We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay hotel if you visit Delphi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel Delphi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amalia Hotel Delphi to your Saves list
Amalia Hotel Delphi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Apollonos St, Delphi 33054, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Delphi
melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must stay hotel if you visit Delphi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Amalia as this was outer first stay in Delphi, and not sure when we will be back. The hotel is full of chic, cool design. Even though some years have passed since her birth, the Amalia is absolutely worth the stay. And that fireplace at night! The views from our room were stunning. Wold definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    162
    82
    15
    6
See reviews for
81
141
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

What a disappointment after our wonderful stay at the Amalia Hotel in Athens! If you do not have a room with a view of the Corinth Gulf, then the hotel room looks like a prison cell both inside and out. The service in the dining room was horrible. If you must stay here, ask for a room with a view of the gulf and definitely eat in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed there only one night, but it was great! We stayed in a large and comfortable room with a very nice bathroom. From our balcony, we had the view of their beautiful pool and a spectacular view of Corinth Gulf, since it was built in the slopes of Mount Parnassus. The hotel is just 50 meters from Delphi. From there, you can also go walking to Apollo's and Athens' Temple, 15 minutes away. The internet is free and the meals are very good. The staff is very efficient and friendly. If you are going to Delphi, this hotel is an excellent choice. We really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great hotel. Excellent position up in the mountains. Fantastic views. No wonder Apollo thought it the most beautiful place and built his temple here.

Rooms are fine – a bit rustic décor – but essential parts refurbished and fully functional. The hotel is clean. Has pool but no gym or kettle in rooms. Part of Amalia group of hotels.

Staff are OK – not so warm, but foreign language expertise must be more difficult to find outside the big cities. Food is average.

I would recommend this hotel. Tour groups stay here – which itself is a recommendation of sorts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel is nicer than it's sister hotel in Olympia, the view was amazing and just a few blocks from the town of Delphi where you find all kind shops eagerly waiting for tourist . We went in the month of September so it was really quiet and secluded . They us a room for a family that over looked the valley towards the ocean. The room wa huge.

The lounge is spacious and over looks the valley and groves of olive trees, below is a swinning pool which we had the pleasure of using with another couple.
It was such an wonderful experience we plan on visting again during the same time of year.

The one thing I didn't like was the charge of 2 euros for 10 minutes for usage of the computer I thought it should have been included with the hotel fee as their sister hotel in Olympia.

The buffet breakfast is great, you have many breakfast choices to pick from and I must say it was very tasteful.

Room Tip: 1st floor towards the west over looks the valley and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed one night while on a tour. The room was larger than most we had in Greece. The beds were a bit on the hard side, but were comfortable. As with other hotels, the faucet and showerhead were on the side wall, not end wall of the tub area. This made it very awkward to take showers.

The hotel was located a short walk from the small town below, with many shops and restaurants/cafes. Not much to see, but it made the stay more interesting.

To our great surprise, wi-fi was included without extra charge. We found it disappointing that other hotels of this caliber throughout Europe charged extra for wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The views are incredible; that's about it. The hotel is nice, but seems really cold and isolated. Some of the staff is very helpful and friendly and others are very stoic (on the verge of being rude). I don't even know how to describe it other than to say it feels like you are trapped in a movie from the late '60s or early '70s except its not an action/thriller james bond movie but a dull long foreign film. I love Greece and I usually Greek people are very warm and welcoming but I didn't get that feeling here.To be fair, it's probably better if you are with other people, but If you are by yourself its not great at all. First of all do not do a two-day tour of delphi from Athens if you are traveling solo (they just drop you off at the hotel- you are not with a group(although you may meet some other travelers at dinner). Everyone who stays here seems to be with an actual tour group. I don't know if anyone just stays here on their own. Probably not, because those who come to delphi on their own realize that one day is more than enough time to spend here to enjoy the beauty of the surroundings

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalia Hotel Delphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel Delphi

Address: 1, Apollonos St, Delphi 33054, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Delphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel Delphi 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amalia Hotel Delphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Amalia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel Delphi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.