We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All new, updated. Very very nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phidias Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Phidias Hotel to your Saves list
Phidias Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Kountouriotou St | Pasalimani, Piraeus 185 35, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All new, updated. Very very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the ferry a little walk, about 30 minutes. Also to train...but, if call, they will send a taxi to ferry or to the Metro. Rooms very nice. Staff very helpful. On side street, but using iPhone map system easy to locate.

Room Tip: Be sure to call a day ahead so they can send taxi to meet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    168
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
175
338
55
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Samish Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very pleasantly surprised by every aspect of this small hotel near the port. Van/driver picked us up when we arrived at the port, staff was fun/friendly, rooms were just refurbished new. For dinner, they provided an outstanding recommendation perfect us among the dozen + restaurants two blocks away on the marina (fun area for walking/people watching). And for those who need a morning Starbucks, it is one block away. Would definitely stay here again if we needed a hotel to stage in or out of Athens for an evening.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

working at a 4star hotel..think that this one is better...apart from the location everything is perfect. rooms recently rennovated very clean and very kind and helpful staff. for sure the best choice you can make if you plan to visit the city

Room Tip: first and second floor.. the other floors if you prefer a classic desigh
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel located at walking distance from the ferries and the port. The rooms are very clean, quiet, modern design. Good breakfast for 7 euros. Parking the car is a problem, as everywhere in Piraeus and Athens.Last advice: book directly.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Front desk personnel makes this hotel a 7 star! So helpful and sweet!!Pericles went out of his way to help us after we had just been robbed! And we only stayed for one night. And they still kept our packages to pick up one week later! I recommend and would stay again. Rooms are great and breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As an overnighter before a cruise, Phidias was fine. Much better than going into Athens. The X96 from the airport was too easy - a fifty-minute ride cost us nothing. No-one was collecting! The driver could have been more civil, though. All Greek! We had to ask other passengers where to get off, and as a result I think we alighted a stop too early and our taxi ride (they were cruising past constantly) was a little longer than was needed. No problemo! The hotel is squeezed in amongst other buildings, and the lift is tiny, but it is a modern, clean and friendly place. Our bedroom was of an older vintage. (Had it been a hostel? What were those Latin words on the ceiling mural?) Nocturnal activities in the next room could have been more muted ... but hey ... someone was pleased. The bathroom was fresh, and the bath welcome. An evening meal was just a block away, with a variety of choices at the busy marina. A stroll to the shops in the morning was enjoyable though some shop-keepers could have been more welcoming. You get the feeling Pireaus is a busy city/port, and the locals are too self-absorbed (economic problems?) to be bothered with tourists. Not the hotel. Nice people. The transit bus to the ship was gratis, and a pleasing finish. Glad HE was handling the traffic!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phidias-Piraeus, Manager at Phidias Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your choice. To our knowledge the X96 bus ride from the airport to Piraeus costs 5 euro per person. All passengers must buy a ticket since "free riding" may carry a fine 60 times the price of the ticket.
It was pure luck that you were not checked for a ticket by a conductor.
Concerning the hotel location the center of Piraeus is a thickly populated urban area. So every single building in Piraeus is attached to each other.
The room you stayed in was one of the rooms that were renovated in 2011 while the whole building's renovation completed in August 2014. Therefore labeling the room "older vintage" was inaccurate. Additionaly Phidias Piraeus Hotel has never been a hostel, however we have tried and succeeded to provide a youthful atmosphere.
We can assure you that the latin characters was a part of a "Nono" wallpaper pattern and probably means nothing.
All rooms in Phidias Piraeus Hotel are soundproof at a high standard in order to provide our guests with a quiet and relaxing stay.

Kind Regards,
Phidias Piraeus Hotel Manager
Michael Kourmoulis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It's been some months now since my family and I stayed at the Fhidias hotel. We were not on vacation. We just had to leave our house because of an enormour plumb dammage. We were arriving late and exausted every night at an extremely welcoming, clean, warm environment. Everything was brand new and shinning. A cup of coffee in the room was more than welcome. The breakfast was perfect with a lot of sweet and savoury choises, served since very early in the morning as we had to leave for work and school. Well, it's never too late to thank every person working there as they made our difficult days, look pleasant and nice to remember. I would deffinitely recomend to anyone. Just one block away from Marina Zeas is perfect location to spend your time in Attica.

Room Tip: Family room, was not so spacious but it had a big closet, a great TV set, tea and coffe tray and a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phidias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidias Hotel

Address: 189 Kountouriotou St | Pasalimani, Piraeus 185 35, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phidias Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phidias Piraeus Hotel is a newly renovated hotel in the centre of Piraeus, next to the port. Guests enjoy free shuttle service and refurbished rooms with free Wi-Fi and full American breakfast. The hotel’s private shuttle offers guests free transfer to and from the port of Piraeus, to the X96 bus stop (airport bus line) and the railway station. Phidias Hotel offers bright and spacious guestrooms with en-suite bathrooms. Each air-conditioned unit is well equipped with work desk, comfortable beds and satellite TV. Free of charge internet facilities are also available at the hotel lobby. Phidias Piraeus Hotel offers a full American Breakfast from 6 am, an ideal start off for those who are traveling to the islands very early. A leisurely stroll away from the hotel will take guests to a variety of cafe or Greek taverns offering sea views. The Naval museum and the archaeological museum are located conveniently nearby. The hotel is within easy access to every means of transport travelling to and from Piraeus port and the airport. In addition there is a convenient express bus route connecting with the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phidias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phidias Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.