We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel Delphi

Save Saved
You added Amalia Hotel Delphi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amalia Hotel Delphi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Apollonos St, Delphi 33054, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in Delphi
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Many hotels in Delphi have young tour groups being dropped off by the bus loads and we wanted to stay away from that. However, we were pleased to see Japanese tourist getting off a bus at this hotel and knew it would be a quiet stay. The hotel feels very Japanese, as well. We loved everything about it. The room was conveniently located on the same level as lobby, it had a balcony with a great view and was clean and comfy. The breakfast was the BEST and the waiter was great. We stayed only one night in Delphi and glad we chose Amalia Hotel to make our experience a perfect one. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    123
    59
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
104
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendrisio, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It is right outside of the village, so the location couldn't be better. The breakfast buffet is complete, and the dining room has a nice view. The rooms are small and dated, but they have balconies (at least ours did - I think they all do). Everything seemed clean enough, but it is an older hotel. And they do not have any connecting rooms so, since our kids aren't old enough to stay in their own room, we had to bring folding beds into our room. The room was a sea of beds, wall-to-wall, with no space in between.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

When the web site says family friendly be prepared for children !! yes the hotel loves children. Situated just outside the village of Delphi with panoramic views we spent a night here, my second stay, on our visit to historic beautiful athmospheric Delphi. The views over the valley and out to the see with mountains all round was memorable.
Breakfast was a buffet affair in a packed dining room during a holiday week-end. but the food was good and the people watching great fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have not stayed at a hotel before in the style of the Amalia Delphi. Something we liked – not your boring cookie cutter hotel style. It reminded us of a USA 1970’s TV show “The Brady Bunch”

The concrete – stone – tile décor was neat. Room was very clean and functional. Liked the extra door that you could shut to close off the bathroom and dressing area – allows someone still sleeping not to be disturbed.

Hugh lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating. You could open expansive balcony to sit outside for breathtaking scenic view.

Main Streets of Delphi is a short walking distance from hotel. This is a plus for a nice stroll or walk.

Enjoyed Dinner – another great Mountain view from the picture windows. We had great tasting Greek Salad, Lamb, Stuffed Grape Leaves, etc. Service was perfect.

Breakfast Buffet also was very good. Enough hot and cold choices for all.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is large, open, somewhat cold and concrete with long corridors and somewhat dated rooms in need of refreshing. Other than that it was clean enough and the food was very good both for dinner and for breakfast. There was a folded egg omlete, sausage, a couple pastry choices, fresh juices, preserves, honey, plain whole-milk yogurt, toast, some cold cereals like muesli, tea, coffee, etc. The breakfast room was a large open room with high ceilings surrounded by windows with a lovely view of surrounding mountains. The pool was empty because it was their winter (March) and actually rather cold/crisp and drizzly. Bring a jacket if you come between November and March. I think we would have enjoyed it more if we could have used the huge pool. Since the hotel is set higher up in the town with lots of views of mountain ranges, it would have been lovely to swim with this kind of view.

My daughter took the walk down the long, steep, winding road to town. I didn't want to because I knew I'd have to walk back up! She said it wasn't too bad. The little town is lovely too. Small but some really nice shop and restraunt owners. Even the hotel we walked into to use the bathroom on the main street of downtown Delphi was clean with a very nice manager at the desk. Obviously a hotel on the main strip is closer to everything, but you may prefer a little separation. In town I found a lovely hand-painted Greek ceramic bowl, olive oil soaps, silk scarves, etc. Great prices. Downtown was a quick 20 minute walk to the Temple of Apollo and the museum so you don't really need a car for this town if you're willing to walk a little.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volos, Greece
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband , a friendly couple and me stayed for two nights at Amalia Delphi hotel.We are very happy for our choice .
Pro's : 1) spacious rooms , 2 ) friendly and very proffesional staff , 3) sumptuous and tasty breakfast and dinner , 4 ) excellent location ( 5 minutes on foot from Delphi town , away from town noise), 5) free parking area , 6 ) free wifi ( unfortunately , only at the lobby area).7) fair price.
Con's : 1) lobby area crowded by babies !!! feeling of a kindergarden !! I suppose that the hotel can prepare an area quieter and with such a view as the lobby , but not so noisy as a kindergarden 2) not a great view from most rooms , 3) twin beds instead of doubles .
Nevertheless , when we visit again the Delphi area , we will , definitely stay at Amalia hotel.

Room Tip: the earlier you get there ,the better room ( view , double bed) you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel sports a phenomenal view, helpful staff, good location, and nice rooms. The inner city of Delphi is very close, 2-3 minutes away by car and very easy to walk to. I would most definitely stay there again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amalia Hotel Delphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel Delphi

Address: 1, Apollonos St, Delphi 33054, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in Delphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel Delphi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Amalia Hotel Delphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Amalia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel Delphi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.