We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine 5 Star hotel and resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Agios Nikolaos, Crete, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% OFF & Free HB upgrade
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Genuine 5 Star hotel and resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife, 10 year old daughter and I stayed in a Junior Suite with private pool in the first week of June 2011. The hotel is a genuine 5 star set in a very attractive cove with private beach. Haviing our own pool and terrace area gave us the best of both worlds - every year we have the same argument Private villa versus high quality hotel with kids club. Standards of accommodation were very high with service levels to match. This is an elegant and sophisticated resort which is stunning to look at and to stay in. Food was by enlarge superb. The choice at breakfast in the Pangea restaurant was quite mind-boggling - everything from Veuve du Vernay to baked beans! The "themed" restaurants were much more expensive without neccessarily any uplift in quality. In fact the poorest meal we had all holiday was the most expensive and was in the Greek Taverna on site. For any parents - the hotel has two kids clubs, one run by the hotel and one linked to the package tour company. Our 10 year old visited the hotle run club and had an absolute ball. The club was not at all busy so she had the undivided attention of several young English girls! They were brilliant. Genuinely interested in our daughter, enthusiastic etc. etc. We have visited many 5 star hotels over the years, this one is the best so far.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    226
    87
    23
    5
See reviews for
243
491
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011 via mobile

I have so much to write so it must be a list

Positives
fanastic food selection at the buffet (food bazaar as they call it!) breakfast and dinner. I'm very fussy and my boyfriend would eat anything and we both found lots of options! Deserts are amazing & plenty of fresh fruit!

Pool is very swish, infinity edge which looks like it joins the sea. The beach is very nice too, the staff are very attentive and quickly get out the swimming pool net to hook out any sea weed or leaves in the sea!

Rooms are lovely and spacious, we had a delux room (the cheapest!) and it was massive, had a sofa, chairs an table, gorgous view and a balcony with sofas! Maids are great and do a lovely turn down service.

They guest programme is worth a look! Looks of FREE things to do in resort. I did yoga twice and wanted to do other classes but forgot my trainers. We both did wine tasting and cocktail making both brill!

The Italian resuarante is lovely, very 5* and lovely fish!

The top bar called crysaal box is a must for pre dinner drinks! Gorgeous view (overpriced drinks!) and amazing nibbles given with with your drink!

Negatives
The fenicular is annoying! It's slow and frustrating! There are steps but I wouldnt recommend trying them unless your fit.

The staff sometimes dont seem to know what's going on.

It is pricey, 5euros a local bear, 10 euros for a sandwich. But it's worth it!

It's in the middle of nowhere! We hired a car and it was a life saver for buying cheap water for the pool (smuggled in) and for when the sun went in one day.

I think it should be an adults only hotel. The rich Russians seemed to always have their kids in tow - we had a few annoying/bratty kids during our stay. There is a kids club though.

Overall a really Lovely holiday! Very accommodating staff, lovely food, beautiful views. I would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Truly feels like a five star place, from the very first welcome. We are used to North American 5 star standards and did not expect to get the same standard in Crete - we were very happy to be wrong.

I would highly recommend staying here if you are couple, a family with older kids or with friends. There are families here with young children but there are LOTS of steps so strollers are a bit of a problem (there is a funicular but it is slow and very hot inside). For that reason I would also say not a great place for wheelchair users.

If you haven't booked yet then I would advise going the B&B route as people who are half board have said the food at the buffet, while nice, gets boring and if you want to eat in a hotel restaraunt then you have to pay. The food at the hotel is very pricey (but then if you can afford to stay in a 5 star place this should be no surprise) and most people either used taxis or hired a car to go into Agios Nikoloas. If you go into town avoid the places to eat near the 'lake' and head to Kitroplatea which is where locals seem to eat. I would highly recommend Amalthea which has only been open a couple of weeks.

We stayed in a room with an ocean view, but no pool and if we come back I would choose the same option. The rooms with pools sound fun most people seemed to come to the main pool or the beach anyway. I think that in the height of summer these areas will be pretty crowded, but in June we never had trouble finding a bed.

The room itself was great, very modern and spacious with everything you could need for your stay (including an ipod docking station and wifi!)

The gym is great and the spa offers a daily deal which is worth taking advantage of as as you can use the fantastic steam/sauna area (you have to pay to use if you are not having any treatments).

All of the staff were very approachable and helpful, offering great suggestions for local places to go, eat, drink. Not speaking any other languages (ignorant I know!) I found that the majority of staff spoke English very well,

There was nothing we would change and any kinks mentioned in previous reviews seem to have been ironed out. Go, stay and enjoy!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Bad

Long transfer from the airport
Cold main pool but the spa pool is warm.
Pillows

Excellent

Free wifi every where. Outstanding. For me the deciding factor in choosing the hotel.


Very Good

Location is amazing, and the hotel has been designed to blend into the surroundings.
Red Level Services which included free drinks all day and 6-8 free alcohol with an amazing view.
The quality of the rooms, showers and facilities is excellent.
Powerful aircon.

Staff were excellent.


We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hotel itself is immaculate, the views from the rooms out across the cove are beautiful.
The staff everywhere you go are polite and very helpful, they all try really hard to make sure you are having a great stay.
Food in all the restaurants cannot be faulted, but I would have preferred not to have been charged for water.
Drinks at the bar were expensive but you have to accept that you are staying in 5* luxury and that there is no where else to go for a drink in the evenings (unless you hire a car). Also the service at the bar was a little slow but I think they were working on improving that.
The evenings are a bit quite espescially after everyone has eaten, people just seemed to wander around the hotel or grounds or just go to bed (mainly because you could'nt afford to sit all night drinking when you are paying 10 euros for a gin and tonic!)
We paid 200euros to hire a car for 3 days because the weather was a bit cloudy/rainy, we had a good drive around the island and found some quite nice spots but overall there is'nt really much there.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be pampered, who enjoys just chilling out by the beautiful pool or on the lovely private beach, but to also beware of the fact that you will probably end up spending possibly another 500 euros on top of your half board price, and we did not go mad by any means.
One thing to remember is that ALL the prices on the menus for both food and drink are BEFORE TAX which is added on at the end of your holiday (as much as 23%).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The service was great. The room was the largest standard room in Crete. The architecture was excellent. The view was fantastic from any spot in the complex. the decoration in the lobby and the lounges was modern, full of design items. The breakfast was just good. The spa was fantastic, but you have to pay for sauna or ham am ...! The only basic drawback is that you find stairs everywhere you want to go. it is completely unsuitable for families who use baby strollers or older people.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I have visited many 5-Star resorts in Crete, but can honestly say Daios Cove has the absolute "WOW" factor.
I was completely blown away with the quality of rooms, the service from all staff was fantastic.
The Half Board is an excellent choice with the "dine-around", great choice's in the buffet restaurant (different theme every evening). We tried the A La Carte restaurants, we chose the menu included with the price which was amazing quality of food and service.
We stayed in a one bedroom villa on 1st street - the views were to die for! The villa was spacious and well thought out with fantastic quality furniture and linen's
The Spa is one of the best I have been to!
The location is idyllic and the views spectacular, the construction of the hotel is superb, the Spa heavenly.......... just wish I was still there instead of here in a very wet & windy UK!
Have already booked for a visit later in the year with www.daioscoveholidays.com - they gave me free Half Board and a fantastic rate on the villa with private pool.
Please feel free to contact me for any information.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas

Address: Agios Nikolaos, Crete, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the town of Agios Nikolaos — yet on the secluded beach of Vathi this luxury resort in Crete enjoys an exclusive elegant and serene location. In a private cove amidst blue skies, a crescent of sand and the calm of the Mediterranean, Daios Cove is regarded as the ultimate 5 star beach resort in Crete Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Escapio, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daios Cove Luxury Resort And Villas
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Hotel Vathi
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.