We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor score for a restaurant...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vosporos

Vosporos
Koumoundourou, Piraeus, Greece
(+30) 210 4127324
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 154 Restaurants in Piraeus
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“poor score for a restaurant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Vosporos used to be one of my favorite spots in Mikrolimano, The food was excellent and the portions were big. Yet, my dinner of last night left a not so pleasant experience. The meat variety of two was not as generous as it used to be (although the price was the same, if not slightly elevated). The proportion of not so good quality of meat (gyros) over the meat of good quality (pork, chicken and kebab) was disappointing. in addition, the overall proportion of garnish over meat was also unsatisfying (huge quantities of onions over all other garnish one would pleasantly eat -tomatoes, green salad and pieces of "pita"). To sum it up, I do not think the plate justified its price - 32 euros are a lot.

Overall, the prices in general cannot be supported by the ambient environment: the unpleasant odor of Mikrolimano, together with the garbage floating on the waters, coupled with the dark interior (dark walls, dark ceiling, dark wooden furniture) could not justify main courses of 13 euros minimum.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sopot, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Every time I am in Piraeus I visit Vosporos at least once. A very nice interior with pleasant atmosphere and simple but great food. The restaurant is situated in one of the most picturesque places in Piraeus, The view is very romantic and peaceful. The only thing you should be aware of is that the portions are enormous!!! The prices are more than reasonable for this quality delicious food and such quantity! Hope to visit Vosporos asap:)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nothing to do with instanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We go to this place bc my husband loves it - he s a meat lover. My mom comes from instanbul though and she says it has nothing to with original food coming from there. So go enjoy the view and the food but bear in mind it's not ethnic

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Variety of Meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We took a taxi from our cruise ship to Vosporos for lunch (about 6 Euros). Thank goodness we didn't try to walk! It's farther away than it looks. Our taxi driver tried to lead us away from this restaurant. He thought we should go to a fish restaurant. Vosporos is located right on a small fishing marina. We sat next to the window, which was open. We were the only people in the restaurant!

We ordered the mixed grill for 2 (32 Euros), Greek Salad (9 E), bread (2E), a bottle of water (2E), and an expensive bottle of wine (26E). The bread was wonderful and came with a yogurt spread that wasn't tzaztiki (delicious). The salad was large enough for 2 to share, and had a huge block of feta on top. The mixed grill arrived in a large copper tray. It was a sampling of various beef, pork, and chicken souvlakis, gyros, and kebobs. The tray also included grilled tomatoes, french fries, and lots of pita bread. Everything was well-seasoned. We ate as much as we could, and hated to leave the rest, which was enough for 2 more people. If we had a microwave, I would have had it boxed up. Our waiter was attentive. As we were finishing, the place began to fill with locals. Obviously we eat lunch earlier than the Greeks do. We picked this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews, and we were so happy we did!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Food, Poor Service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a nice meal of the mixed grill platter for two, however it was ruined by all the people who came in after us and despite several no smoking signs all started smoking! We would have stayed for longer and given a really good review but this ruined our experience! The waiters took forever to bring our bill so we were forced to sit there and wait in a cloud of smoke!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vosporos also viewed

Piraeus, Piraeus Region
Piraeus, Piraeus Region
 
Piraeus, Piraeus Region
Piraeus, Piraeus Region
 

Been to Vosporos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vosporos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.