We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the 5-star you'd expect, but great value for your money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marine Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Marine Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ammoudara , Vathi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Aquis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Jerusalem District, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not the 5-star you'd expect, but great value for your money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Not realy a 5-star hotel, more like a 4-star. Great beach and swimming pool, and the animation team was nice and fun. The food was repetetive, and it's quality was just OK and not more, but it suited the price. We were there with our daughter and we highly recommend it for families, remembering that the hotels' best feature is its price, and the value you get for it which is very good. Not enough room by the pool, the rooms weren't very clean and the elevators are a mess, but still, not realy a 5-star so it is acceptable. The ocean view rooms have a great view and are worth the extra charge.
To sum it up: good value for your money and highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    274
    110
    44
    16
See reviews for
248
367
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've just got back from a week at the Blue Marine and we had a superb time. We don't usually do all inclusive holidays but we only had 7 days off so we needed instant good weather and proper looking after and this seemed to be a well reviewed hotel on tripadvisor. The transfers were long; 2hrs 37mins there and 2hrs 55mins back; next time we''ll link up with another couple and share a cab.
I liked the setting in that Blue Marine is self contained but the town of Agios Nikolaos is only 10 mins away if you want to do a bit of exploring and we got a cab in for the same price as the bus fare!! If you do go into AG try to find a spot on one of the terrace bars overlooking the lake, the view is spectacular.
Blue Marine itself is spotlessly clean and we found the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. For example reported a fault in our room's air conditioning on Sunday afternoon and they sent a tech to fix it within a couple of hours. The standard of the rooms is fine, (the beds are particularly comfortable) but they are in need of an upgrade if they are going to claim a 5 star rating, the fixtures and fittings in the rooms were a bit budget for the money charged and who still uses CRT T.V.s at top end hotels?? If I was staying there again I wouldn't bother paying the extra for a sea view, we spent most of our time either at the terrace bar on the 3rd floor which has a fine view or at the pool bar. The hotel can be a bit noisy in the morning with excited young children running along the corridors eager for the pool but that's holiday hotels!!
I liked the food although I thought the downstairs food hall needed to be less like a canteen. Breaking it up into smaller areas and introducing a bit more decoration would be a good idea. That said I thought the food was great although never exactly piping hot which was in contrast to the The Olive Tree Restaurant where the food and service was excellent.
The pool area was well designed, salt water so you can just float about in the sun, but also long enough to swim a few laps if you fancied the exercise. On average we went down to the pool at 9:00 a.m each morning and we always got a sun bed. The Animation Team did a great job providing a range activities to keep you entertained; not everyone's cup of tea maybe but a great way of getting different nationalities talking to eachother and having a laugh together. We met people from Holland, Poland, Russia, Ukraine, France, Israel and everywhere else through joining various games.The shows they did in the evening were well delivered and very well supported, it must be difficult to entertain using half a dozen languages but they managed it well. The fire show was brilliant.
The beach area was oddly narrow and set in a small cove but diving off the large, blue pontoon into the beautiful clear water every day was an absolute pleasure. There were usually quite a few snorkellers enjoying themselves further out in the bay. All the usual water entertainments were available and a couple we met hired a jet ski for 55 euros for 15 mins and assured us it was half the price they were charged in Turkey last year for the same thing.
All in all we felt that this hotel delivered what we wanted for our holiday, sun, relaxation, good food and drink, superb weather and a decent standard of comfort and service for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Unless you are particularly interested don't bother paying the supplement for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Arrived late on in evening about 10.45pm to find that our room that we thought we had booked was not a sea view, fortunately we had hired a car for the week as the transfer was about 3.5 hrs by coach. The car journey took about 1 hour.

We had to pay a further 70 euros for a sea view as our holiday company had only requested a sea view room not actually booked it. The hotel looks exactly like the website and the views were very spectacular.

It was clean and the food although very predictable after the second day, was ok. The beach was very dissapointing and you have to pay to use the sunbeds and beach brollys. the bed mats both on the beach and around the pool were dirty, they need replacing!

The rooms and bathrooms are starting to get tired and in need of refurburbishment.this is not a 5 star by any standards may be 3.5 / 4 would be nearer the mark. The reception staf never smiled and everything seemed a chore. when we left they never asked us if we had enjoyed our time their or asked if we would return and never wished us a safe journey home, everytime I have been anywhere on holiday they have always asked if everything was ok! Obviously they are afraid to ask as they know you are going to say no!

We were in Crete earlier in the year and stayed at a hotel which was a 4 star and it was half the price and had a better service all round.

AG Nik is a lovely place and the area around the hotel has spectacular views and some nice beaches that are free to use!!

I wouldnt go back to this hotel as I believe there are better value for money hotels around the area. with just as nice views. One saving grace is that the barman in the main bar was brilliant and the service in the Olive Tree Resaurant was great but you can only eat there once during your stay and if your wanted to eat there more than once you had to pay.

I have a funny feeling that what happended to us over the sea view rooms, happens to a lot of people when they arrive so my top tip is ensure that your holiday company have paid them for the sea view and not a promo room like ours did (Luxury escapes/Broadway travel).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Greetings from Latvia!
At the first sight when you arrive, the hotel is quite modern and gives a good impression, the pool area is quite nice, the rooms are clean and everything looks perfect unfortunately this feeling does not last long. The rooms are all soundproofed, be sure to take with you all your bathroom products as soap at least, there is just a shower gel and that’s it. And the worst is yet to come... The restaurant with its continental buffet! What a huge disappointment seeing this ridiculous and crappy buffet. No variety in the menu, be it lunch or dinner, it's always the same food. By the way, food was frozen before almost every time. The breakfast is served until 10am and is followed by a "late breakfast" for late risers. Well late breakfast is like the rest, no choice (please see our photo of late breakfast choice!!!), the waitresses are not responsive, there is nothing to eat, even after we were asking to bring us some boiled eggs from breakfast, the manager just explained, that eggs from breakfast have been already chopped in salad (already? 30 minutes after the regular breakfast!?). In addition, the restaurant is really designed as a canteen and the noise during meals is simply unbearable. Good coffee lover – forget about it! – it’s not included in a AI price, there was just an instant coffe with a chlorine taste. And no fresh juices at all. If you wish to go to the nearest city, we suggest to go to the Agios Nicolaos, it is approximately 5-7 minutes to go ther by bus (1.60Eur per person) or by taxi (9Eur). Beach area is ok, because of the beautiful sea, but sunbeads and umbrellas are for additional price (2 sunbeds and umbrella = 5Eur). Hotel does change beach towels (for deposit price 10Eur per piece) just twice a weak. The tenniscourt is missing and has been replaced by a small amphitheater. The animation was rediculous, like school theater shows. The beach is across the road, but there was an elevator to use to go to the beach through tunel. The hotel is really overpriced compareing the services offered. PLEASE CONSIDER CAREFULLY BEFORE DECIDE TO GO TO THIS HOTEL!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here in August with my husband and 3 children. We had done our research before hand so got a mini bus to hotel which cost 290 euro return. (Taxi's much cheaper) First impressions really good, nice and clean. Our huge room was separated into two which was lovely. We put our towels out for sunbeds at about 7.30am so never had a problem getting one. They were usually all taken by about 10am. Breakfast was a bit poor really. It was the same everyday, im not fussy but the only thing i found edible was the toast and fried eggs. We all had the same everyday. Lunch much better, a lovely salad bar, rice, chips potatoes. There were plenty of choice. I tried not to have a bit of everything so it wouldnt get repetitive. Same with dinner really, we all found something to eat. The snacks were really poor, stale sandwiches a bit of salad and cake. I've stayed in 3 stars where the snacks were a lot better. The staff were lovely always really happy to help and friendly especially George in the top bar. Lovely guy. The kids club was ok i suppose. I didn't feel i could let the kids go without me constantly watching them as i saw my 5 year old walking back on his own passed a swimming pool. We have been to 2 previous kids clubs on different holidays in the past and the children were signed in and out for protection. The age group of the club was from 4 - 12 so my 8 year old sometimes got bored with some of the activities. Katerina the kids club girl was lovely though.
Activites throughout the day were really good, my husband took part in most things and really enjoyed it. The Animation team were really nice and if you didn't want to take part they wouldnt hassle you. The night shows that the Animation team put on were very good. The only thing that let it down was the location of the amphitheatre. It was away from the main hotel and the bar only did wine and lager and pop which we didn't drink. You'd end up missing the show if you wanted to go to the main hotel and get a drink of choice. In the second week we ended up not going a couple of times as when the show finishes, so does all inclusive. We had a lovely time here, the views are amazing, yes the hotel is about 10 mins taxi from Aghios Nik but as we were alll inclusive we just stayed there most of the time anyway.

Room Tip: Sea View room is a must. Also the lift only goes to floor 5 so if you are on the 7th floor you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Please take this review as 100% honesty. Had we taken more heed of previous reviews, we probably wouldn't have booked this hotel. It is more like 3 Star plus.
Firstly, be aware that the transfer takes 2 & 1/2 to 3 hrs from the airport & our names weren't even on the list! Although the area is beautiful, there is not much else around and the beach is not pretty at all! Upon arrival, we were not welcomed, helped with our suitcases or informed where all the amenities were. The staff seem to have been cut in numbers with 1 person on reception and bars and the over worked animation team have to provide the whole entertainment from morning to night. The kids club wasn't as expected, although was good enough. The standards definitely do not meet the expectations from photographs. The food was OK, but did get repetative, especially breakfast, so we did eat out a few times. The lifts were dangerous, trapping us in the doors twice and banging my 4 year old's head on one occasion. The free ice cream was disappointing and the poolside snacks, consisting of dried up sandwiches and cakes in a counter. The main pool was also very salty & the problems securing a sunbed does exist.
On a plus note, our seaview room was lovely and cleaned daily, but do bring your own hairdryer. Also make sure you get a seaview otherwise your balcony meets the cliff face! The Olive Tree restaurant was our highlight as this did meet 5 Star standards and we were provided with packed lunch on day trips.
This hotel has clearly been greatly affected by the Greek econony and this shows clearly in the daily running.

Room Tip: We had Room 223 on the second floor with lovely view and large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This August was the first time me and my family had been to Crete and Agios Nikolaos was the best place to stay. Blue Marina Hotel was superb especially the animation team. Alex, Dominiqua and Katerina were helpfull, funny, not pushy and really nice people. By the first day I had already joined in with nearly all the activities. Every morning without fail I did stretchingm/gymnastics with Dominiqua and every morning the whole family did bouls with Alex. The shows at night especially were great, the dancing and everything else. I would love to come back to this hotel. The food was lovely, the hotel spotless and the animation team... they were fantastic. I would like to thank the staff, cooks, the barman George and the animation team. Thanks again,
Jasmine Cannon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Marine Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marine Resort & Spa

Address: Ammoudara , Vathi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 72100, Greece (Formerly Aquis)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Marine Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marine Resort & Spa is located 6km from Aghios Nikolaos in the prefecture of Lassithi nearby the blue clear waters of Ammoudara beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Blue Marine Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marine Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Blue Marine Resort And Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marine Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.