We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Select Restaurant Bar

Agora Select Restaurant Bar
Hatzigiani Mexi & Vediri, Athens, Greece
030 2107252242-252
Improve this listing
Ranked #412 of 2,049 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $0 - $73
Cuisines: Greek, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stumbled acorss this restaurant as we went for a walk and were very pleasantly surprised. The food was very good, portions were more than adequate and prices very reasonable. Atmosphere was good. It is a shame most of the restaurant was "smoking" and only a smaller section was for "non smoking" but it did not bother us and we enjoyed our evening. Would definately go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    41
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a nice place to invite friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a place I love to go by myself or invite my friends. It can get busy so reservation is highly recommended. There is a good balance between quality and price. Portions are big, 2 people can easily share one main course. Very quick and polite service. In the end we had a very nice treat, half pineapple stuffed with mango ice cream.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Huge portions of great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Foolishly we ordered 3 starters and 3 main courses, when one or the other would have been fine! Grilled Halumi Cheese - excellent! Fried mushrooms - excellent! The Tuna steak, the rump steak and the seafood linguini were cooked perfectly.

Oh yes, the French Fries, don't forget the French Fries, they were out of this world! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusseldorf
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“top recommendation for lunch or dinner in the center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

a centraly located restaurant with friendly and proffesional waiters interesting customers and a very nice atmosphere both winter and summer. Fast the whole year you can eat outside on the terrace. Prices are faire and the portions big enough to get you satisfied.
It is a very good choise to go there as a couple,with friends or for business.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“a very good proposal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Right next to the Hilton , but in a nice garden patio giving you the impression that you are out of town. Indeed a very beautiful environment though too hot for the warm nights of Athens and the air fans are not of great help. However, you should expect generous and tasteful food, professional service and attention therefore recommended as a down-town restaurant. The place was packed full hence reserve in advance.

On the negative side just like almost everywhere in Greece we were most annoyed if not disappointed with two show-off peasants next to us chain smoking not cigarettes but cigars, table on our left with seven smokers and on our right five chain smokers. We felt like being in a furnace though we were in a half open patio, yet this is something common and seems to bother nobody in Greece. Ourselves, will choose non smoking properties but they are very very few much to non smokers' regret.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agora Select Restaurant Bar also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Agora Select Restaurant Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora Select Restaurant Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.