We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phidias Hotel

Save Saved
You added Phidias Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phidias Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Kountouriotou St | Pasalimani, Piraeus 185 35, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Piraeus
Red Deer
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly, helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We really appreciated the pick-up from the ferry and the friendly welcome from the reception staff. He was so friendly and made us feel special by bringing complimentary wine to our room upon our arrival. He was also very helpful in finding out bus itineraries and the best way to get to our next destination. The room for 3 adults was adequate in size and very clean. The hotel is located just a short walk to a variety of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    149
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
145
287
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel late at night and were greeted by very friendly staff. They offered us a transfer to our cruiseship.

The room was small but comfortable and clean and they even brought up a complimentary bottle of wine for us.

We would definitely recommend whether staying in Piraeus. It is a save area and it is an easy walk down to the pretty harbour with nice restaurants and cosy bars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to our cruise and it was just perfect. We caught the X96 bus from Athens airport and the Phidias shuttle picked us up at the designated bus stop. The hotel management had sent us detailed instructions re where to get off the bus. The hotel is in a lovely location, just back from the Marina where you can stroll up and down or visit one of the many eating establishments (staff will advise about choices). I really can't remember much about the room, except that it had a bonus of a small balcony, which I loved. As others have said, the lift was 'cute' - so tiny that I put my husband + luggage in there and took the stairs! Breakfast is served in the reception/lounge area and was more than adequate. In brief - a great place for that pre-cruise rest, followed by efficient free shuttle service to the dock

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tessacate88
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Summary: Overall a fresh, clean, modern hotel. Ideal for pre-cruise embarkation. Would definitely use again.

Arrival: We used the hotel’s shuttle to collect us from the Athens airport for Euro60 per vehicle. The driver was outside immigration and customs waiting for us, despite the terribly slow immigration clearance. The shuttle is not exactly luxurious, but it was efficient and effective and we had confidence in the driver’s ability. He was welcoming, helpful and friendly; also happy to assist with our large and heavy suitcases. As an added bonus, the hotel provides free transport to the cruise terminal the next day. When asked, the receptionist was happy to recommend somewhere to eat nearby.

Check-in: quick, efficient, friendly and helpful.

Room: small but well appointed and with modern furniture. The bed was a little too firm for my personal liking, however it didn’t trouble my husband. Good light for reading in bed (something too few hotels provide these days). The room also had a fridge and safe. The fridge was stocked with soft drinks and beer.

Bathroom: small with high quality fittings. Shower over the bath and, unusually, no shower curtain or glass door to prevent water from splashing over the floor. (Admittedly it would have made the room look less attractive.)

TV and Wi-Fi: Without being asked, the receptionist handed me a slip of paper at check-in with the hotel’s wi-fi password. The internet speed was fine. There were also several pc’s with internet access in reception for guests’ use. The room had a large flat screen tv mounted on the wall with a selection of international channels. The tv also had internet connection with a keyboard on the back of the tv remote control device.

Breakfast room: We chose the continental breakfast for Euro 6 which was very good.

Check-out: Quick, efficient and friendly. The receptionist also asked if we had enjoyed our stay – something I like to see from hotel staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Needed a room for one night before catching a cruise ship in Athens. The Phidias Hotel was perfect. Convenient, Clean, Courteous staff, good breakfast, great price, free transfer to ship.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Al
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Well situated and very convenient to most everything in city. The staff was very helpful for our 2 night stay prior to boarding ship. Very nice accommodations for the price.
Loved this little hotel! Hotel phideas has just been renovated and delightful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Newly refurbished and very convenient for ferries and cruise ships with a free shuttle to your ship. The rooms are small but well fitted out and have tea and coffee.Spotlessly clean, very convenient to cheap restaurants and run by a very friendly family who cannot do enough for you. Great short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phidias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidias Hotel

Address: 189 Kountouriotou St | Pasalimani, Piraeus 185 35, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phidias Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phidias Piraeus Hotel is a newly renovated hotel in the centre of Piraeus, next to the port. Guests enjoy free shuttle service and refurbished rooms with free Wi-Fi and full American breakfast. The hotel’s private shuttle offers guests free transfer to and from the port of Piraeus, to the X96 bus stop (airport bus line) and the railway station. Phidias Hotel offers bright and spacious guestrooms with en-suite bathrooms. Each air-conditioned unit is well equipped with work desk, comfortable beds and satellite TV. Free of charge internet facilities are also available at the hotel lobby. Phidias Piraeus Hotel offers a full American Breakfast from 6 am, an ideal start off for those who are traveling to the islands very early. A leisurely stroll away from the hotel will take guests to a variety of cafe or Greek taverns offering sea views. The Naval museum and the archaeological museum are located conveniently nearby. The hotel is within easy access to every means of transport travelling to and from Piraeus port and the airport. In addition there is a convenient express bus route connecting with the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Phidias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phidias Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.