We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phidias Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Phidias Hotel to your Saves list
Phidias Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Kountouriotou St | Pasalimani, Piraeus 185 35, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at this hotel, which we used as a stopover en route to a wedding in Hydra. Spotlessly clean, very helpful receptionist and lovely room - incredible value for money in my view when you consider free wifi, toiletries and even storage of our bags on the way back. When we asked for a transfer to the port gate, their shuttle bus was at the airport so they arranged a taxi at their expense. Thanks very much for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    175
    31
    7
    8
See reviews for
186
355
60
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

What great customer service! From the free shuttle pickup at the port to the free shuttle to the airport bus, we were treated as special customers. Our room was lovely, the location seemed very safe and breakfast was a feast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were very disappointed with our room as it didn't look anything like the picture on the website. The next day the desk clerk offered to give us a refund and even offered us a free night stay. We decided to stay and even came back the next week. We got used to the room and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great, it is one block to the supermarket and marina and a 15 minute walk to the beach. The shuttle to and from the port was also a plus. The bed was comfortable and the air con worked well.The room was clean and the cleaner came in everyday no matter what time we left. The room was very tiny, and the bathroom even smaller. The wifi worked well and they have a kettle with tea and coffee in your room. Our room had a large balcony which we enjoyed. The carpet was stained and the room was loud, we could hear everything from the hallway and even heard a guy snoring in another room. The curtains are definately not block out curtains and are more like tissue paper. If you don't have high expectations then you will enjoy all the positive aspects of the hotel such as the helpful, friendly staff, great location and free shuttle to the port. We would come back based on these aspects.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phidias-Piraeus, General Manager at Phidias Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your time. However your review is obviously written for "Inn" and not Phidias Piraeus Hotel - the stark contrast between your review and the majority's makes it evident.

Both your reservations were made for "Inn" which is at the same address but it is a totally different property from "Phidias Piraeus Hotel". Something that was clearly stated on your reservation sheet. It is under separate management and "Phidias Piraeus Hotel" operates on the highest standards which is evident in the vast majority of the comments posted on tripadvisor as well as our top ranking in websites such as booking.com
Phidias Piraeus rooms don't even have carpets fitted to be stained. (Our floors are tile or marble).

We would like to assure you that "Phidias Piraeus Hotel" is the newly renovated part of the building therefore all rooms offered online under "Phidias Piraeus Hotel" brand name in all websites, are exactly what is described in our guests' reviews and seen in our photos.

It will be our pleasure to accommodate you in the near future in order to discover it yourself.

Kind regards,
Michael Kourmoulis
Phidias Piraeus Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel was a great budget stay, and was one of our favourite hotels we stayed at in Europe, definitely the best value for money. The location is fantastic, so close to the ferry terminal, and buses and metros. The shuttle service was also very handy. They do an early start to breakfast, so it makes it easy to catch the ferry with a full tummy. The rooms were all fairly basic, but nice and modern and very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Frankly I didnt expect much given the price we paid for a one night stay before catching our ferry to Crete. But all of the staff people were wonderful, friendly and helpful, our room was very clean and comfortable with a cute little balcony, and the €5 breakfast a great value with omelettes, bacon, sausages, plus yogurt, cereals, breads and meats, and more! I highly recommend this hotel! Almost forgot... Free pickup from the bus stop... We didn't know this so had about a 15 minute walk... be sure to ask... Plus free shuttle right to the boarding area of our ferry! Can't beat this!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony... Very nice. They also have triples, and we booked one of these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Arrived very tired. Quick,efficient reception. Friendly staff. Lovely comfy beds. Clean rooms. Great breakfast. Perfect free shuttle us to the port. Very good value for money. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

the cleanst place i have ever stayed in.the new appointments were tasteful. the free shuttle from the port was greatly appreciated. the neighborhood was nice and much more appealing than donw near the port. there were nice retaurants nearby. the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phidias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidias Hotel

Address: 189 Kountouriotou St | Pasalimani, Piraeus 185 35, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phidias Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phidias Piraeus Hotel is a newly renovated hotel in the centre of Piraeus, next to the port. Guests enjoy free shuttle service and refurbished rooms with free Wi-Fi and full American breakfast. The hotel’s private shuttle offers guests free transfer to and from the port of Piraeus, to the X96 bus stop (airport bus line) and the railway station. Phidias Hotel offers bright and spacious guestrooms with en-suite bathrooms. Each air-conditioned unit is well equipped with work desk, comfortable beds and satellite TV. Free of charge internet facilities are also available at the hotel lobby. Phidias Piraeus Hotel offers a full American Breakfast from 6 am, an ideal start off for those who are traveling to the islands very early. A leisurely stroll away from the hotel will take guests to a variety of cafe or Greek taverns offering sea views. The Naval museum and the archaeological museum are located conveniently nearby. The hotel is within easy access to every means of transport travelling to and from Piraeus port and the airport. In addition there is a convenient express bus route connecting with the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Phidias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phidias Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.