties.

I would like to congratulate the management and the staff of the hotel for the great result.

T. Papachristou

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    225
    87
    23
    5
See reviews for
242
490
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I cannot commend Daios Cove enough for creating the whole Luxury experience through their customer attentiveness, professionalism and attention to detail.

We organised a tour of Knossos & hired a (Hertz) car through the hotel and they could not be more helpful.

The buffet meals in the Pangea restaurant could not be faulted; however, to avoid the noisy children it's best to go later in the morning / evening.

Overall the experience was exceptional and Daios Cove was definitely the highlight of our holiday.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Perfection.

The food in the buffet was great but we treated ourselves to the restaurants on a couple of occasions and the food there was superb. The service was great, attentive but discreet.
On the beach, Vladimir the lifeguard was great, nothing was too much trouble. The beach does get busy, but the sea is perfect for swimming in.
The rooms and all facilities were top spec and very clean. And all the staff were great.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

There are a few issues that prevent this resort being stand-out, but I would recommend it highly as a value for money option relative to alternative much more expansive child friendly five star resorts (eg Verdura in Sicily).

The positives are the views and setting, great beach, attentive and energetic (free for over fours) kids' club.

A few things are irritating but can be lived with for a week: waiting sometimes an age at reception for buggies to pick up and drop off to the room- the alternative: a series of funiculars is a novelty the first journey, but they are slow, very slow and the novelty wears off. There are also lots of steps that cannot be avoided so youngsters need to be carried, but a price worth paying for the sea views from each room.

The only real gripes are :

1) the dining options. The main restaurant is a buffet at breakfast and dinner - food is passable, but it does become tiresome and has the feel of everyone rushing to pile in - not relaxing. Other than that the two other restaurants are not real occasion experiences and were dead in the evenings.

2) the wind - we had thee days of very strong winds which are, we were told, the norm at least this season.

3) the main pool area is a bit cramped in terms of lounger space, but the beach is great and the pool in the suite (perfect for 2 + 2 families) works a treat (hotel supplied a gate given young kids).

4) definitely do not come here if you don't have kids with you, at least during summer season.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our ten days at Daios Coves was exactly what we wanted- peaceful, relaxing and luxurious- a perfect escape from the stresses of everyday life and we arrived home feeling completely refreshed. I definitely recommend a room with a private pool- the sun stays out until around 9pm, relaxing in the evening with a cold drink watching the sunset, absolute bliss!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Without whittering on about every detail I would say that I agree with almost every other review regarding the 'not quite 5*', too many young children there, the Taverna being overpriced for average food, sunbeds being hard to get hold of after 9.30am, Pangea - bitter/sweet - yes, there was a lot of choice and occasionally they excelled themselves but sometimes a bit bland and not a lot of veggies on offer, aswell as stunning architectural style and great views from our villa on 6th St, one of the best terraces and views we've ever had.
I find it a hard place to rate fairly - not as 5* as resorts we've stayed in in Dubai or the Maldives but much better 4* than many other hotels we've tried.
The staff were all very friendly and on the surface helpful but when we contacted reception about air-con not working they didn't respond, neither was our request for an iron and extra hangers dealt with until we asked twice.
One more thing - we booked through Sovereign on a 'promo' that gave us a few minor perks one of which was one complimentary breakfast in bed but when we enquired we were asked for 15 euros 'tray service'! To be fair our rep said she would sort it but we declined partly on principal and partly because the room service breakfast was very limited if you don't eat eggs.
We took one trip out to Spinalonga with lunch in Elounda which we really enjoyed.
I would say that for Greece, this is a 'very good' hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better cove views and our room, 609, had no immediate next door neighbours like so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel has the potential to be one of those excellent hotels that deserve their 5 star rating, but sadly, it just fails to make the grade due to some lack of attention to detail.

Though we arrived in the early hours, the booking in procedure was quick and efficient. We had a standard room which was roomy and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and the view when we woke in the morning was fabulous. Getting around the hotel could be an issue for the less mobile as the accommodation is all on a steep hillside with many steps to negotiate. The funicular railway was out of use on the first two days, so we walked down and used the very efficient golf buggy service to get back up. Why couldn't a note regarding the failure of the funicular be placed at the stations. It would have saved a long frustrating wait on the first morning.

The architecture of the hotel is stunning and deserves all the compliments it gets. The location is also remarkable, but it should be pointed out that it is a remote location and requires transport to get anywhere.

We were on half board, so used the Pangea restaurant for breakfast which was plentiful and varied. Service was excellent, (thank you Maria & Sofia), and though it didn't bother us, I can understand some of the other reviewers who commented on the cats & kids!

The pool was acceptable and the pool service was good. Care needed to be taken when entering the pool at the far end as this was by walking down a slope and some steps. The beach area was good but why the are villa guests treated to their own roped off area even though there was no shortage of loungers? A sense of being treated as second class guests, so suffice to say, we didn't visit the beach again during our stay.

Drinks service in the Crystal Box was efficient, though the outside area can sometimes be a little breezy.

Dinner service in Pangea was always good, but sadly this was not always reflected in the food. There was always a good selection, but sometimes the meat was overcooked for my palate and there was a distinct lack of sauces or gravy which often left the meal tasting a little dry.
Pangea restaurant advertises a dress code, which during our stay was not enforced at all. Why bother?

We ventured to eat in the Taverna restaurant one evening. My advice would be not to waste your money. The service was poor compared to Pangea and the quality of the food left much to be desired. Although we had pre-booked at Reception, the staff at Taverna appeared to have no record of the booking and their comments such as ' Are you sure you booked' made us feel uncomfortable.

Room service varied from excellent to poor. We often had to ask for toiletries to be replenished and for sachets of coffee to be replaced, though, to be fair, this was quickly completed but shouldn't have been necessary. Though the rooms were kept spotlessly clean, the make up service could be at any time of day and being disturbed late in the evening for the turn down service was annoying. Our main complaint in this area concerns the habit of staff to ring the bell and then directly enter the room without waiting. Potentially embarrassing and often requiring some quick 'dress adjustment' or a dash to the door to stop the person entering.

Though there was some limited entertainment provided, it was, in our opinion, of low quality and did not reflect the 5 star grading of the hotel.

With one or two very minor exceptions, staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and tried hard to please.

Despite our comments, we did enjoy our stay.These comments are meant to be constructive rather than critical and this hotel has a lot to recommend it. If you are looking for a peaceful relaxing holiday, then Daios Cove would suit admirably. A bit better quality of entertainment and a little more staff training and this hotel would completely justify its rating

Room Tip: Ask for low room numbers for easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas

Address: Agios Nikolaos, Crete, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the town of Agios Nikolaos — yet on the secluded beach of Vathi this luxury resort in Crete enjoys an exclusive elegant and serene location. In a private cove amidst blue skies, a crescent of sand and the calm of the Mediterranean, Daios Cove is regarded as the ultimate 5 star beach resort in Crete Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Escapio, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daios Cove Luxury Resort And Villas
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Hotel Vathi
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.