We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akros Oreon Green Small Hotel

Save Saved
You added Akros Oreon Green Small Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akros Oreon Green Small Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kato Symi | Viannos, Crete 70004, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 503 Crete B&B and Inns
Olympia, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I hunted up the hotel after seeing it online. We were the only guests in early October. It was beautiful. Georgios was gracious and fixed up the best, very romantic room for us. The air is clear and crisp. Lovely view. Tasteful touches at every turn. Excellent modern bathroom facilities. Excellent bed. I wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at Akros Oreon for only one night, if we knew that it would be so nice we would certainly arrange for more.

The guest house is located in the pine forest with a great panoramic view to the mountain, the forest and the village of Kato Simi. The location is really great, peacefull away from the mass tourism, the noise etc

when you go to sleep the only things you can hear are the sounds of the nature, the wind...
the houses themselves are very nice, stone built, cosy and clean.

except the location the other really great thing there is the attitude of the onwers, you really feel like being invited to their house, Anna's cooking is just excellent wirh really fresh ingredients she cuts at the very moment from the garden!
the meal she prepared was really one of the most delicious we have ever had.

the allowed the kids to cut strawberries from the garden, my little boy liked them so much he cut and ate them all up! Anna and Giorgos didnot say a thing on the contrary they encouraged him.. so ti was a very nice experience for a city boy to have the opportunity to cut strawberries straight from the garden, wash them in the little river down the inn and eat them instead of going to the supermarket and buy them.

it may be some far from the main attractions usually mentionned in the guides but it really worths the detour
hope we will be back one day

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed at Akros Oreon in July of 2011. On arrival we were greeted by Georgios broad smile and aroma of wonderful dinner being cooked by Anna. They are such warm and hospitable hosts! We were taken care of as if we were their family members.

The apartment on the second floor was clean, cozy and spacious with a fireplace, TV, small kitchenette, with a huge terrace and amazing view to Kato Symi – a small village nearby. Stone houses keep cool and you don’t even need air-conditioning in summer. Well-maintained hotel environment, a lot of plants and surrounding pines make the place look as part of the mountainous landscape.

I would recommend this accommodation only to those whose seek quiet, seclusion and wish to explore the island on their own or spend their time hiking in the mountains.

Room Tip: We had room no. 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

That is one of the best hotels that we spent holidays.
Nice service!!! You can go to beautiful places like: the plateau of Omalos, the small traditional village of Kato Symi and exotic Lybian beaches like Psari Forada.!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akros Oreon Green Small Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akros Oreon Green Small Hotel

Address: Kato Symi | Viannos, Crete 70004, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Crete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Akros Oreon Green Small Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Akros Oreon is built on an old vineyard on the heights of the valley of Kato Symi. It is a small size hotel, made up by 3 buildings of one stage and entirely built out with stone on harmony with the landscape and the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Akros Oreon Green Small Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akros Oreon Green Small Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.