We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What did the fox say? Very good I think” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Bella Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anissaras | Chersonisos, Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Anissaras
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What did the fox say? Very good I think”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The title refers to a particular song that the animation team comprising two young men from a Baltic country insisted on playing at every given opportunity. It became strangely catchy ( I have since found out that it is an internet sensation) as did the guest entertainment provided by the AT especially for the children. This rounded off a lovely holiday experience for our family of four. The two room suite was sufficiently spacious and quite peaceful ( though others did complain of noisy Ruskies). The pool was delightful though a tad cold first thing ( but this was October). The food and service in the restaurant was very good as compared to our experience of other all inclusive hotels in Greece, Turkey and the Canaries. If I had to criticise anything it would be the quality of the watered down drinks with the exception of the wine which was quite drinkable.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    167
    78
    34
    11
See reviews for
223
218
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel nice staff, food was a bit repetortive and the drinks couldn't have had any alcohol in them , the wi if was intermittent , I must say the staff were very good except one , who would only let you get two drinks at a time , which is very awkward when there's five in your group, and you have to que up twice every time , probably won't go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just returned having spent 10 days at this hotel.
I have never reviewed any hotel before and I read all the reviews before travelling here, I must admit the positive reviews resulted in me booking this hotel above others and I really wished we had not.
The good points - The quality of the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner cannot be faulted although the choice was the same every day. The wine served was also descent.
The bad points - we were disappointed that the Mediterranean restaurant was not open despite being shown as open.
The pool was freezing so pretty much unusable - most activities were in the indoor pool - and if you are going to use the gym facilities don't waste your baggage allowance as none of the antiquated machinery worked.
The pool beds are comfortable but the plastic beach beds with no cushion are back breakers.
The lights in the room are really bad - low voltage lamps and just one to the side of the dressing table which made it difficult to see much after dark.
Also just one low voltage light in the hall so it was also difficult to see and set the code on the safe.
The drains smelt really bad in our room which we paid extra for (sea view) and the toilet leaked constantly.
I would not recommend this hotel as there were so many we saw nearby which were sooo much better !

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent the first four days at Zorbas which we enjoyed and then had a letter pushed under the bedroom door offering a free upgrade to the 5 star sister hotel Bella beach about half a mile along the coast.Not used to such luck we decided to take advantage.Hotel staff organised pick up for us and off we went to arrive for lunch time at the Bella.It was a good move.Loved it at Bella Beach.Room,food,pool and beach all better quality.Thank you Aquis Hotels!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've been there at the beginning of August and it was the best holiday ever! The people were very nice and the stuff too. If you want an unforgettable holiday this is the right place! The animation team had the best ideas about how to entertain us.
The rooms were very clean and the food was always fresh with lots of variety. The sea was warm but we couldn't swim to much because of the big waves. The beach was clean and sandy. We had free wi-fi in the rooms and also throughout the hotel. Some rooms had better signal than others but it was ok. There were people from the younger to the elder, so everyone, beside of his age, can enjoy a holiday at Aquis Bella Beach. I can recommend this place for everybody how wants a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very beautiful and clean place. We've been there at the beginning of October and it was the best ending of summer as I could imagine!

So nice people, great stuff, to begin with reception, through the waitresses and waiters and also bartenders (totally in love with Poppy, Claudia and Costas!!!) and at the top of that list: the animation team! Absolutely extraordinary people with crazy ideas in their heads!!! Every each day they tried to entertained everybody and encourage people to have different kind of fun! But never pushy. The whole animation team from our stay: Camille, Charles-Frederick, Copi, Davis, Justine, Manu, Sebastien were just amazing and absolutely deserve to guests gratitude.

Food was very tasty with lots of variety, always fresh and warm. Regional wines were quite good, but not excellent and the only thing that I think was not good enough was coffee.

Rooms were cleaned every day, not even a single spot left covered with dirt. We had the room with a balcony and a view both to the pool and the beach. Fantastic view during the day and even better at night.

Sea was amazing! Warm water and great beach, wide and clean. There were little stones, but comparing to another hotels in Anissaras it was the best one!

Guests of Aquis Bella Beach were from all around the world and it was the best part of that holidays. It was great to be able to meet such an amazing people, to sit together at one table and talk in every possible language still having fun, drinks and a smile on our faces.
I can recommend this place for everybody who's looking for relax and wants to spend the delightful time during holidays!

Room Tip: Very nice rooms with sea views, an amazing view in the evening. The upper floors can be reached by u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

While this hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful it is DEFINATLY not a 5 star - at best a poor 4 star! For the 5 star price we paid it did not live up to expectations having stayed in a 4 star Aquis before. It boasts 2 outdoor pools and a children's pool but there is just one (not very clean) and the small pool. The main bar is advertised as being open from 10am but wasn't! There is an a la carte restaurant but this was closed throughout. The main building was very hot so think they were saving on the air con. The afternoon snacks were on a small table near the main bar- not adequate for the size of the hotel. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel but that's a joke! We couldn't get it anywhere.
On the plus side the restaurant had lovely outside areas with trees in bloom and a fountain which was a nice touch.
For a 5 star we would have expected better entertainment. There was only one theme night which were a few Greek dancers the rest of the time it was just the animation team with dance competitions and silly shows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Beach Hotel

Address: Anissaras | Chersonisos, Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Anissaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bella Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Beach lies on a beautiful stretch of the Cretan sea in the centre of the northern coast of Crete. This extremely select hotel at which earthy hues are dominant has been built with local brick and marble and the overall tranquility leaves one with a lasting impression of the grandeur and comfort of bygone days. The relaxing pool area invites you to laze away your holidays, while there are, of course, many leisure and sporting activities available for those who prefer them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Bella Beach Hotel Anissaras
Aquis Bella Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Bella Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Bella Beach Hotel Crete/Anissaras, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.