We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there to eat or to be seen??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mamaca's

Mamaca's
Persefonis 41, Gazi, Athens, Greece (Psirri / Gazi)
210 34.64.984
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,855 of 2,269 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $22 - $28
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Psirri / Gazi
pireaus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go there to eat or to be seen??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

TOOO EXPENSIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
just a tavern. prices are like insane for food that simple.
used to be a hip place for actors and famous people. I even hear it started of as cheap (in a good sence) place. ...Never saw that. Simple plates and outrageous pricing for that kind of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    23
    22
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Some excellent food,some OK, short on staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We cane on the strength of fond memories of their Mikonos restaurant many years ago. Despite the driving rain we were hungry, happy and looking forward to good food.

First impressions were not auscpicious - locked door at 13.30 and four staff sitting around but we were let in, the kitchen staff went to the kitchen and the young waiter was friendly and helpful.
Food soon arrived and flowed on. Some was excellent and some was just OK - nothing was worse than that. The salt cod fritters were excellent - light, just a hint of saltiness, expertly fried and served with a small salad of chopped tomatoes; also very good was the salad of black eyed peas with yellow and red pepper and spring onion - just like my mamaca used to make; well conceived was the grilled octopus with rucola and a tasty dressing except the (previously boiled or braised) octopus had been barely grilled and lacked flavour; the meatballs were uninspiring and came with fries that were slightly underfried; the smashed potatoes were very good.

Service was becoming an issue by the time we left. We were followed by a family group of 12 and had to wait for their order to be taken before our payment was collected; the table of 2 that came next were perhapsupset at waiting to long for attention and left; the next group of 3 demanded immediate service or they would go elsewhere. One waiter was clearly not enough and if further guests arrived later the problem must have become quite unmanageable.

So, mixed impressions. If in the area I would go back for the cod fritters, but I would not go out of my way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“poor service. very expensive for what it offers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

poor service. we had to wait 20 minutes and they didn't even brink us water to drink even though we had small children with us and we ask them several times. this particular evening they were quite busy because of a festival nearby but still for their prices they don't offer the service you expect. very overrated!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice, but nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This resataurant was supposed to be something special according to what is advertised and reviewied. It is not. The first courses were pretty good, but nothing more. The main courses were average, at best. Dessert not bad. Not good enough for the price we paid.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great modern taverna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I usually enjoy the Mamaca's club witch is great and brings cool DJ's but also i had dinner one summer evening.
Very nice service, friendly, tasty traditional dishes. Fresh food, good ingredients.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamaca's also viewed

Athens, Attica
 

Been to Mamaca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamaca's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.