We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knossos Taverna

Knossos Taverna
minoos 11 Amoudi Beach, Agios Nikolaos, Crete TK 72 100, Greece
0030 28410 21284
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The oldest family ran restaurant in Agios Nikolaos Crete. Open since 1976
Surrey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Back again :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Just returned from another holiday in Agios, and another wonderful meal in this friendly taverna. As usual the service was first class as was the food - a trip to Agios just wouldn't be the same without a visit to this taverna ..thank you again for a lovely evening, and see you in July.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    35
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Just back from aghios nikolaos .stayed at hotel coral all inclusive for 2 weeks but ate out for 6 lunches and 7 evening meals.you just have to eat out in different taverns on any holiday anywhere in Greece.ate at knossos for 1 lunch and 2 evening meals.also ate at pieto for 1 evening meal.no way is there 26 places between knossos (27) and pieto(1)'both are nice but I thought the food in knossos was better and cheaper and talking to vassilis was a joy.i check trip advisor whenever I go away but I also use my own judgement as well.I am so pleased I tried knossos.and I would recommend that you walk past pieto sometimes and go into knossos instead.you won't regret it.everything is fresh and tasty but our favourites were the tzakiki ,cheese saganaki,meatballs and retains.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hands down the best place we have tried so far.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We tried this place last year and loved it so much that we decided to go back. I'm so glad we did! The service is amazing, the food is to die for and the father and son go out of their way for you! Exactly how it should be when you are enjoying your holiday! The atmosphere is great and you feel so relaxed. They have a section of their menu which are special dishes that you order the day before which we are doing on Friday. I can't wait. Their value is also very, very good. Please try this place, believe me you'll go more than once! Crete at its very best! Any restaurant is only as good as its strongest staff members and it seems to me they have the balance of everything just perfect. There is a reason they have been around since the 70's!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great restaurant with attentive and welcoming staff. The traditional Greek food is cheap with good sized portions (be careful you don't order too much!) and was absolutely fantastic. A few return visits were made to sample a range of dishes, just not enough time to sample them all. This place will not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Every aspect excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Over two holidays, including excellent cooked breakfasts we have eaten here over 20 times, both food and hospitality have been fabulous

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knossos Taverna also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Knossos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knossos Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.