We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Greek Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelagos

Pelagos
Strat.Koraka & Katehaki 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete, Greece
28410. 25737
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 106 Restaurants in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
DUNFERMLINE, FIFE
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Lovely Greek Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Walked passed hotel, on way into Agios as staying at Coral Hotel. Looked at reviews, and decided to go based on the reviews. Waitress (Liverpool) was superb in explaining the dishes on the menu.

I decided on the Swordfish. It was so fresh very well cooked, I would visit the restaurant again and again. This was the best meal of my holiday

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    79
    30
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have been to this restaurant about six times between 2010 to 2013 and have thoroughly enjoyed our meal each time. If you go make sure when you are reserving your table you reserve a portion of their fish soup!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“A beautiful restaurant in a hidden place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A beautiful restaurant in a hidden place. The food was amazing, I had grilled octopus and a lot of meze that were extremely delicious and fresh! The waiters are very attentive and friendly. A wide selection of great seafood, Greek fresh fruit and wine. The patio has a great tasteful design. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Two years have passed since our last visit here, and, drum roll!, we still think it's really good. We had steak, perfectly cooked, Fava beans, mussels and anchovies, all excellent, and with friendly service which other Cretan restaurants would do well to emulate. There is also a quite charming singer/ guitarist who contributes massively to the ambiance, as do a few cats, which we love, but if you don't like them, just ignore them, the'll go somewhere else, just do not criticise a very decent restaurant for being cat tolerant. We have had nothing but nice experiences in Pelagos, they are lovely people and serve really good food ( and incidentally surprisingly good house wine) and we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go late and eat outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The fish here is what the place is best known for it varys from catch of the day to shrimps done it several different ways. The water wall in calming and if your not sure what wine to have with your meal ask and they will give you a taster. It's another one of those laid back places that is used by more locals later on in the evening than tourists. It does have several cats running about out side so if you are not a cat person eat inside.One of the waitress is from the north west of england and has been there for ever and along with the rest of the staff treat you as famialy and are helpfull if you are unsure of what is what. A must go to place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelagos also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Pelagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.