We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avra Bistro

Avra Bistro
Agios Nikolaos, Crete, Greece
28410 - 22530
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Authentic Greek food served by friendly staff. Make customers of all ages very welcome. A fantastic dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    31
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went here for dinner during our stay in Agios Nikolaos because of the reviews on here saying how good it was.

The food was nice but nothing that special, certainly no better than other places we ate at locally.

Once we had finished our food no one came to see if we wanted desserts or the bill and we ended up having to get up to go and get the bill and pay.

Food was perfectly fine but I'm not sure what all the fuss is about to be honest.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We ate here three of our 10 nights. The only reason we did not eat here every night was because we wanted to try a variety of restaurants. We had the local specialties everywhere we went...no chips for us! The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The service was excellent and we were made to feel genuinely very welcome and appreciated. Whilst the traffic was, at times, noisy we did not mind as the people watching from this particular spot is superb. We will eat there again on our next visit and highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Before going to Avra it is advisable to book for food in the evening as this restaurant is always busy.On arriving you are welcomed like an old friend, and shown to your table. Menu's are given and drinks orders taken. Drink are brought to the table and food orders taken. The choice of food is mouth watering and all cooked by Kostas the owners, wife. Service is quick and the food is delicious.My wife and I have eaten there many times, I have tried everything on the menu, and have never been disappointed.Anyone eating at this restaurant will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macduff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My wife and I have been going to the Avra for the last 10 years. Nowhere better to eat in Ag Nic....Costa and Costa are always looking after you and happy to have a chat. Just back from a week in Ag Nic and ate at the Avra every night, plenty menu choices and very reasonably priced..
We will be back..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avra Bistro also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Avra Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avra Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.