We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marine Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Marine Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ammoudara , Vathi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Aquis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The blue marine hotel is a very nice place to stay , very clean and spacious rooms , the staff in the hotel our wonderful and very helpful . The restaurant is very nice and the food is wonderful there is lots of fun activities to do in the day , Leon is very helpful and fun and makes your holiday worthwhile for example the discos and shows at night time he makes them very good , I would defiantly come back to blue marine as it is very fun and relaxing plus the weather is very nice still in September !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    274
    110
    44
    16
See reviews for
248
367
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Built amphitheatrically on a small hill, 10 minutes away from St. Nicolas town by car, lays the Blue Marine Resort and Spa. I was there for a week in August (all-inclusive) but I was not very satisfied with my stay at the resort. The main lounge, the terrace bar and the restaurant, recently renovated, were decorated in modern style, airy and welcoming, with stunning views over the Aegean, while the staff was doing its best to provide discreet and friendly service.
My room was rather large, spacious, included modern amenities, such as free satellite TV, DVD player and cable Internet, while it also provided terrific views to the sea. However, there were a few issues with it, especially in the bathroom which hadn’t been renovated; not only it looked old and grubby but also regularly flooded.
In general, the hotel facilities were average. I found meals in all-inclusive to be of bad quality, I think they were precooked and reheated, except for grill mix, which was being prepared on site. No complains on breakfast though. The large infinity pool was amazingly clean, with breathtaking sea views but when aqua-aerobic or other activities took place there, it was rather crowded and noisy. You had to go to another, smaller pool or the indoor pool, in order to use which you had to pay an extra supplement, so that you could find some peace and quiet. You had to cross a busy road, in order to reach the hotel beach, which was average for Crete. There was an elevator but never worked. I preferred going to Voulisma, a stunning, sandy beach, max 5kms distance from the hotel.
In general, the hotel and the services provided to me were of a good level, the accommodation quality was rather high and the staff was more than helpful. However, food quality and service need to be improved, the animation team must work quieter in the infinity pool, especially when more than 200 hotel guests are relaxing, while room bathrooms certainly need a renovation. Marble bathrooms would be a good idea.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms with sea view, above 3rd floor so that there is no noise from the pool. Definately avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Hotel very clean & staff very helpful. gym could have been better. food very good and a good variety. The view from the room fantastic with a good balcony. The animation provided was great too especially Leon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

From arriving at midnight to leaving the hotel was perfect. All staff were extremely friendly and the hotel spotless always. The food was good and had a good variety. The views were stunning and rooms lovely. A special mention goes to the animation team but especially janis who was brilliant throughout and also manolis from the pool bar who was always laughing. I don't understand how people complain about yhis hotel because it is as near to perfection as i think you will get. Thank you to all at blue marine for making my girlfriend and i's first holiday truly amaazzzinnggggg!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baia Mare, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in Blue Marine together with my 12 years old daughter . Good memories haven`t faded yet ...was a very pleasant stay , everyone works hard there to make this possible . From the waiters, to bar staff, cleaners, reception everyone , not talking about the outstanding scenery.... The entertainment provided by the animation team (Lion, Timea , Ruta , Janis , George) managed by Lion was the spotlight of the holiday . Lion is a very friendly person , had a word for everyone and made us to feel special .
I will return on Blue Marine for sure .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

i was in blue marine in august.. the hotel was fantastic.. the rooms were absolutely clean... very nice view. from the first day all the staff was friendly .. the food was very tasty .. very nice swimming pool but we had to take sunbeds from 8 o'clock at morning because if you go later,you will not find .. the barman (George) was very nice and funny .. we loved him ..the animation was ok, but we had a problem there.. Leon , was something more than friendly .. i was there with my husband, and Leon asked me to go with him .. i refused to him, and when i told it to my husband, he was very angry .. from the time that i told him NO , he didn't speak to us.. it was really unprofessional. and then i saw him talking with another girl . by the way , the hotel is wonderful for relaxing and good miniclub if you have kids .. i would love to come again blue marine.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonis M, General Manager at Blue Marine Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
First and foremost , please do accept our sincere apologies for giving you cause to express your disapointment following your recent stay at the Blue Marine Resort and Spa Hotel.
I am extremely concerned to read your comments with regard to your overall experience at the hotel and also very sorry to hear that these shorfalls which you have mentioned was not resolved whilst you were still in-house with us.
Please, may I assure you that is not at all reflecting of our usual service standards and the experience of a guest staying at the Blue Marine Resort and Spa Hotel is always of outmost importance to us to ensure that our guests leave the hotel satisfied all times.
I would like to reasssure you that we take such matters extremely seriously and would greatly appreciate if you could contact us directly on reservations@bluemarinehotel.gr allowing us the opportunity to speak to you personally.
Once again , i do sincerely apologize for any incovinience caused and looking forward to hearig from you.

Best regards,
George Polemarhakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have just enjoyed a wonderful 10 day break at the Blue Marine Spa Hotel. We were 3 families and a party of 10. The hotel was magnificent, views stunning, spotlessly clean, wonderful food and amazing entertainment. The highlight of the holiday had to be Leon and his animation team. The fun started at 10.30am and ran throughout the day and evening. The cabaret/comedy at the amphitheatre was truly memorable. Thank you one and all! Love Jason, Tracey and Amelia. xxx

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Marine Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marine Resort & Spa

Address: Ammoudara , Vathi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Aquis)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Marine Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marine Resort & Spa is located 6km from Aghios Nikolaos in the prefecture of Lassithi nearby the blue clear waters of Ammoudara beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Blue Marine Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marine Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Blue Marine Resort And Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marine Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.