We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best greek food ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klimataria

Klimataria
Platia Theatrou 2 | NOT Theatrou Str 2, Athens 10552, Greece
+30 21 0321 6629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 2,088 Restaurants in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 363 Reviews
Price range: $15 - $21
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best greek food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited this restaurant with a large group of students on an educational journey in march. Our colleagues from Athens reserved practically the whole place for us. Even though the group was really large and hungry, we were served within the first fifteen minutes. The owner, the people who work there were lovely, the food was delicious and all of it homemade, even the bread.
We would go there anytime again whenever we are in Athens.
Thank you very much!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    97
    25
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Worth seeking out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about my hotel was its proximity to this place. Lovely food and service, great prices. 30 euro for two mains, two starters and half a litre of wine plus complimentary bread, fruit and spirit shot. The area is fine, just a little urban! Enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere & food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a nicely decorated restaurant with a menu full of different local food. We tried two different meat dishes and mezedes. I do not recommend the meat dishes. Even I'm used to Greek and Mediterranian cuisine, the taste and smell of the meat dishes were not appetizing at all. But mezedes are really good.
The service and staff was also good, no communication problems. There was a lovely live music and dancing local people which was really fun to watch. The area of the restaruant was close to our hotel and we had to walk 10 mins to there but the area was a bit dark and seemed unsafe at night. Definitely not crowded as Monastraki or Plaka but we didn't face any problem getting there. But the atmosphere is worth the little tense trip to the restaruant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This restaurant was listed in the guide and that is why we visited it. It is located in an extremely dangerous area which is frequented by undesirables. do not visit this at night as you risk getting attacked. The food was disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, passionate owners, live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This restaurant wil make you happy!

Not so much because of the food (which is good btw), but because of the passion of the owner Maria. She is the best ambassador for the Greek cuisine this country can wish for. She also gives cooking lessons in this restaurant (from 6 to 9 pm and the you eat what you created)
We took this cooking class and loved it all!

The atmospere is great to. Very good Greek live music from a band of 4 excellent musicians and singers, locals who dance and an enthausiastic audiance


Klimataria Is an old and typical taverna in the middle of Athens (take a cab as the neighbourhood is not the best late at night). It's simple decorated, but it looks lovely. Prices are amazingly low for what you get
Just go there and get happy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klimataria also viewed

 

Been to Klimataria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klimataria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.