We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Delphi, friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Varonos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Varonos to your Saves list
Hotel Varonos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pavlou & Friderikis 25, Delphi 33054, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Delphi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Delphi, friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed only one night. This is a charming, unpretentious, economical place to stay while visiting the archeological site and museum at Delphi. The view from the balcony was fantastic. Our rooftop room was small but had comfortable beds, air conditioning, refrigerator, and safe. It was up four flights of stairs, which was no problem for us, but this would be an issue for anyone who has difficulty walking up stairs. The room was quiet. They supposedly turn off the hot water for several hours in the afternoon and late at night, but we didn't notice this. There was free computer and internet in the lobby. The staff really went out of their way to help us in many ways. The continental breakfast was good--not 5-star, but very adequate. We arrived by KTEL bus, so I can't say about parking, there did not appear to be any. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    86
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
52
92
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The room cost €50 per night and considering that, it was good value. The room and hotel were rather poky and the furniture had been cobbled together. The breakfast was plentiful but not particularly good quality. The staff were helpful. The location is good — only 10 mins' walk from the temple of Apollo.

Perhaps there is a better place in Delphi, although walking through the high street I didn't really get that impression. But for a couple of nights it certainly did the job OK.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We were met by the very welcoming owner upon our arrival who showed us to our room and gave us some tips about Delphi. The rooms aren't fancy, but were quite roomy with a TV, bathroom, internet (paid 4 euro for two days) and decent bed. It is probably 10 mins walk to the Delphi museum and Sanctuary. The best place to eat that we found was a cheap little souvlaki place at the eastern end of Appolonos (the main street). We also had a standard Greek breakfast in our rate, which was not too bad. Very good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is a small family-run hotel, and it is obvious the family loves their work. The service is good, the breakfast ample, but the best part was our room. We had a big unbelievably comfortable bed, plus a balcony with a view down to the famous "sea of olive trees."

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Have stayed twice and will certainly go again. Lovely family run hotel. Great value. Spotlessly clean. 10 min stroll to historic sight. Amazing valley views from some rooms. Bathrooms/breakfast are on par (even slightly better than) europe standards for this price range. What is exceptional are the owners. Lovely family and all staff could not be more helpful, friendly or professional. A delight to deal with.

Room Tip: ask for a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Stayed for 1 night on our way to Athens. It is a neat little hotel ,but nothing to get excited about. The top floor room we had was small, and the balcony is so tiny. The beds are on the firm side, and the walls are on the thin side. Sleep quality was average. The breakfast had only basic selection. Yes it is close to the ruins, along with all the other hotels in Delphi.

I fi was to visit Delphi again i would look for a different hotel

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We arrived to a nice welcome by the staff who showed us to our very comfortable rooms that were unbelievably good value in the off season. The hostel itself is very nicely decorated with a fire lit in the corner which is great for sitting and chilling out after a long day sight seeing. Would recommend this as one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Go here!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Varonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varonos

Address: Pavlou & Friderikis 25, Delphi 33054, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Delphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varonos 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Varonos Hotel! A traditional hotel wonderfully located in the heart of Delphi, over looking the famous olive valley and the Corintian gulf, close to every attraction! Feel the spirit of ancient years and the peacefulness of nature! Enjoy activities, wonder around the city, visit the sites and shop traditional products! Our hospitality will surely make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Varonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varonos Hotel Delphi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Varonos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.